We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing couple of hours”

Balneario de Lanjaron
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Lanjaron
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: AN IDEAL DESTINATION TO INDULGE YOURSELFThe purity of the six mineral and medicinal springs, the quality of its thermal treatments and its location in the idyllic landscapes of the National Park of Sierra Nevada (Unesco Biosphere Reserve) and the Alpujarra, south of Granada, make our Spa and 4-star hotel a unique destination to relax, get healthy and become revitalized.The Balneario de Lanjarón has spacious and modern facilities for spa-therapy treatments and wellness. Furthermore, our six mineral-medicinal waters are unique: 5 drinking mineral springs and 1 bathing mineral spring.For the customer who so requests, our hydrologist physicians specialized in dietary develop a customized program to meet your needs; our restaurant proposes various diets.- Our treatments include the possibility of creating packages from 1 to 15 days or longer.- For therapeutic, relaxation and general wellness purposes.- For children and adults.- For couples, families or groups.The Hotel Balneario de Lanjarón, 4-star, was launched in 2012 to provide a complete quality service for wellness and relaxation, and maximum comfort for its customers.Located south of the Natural Park of Sierra Nevada, the hotel is located in the typical landscapes of the Alpujarra.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A relaxing couple of hours”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I had the "Care for your back" package which was good value at €65. I turned up on spec and they fitted me in straight away, which was good. This place is not what most people from the UK would expect a spa to be - it is more 'clinical' than pampering - but the treatment was really good. None of the staff speak a word of English and I don't speak a word of Spanish, but we were perfectly able to make ourselves understood. No problem in recommending this place.

Helpful?
2 Thank ValtteriKnelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    26
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bad service, unfriendly”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

THE Spa itself is very clinical. The way the staff is treating you is unfriendly. Hospitality has to be lerarend. Only the massage was good. The quality is low for Thatcher price. If you want à good bath go to the Hammam in Granada.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siem J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience as a hotel 4* and spa”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

From my point of view, it was a bad experience. Regarding the hotel, it is not a 4* hotel: low quality in food, poor range of products, cheap decoration, bad and old towels, no details...
People was nice with us and everything was clean, these are my only positive points.
Regarding Balneario Lanjarón, please consider it is not a spa, it is for old people due to the special waters. You will have a treatment. It is not a relaxing spa with privacy. You feel like staying with nurses, having a medical treatment.

I would NOT recommend this hotel, the village is not nice, the spa is not comfortable and the hotel is much more worse than expected.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Albis-dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a treat on a wet day”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

a very popular spa that attracts many Spanish for it's healing waters. the staff are very courteous and speak good English. we had an hours haman treatment which gave us the luxury of our own spa with small shallow pool, steam room and hot and cold plunge pools. an experience!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank alison e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balneari0Lanjar0n, Responsable marketing at Balneario de Lanjaron, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
We happy you'd like Termas al Lanchar.
It would be a pleaser to see you again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Relax in the waters of the Sierra Nevada”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Some very good friends of ours, Don and Olga, have been living in Spain for the last couple of years, and we finally got round to visiting them in May last year.

They chose the little town of Lanjaron, just south of Granada, to be close to their daughter, and none of them - amazingly - have yet visited the best attraction in town.

Water is not in short supply in Lanjaron, nestled as it is at the foot of the Sierra Nevada. Every few metres there is a fountain, with delicious, cool drinking water (‘agua potable’) gushing freely out, each fountain with its hand-painted verse from Lorca, or one of the other poets of the region.

But the place to go for water is the ‘balneario’, the spa that attracts visitors from all over Spain. There, three times a day, people queue up to fill their plastic bottles with one of five different types of water, scrupulously identified according to the balance of different minerals and the various bodily ailments which they are aimed at relieving. In fact a high proportion of the residents of Lanjaron (mostly ‘jubilados’, that lovely Spanish word for retired people) appear to use the place as a kind of social centre, getting gently treated, chatting away to their friends, relaxing in the sun and sharing the odd snack.

My wife and I, rather craftily, chose an option which, at a cost of 40 euros, gave us a full hour – just the two of us – in something called the Termas al Lanchar, a private sanctuary containing everything you could need: a plunge pool with water so cold that your pores clap tight shut, begging for surrender; a hot version next to it with a button producing a gush of water to baste your neck and shoulders; a long warm pool leading off the main room, for lolling about in or using the underwater jets to massage your feet and toes; a steam room and, finally, a pair of rooms where, for an extra 15 euros, you could choose to add on a quarter of an hour of massage. We so chose.

Oh yes, and don't forget the other attraction of this pleasant little town: the fact that it is in the centre of the region which produces 'jamon serrano'. Sadly, the only type of ham that Don likes is the stuff his mother gave him, when he was a child back in Belfast. Still, all the more for us.

(ps. Under 'Who did you go with?' you didn't give 'spouse or partner' as an option!)

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank eddiebrylcreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balneari0Lanjar0n, Responsable marketing at Balneario de Lanjaron, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
I see you know a lot about our "balneario"... I hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balneario de Lanjaron also viewed

Lanjaron, Province of Granada
Lanjaron, Province of Granada
 
Lanjaron, Province of Granada
 

Been to Balneario de Lanjaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing