We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views on Peak of Trevenque day walk”

Spanish Highs Mountain Guides
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Lanjaron
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join in on one of our regular weekly day walks in a choice of superb hiking locations in Andalucia. Every week day throughout the year we have something hikes to suit. Those who take regular hill walks should manage these treks. Good health and reasonable fitness are important. Hikes near Granada, Seville and in the Alpujarras. Specific day hikes (Oct to June inclusive) are 1.Walking White Villages, Alpujarras 2.Mountains of the Cumbres Verdes, Granada 3.Hiking the GR48 path, Sierra de Aracena, near Seville 4.Pine Forests and Refuges of the upper Alpujarras 5.Sierra de Huetor 6.Round of the Taha de Pitres, Alpujarras Summer (July and August) mountain climbs 1. Mulhacen and Siete Lagunas (Tues & Thurs) 2. Veleta and Cerro de los Machos (Mon & Wed)
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Our group of 4 had a wonderful hike to the Peak of Trevenque, in the Cumbres Verdes range near Granada on April 10. The 'Moderate' grade is very accurate making for a thoroughly satisfying day. Beautiful views throughout and nice variation while going up and coming down. A big thank you to the entire team at Spanish Highs (Kiersten, Emma, Felipe and Richard) for making this a memorable experience. The entire process, from booking to the actual day and after, went very smoothly. The website is also full of excellent information to prepare you well. Highly recommend this walk if you are going to be in/near Granada!

1  Thank Neena9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elperronegro2, Owner at Spanish Highs Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thanks for your kind comments. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sierra nevada"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 6 reviews
"day hike"
in 3 reviews
"walking tour"
in 3 reviews
"hotel espana"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"met richard"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 3 reviews
"los tres"
in 2 reviews
"stunning views"
in 2 reviews
"i'm sure"
in 2 reviews
"little bit"
in 2 reviews
"victoria"
in 18 reviews
"felipe"
in 7 reviews
"cumbres"
in 7 reviews
"summit"
in 13 reviews
"peak"
in 6 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We booked the 6 days Alpujarras Escape walking tour, then allowed ourselves a couple of rest days before we did the 2 days Mulhacen ascent. We stayed in the Hotel Espana in Lanjaron, which was clean and friendly (and seemed to be popular with the locals!) We could not fault the organisation of our holiday in any way. A great variety of walks with three different leaders - Kiersten, Andrew and Nick - all of whom were great - good company, attentive to what we wanted to get out of our holiday and knowledgeable in their different ways (e.g. bird watching, farming and local customs). The walk up to the Refugio Poqueira was delightful. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't so good on our summit day and the top of Mulhacen was in thick cloud with strong winds. Thanks to Nick for getting us to the top and back down again safely! A great holiday - we will return!

Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elperronegro2, Owner at Spanish Highs Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thanks for the kind comments Richard. It has been a pleasure to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Going up to climb Mulhacen, Spain's highest main land mountain...and quite high for Europe. I did it over two days. 1000m up day one, 1000m up day two, 2000m down day two.

Everything wasn't a problem, email and the answer was almost straight back.

Walking. Don't get me wrong, you need to put in the effort, but you will be rewarded,

A camera is a must. The views are spectacular. Clouds at 2000m and you are at 3500m.. Sunrise next day... Imagaine the ground can't see what you see.

Be prepare to wear snow shows... never done that before. still got to the summit and never went over the side, but you do walk differently.

3  Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We just completed a 2 day trek to the highest point in Spains mainland with Spanish Highs. This was such an amazing experience and to make it even better the guides Felipe and Nick were the best. When the times got tough Felipe and Nick got the group going and our entire group summited. We felt in safe hands the whole time and the view from the top was worth the slog. Highly recommend them!

2  Thank cammathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We made a two day climb of peak Mulhacen for my 50th birthday. It was a great experience! Everything was perfect! The guides, Filipe and Nick, were very nice, helpful, supportive, and fun ☺

1  Thank MariliaPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spanishhighs2013, Owner at Spanish Highs Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Thanks for the kind comments Marilia. Regards to you and Edmundo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanish Highs Mountain Guides also viewed

Lanjaron, Province of Granada
Lanjaron, Province of Granada
 
Orgiva, Province of Granada
Lanjaron, Province of Granada
 

Been to Spanish Highs Mountain Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing