We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice friendly place with great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Meson Poqueira

Meson Poqueira
Ranked #14 of 19 Restaurants in Capileira
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: The Alpujarra cuisine along the famous Alpujarra ham, washed down with good wine and if you wish on a terrace with views.Can not ask for more.
Sønderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place with great view”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I ate here when the restaurant we had hoped to visit was closed (kind of a theme for our trip). Anyway, we sat on the terrace out back and enjoyed the view of the mountains. The starter was fantastic: the famous ham/sausage/cheese from the Alpujarra region. The main course was good, and well-prepared, but nothing spectacular. The service was quite friendly, and the price reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilDK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Traditional Alpujarra food”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had lunch here and ordered a three course set menu including bread, wine and a salad for 11 EUR. The starter was a very good garlic soup. The main course was more like an English breakfast with ham, sausages and fried eggs. Good traditional food, but nothing special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mats G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“70s food, nice view from terrace”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The food was quite ordinary. Not memorable but not objectionable. The terrace atmosphere was very nice on a summer evening, facing away from the main street and with some view out across the valley.
We did not return, as we found other places in town with much better food and a more memorable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratherbecycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home cooked meals, friendly service, great views from the terrace, best value.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

After a long day's hike, any meal is a welcomed delight. At the meson, you get excellent and fast service. The food is home grown and cooked! I felt like it was my grandmother making my meal (she was an excellent cook). Not gourmet, but soul-and-belly-satisfying. If you can, eat on the terrace, you'll have the beautiful views of the Poqueira as an additional companion. We ate sopa Alpujarreña (garlic soup) and pollo con patatas a lo pobre (chicken with gratin potatoes). Best value for a delicious and satisfying meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AcuV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More than expected”
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We showed up before the kitchen had opened, were given guidance from the Bartender (Pepe said we ordered too much) but ended up with an extra entree, that turned out to be our favorites. Good experience after a long day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustAShortVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meson Poqueira also viewed

Capileira, Province of Granada
Capileira, Province of Granada
 
Capileira, Province of Granada
Capileira, Province of Granada
 

Been to Meson Poqueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing