We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of Hotel Catifalarga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catifalarga
Ranked #8 of 11 Capileira B&B and Inns
San Miguel de Salinas, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2nd visit”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We are stuck in 2 minds about reviewing Catifalarga. Only because we want everyone to know what a stunning place this is but at the same time we would like to keep it quiet because we want it all to ourselves. The owner seems to take a lot of stick for not being there to answer questions on a daily basis, but for us that just adds to the chilled out way that Catifalarga is run. And when you do get to meet him he is a really nice bloke. The lady who is there every morning (her name i forget) is very helpful and always seems to be smiling, and when you visit Catifalarga you will see why she is always smiling. We are not very well travelled peopled, but when we are at Catifalarga and La Alpujarras we dont need to travel anywhere else. When you visit please remember that its not a hotel, and it is what you make it

Room Tip: They all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardrita96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

They advertised all over the village with flamenco. The show was ok. Not the best in Andalusia but still good.

The wine was a Rioja. But unfortunately not very good and expensive.

We where surprised with 10 euro extra charge on the bill for watching the flamenco. Even though they never (and no where) had mentioned that an admission fee was required.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trdet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Capileira hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Reading reviews and info elsewhere online I can't help but think this establishment has changed hands - and very much changed styles. I dont quite believe their (out of date) website or local signage. We were eventually welcomed by the owner? after wandering around for a while. It was around 3pm so maybe siesta? The first warning flag things may have changed was "we are a rural farm stay, not a hotel". Both were friendly but other than breakfast time could never be found which is ok for those who prefer the distant hosts approach.
We were the only ones there the few days we stayed. Comfy enough bed. Bathroom door would not close. Beautiful views from the balcony. Cool pool - literally. Very traditional although basic breakfast, which we discovered was after 9am. Hostess would disappear afterwards so 2nd cafe was in town. Late starts made walking a bit on the warm side and the midday sun in the mountains certainly has a bite. Sleeping should have been a highlight but local barking & howling farm dogs didn't help. No card facilities. Thankfully a machine in town. No (advertised) wifi.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EtheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This rural house is absolutely great and it is perfect if you wanna relax for a while! We got a cozy spatious room with a really nice terrace equipped with two sunbeds, chairs and a little table! The view from the terrace and from El cortijo in general is breathtaking! And the swimming pool was perfect too!
The cleaning lady welcomed us at our arrival because the owner was in Granada. We met him the day after during breakfast and he was really nice with us!
It is a pity that we could stay there just for one night! We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

As noted by another commenter, the hotel is nice but there is absolutely no adequate service. We wanted to go hiking in the hills and wanted some help with routes but the only person around was on his cellphone and did not seem interested in speaking to us at all. When we came back at night there was no one to get some water for our hike from. We woke up early in the morning hoping that someone would be able to give us some water but again there was no one. We had to wait till 9 am to get a bottle of water, by which time it was too hot to go hiking. Further, no one picked up the landline and the mobile number provided was out of service throughout the trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahuldiveS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Nice traditional room with big terrace balcony where we enjoyed the view on the Alpujarras and star sky at night. It is a bit of a drive outside of Capileira, but well worth it! Quiet and rural environment, nice host and you can start one of the nicest hikes from the hotel.
There's also a small swimming pool if you like to relax a bit more on the property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli079_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Catifalarga and would love to stay again - possibly earlier in the year than mid-October and when the weather is even warmer. The location high on the hillside above Capileira means there are spectacular views from the bedrooms and the lovely ivy-covered terraces. We only had one evening meal there (the only people there that night, and honoured guests) and Luismi and Marina's cooking lived up to their reputation as offering the finest food in the high Alpujarras - in a wonderful large dining room with picture windows looking out over the Poqueira valley. They're also really friendly and welcoming: just sorry we weren't there when they often host live jazz in the dining room on Thursday evenings.
One small gripe - the bedrooms are dark (it's the Alpujarran style - small windows, heavy colours) but it's still one of the finest places we've stayed in. Go & try it for yourselves....

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms with terraces if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capileira hotels
0.2 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#2 of 3 in Capileira
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Alfajia de Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Real de Poqueira
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Las Chimeneas
Apartamentos Las Chimeneas
#2 of 5 in Capileira
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Maravedi
#9 of 11 in Capileira
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catifalarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catifalarga

Property: Hotel Catifalarga
Address: Capileira, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Capileira
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Capileira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Catifalarga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing