We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, wonderful breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rural Real de Poqueira
Ranked #2 of 11 Capileira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just stayed as a large group (21 people) and the staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms were comfortable and the swimming pool was lovely. The breakfast was vast and very tasty. It is very well situated close to restaurants and bars - this means that there is some noise in some of the rooms, so ask for rooms close to the pool if you want some quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Unintentionally stayed in this Hotel in August 2014 during the fiesta weekend and thankfully the staff had placed us as far as possible away from where the celebrating was taking place, hence we awoke refreshed and less jaded than some others we saw at breakfast.... The room is comfortable, modern, clean and spacious enough for two persons and whilst you can hear the other guests walking on tiles and letting go of doors so as they close themselves, it is no different to a lot of other hotels we have stayed at. The wifi worked well in the room although you do have to get a new password every 24hrs. Breakfast was typical European, White bread, Cheese, Jamon, Natural yogurt, Cakes, seasonal fruit, coffee etc BUT the staff were very accommodating and supplied hot water and milk so as we could add it to our tea bags. They also provided hot milk for the one cereal they had available without any detrimental comments aimed at the Mad English man...... Again the receptionist was possibly the friendliest and happiest person in the whole village. The car parking is almost non existent at the Hotel, if you are lucky and can beat the locals to get into one of the places in the small square, which is shared with outside dining for the local pizzeria, great, if not you may have to park on the edge of town and walk back into it. The restaurant for dinner is a bar almost attached to the hotel, it like a lot of the other bars is Basic, cheap but basic, do not expect any al la carte or sophistication as part of your dining experience. It's a shame that the village allows trinket sellers to set up stalls and lookie lookie men to wander around as it spoils what should be an away from it all atmosphere, we live on the Costa Blanca and whereas this break should have been an entirely different and charming experience it was almost like being at home but without any quality. Would I go back to Capileira, No! but if I had to, would I stay at this Hotel, Yes!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here after reading good reviews. Walked up Mulhacen from here, so left my car at the nearby town's car park. Great location with 13 bars /restaurants on the doorstep. Lovely spacious room with great shower. Balcony with lovely view of the church square and mountains. Good value breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful. They also spoke perfect English and the hotel was modern., comfortable and quiet. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We used to visit Capileira often some 10-15 years ago. Village has changed a lot, but it still has that true Alpujarra atmosphere. Twin brothers running the Meson Poquire have spread their business and they have three places for visitors to stay in Capileira. There are also other hostels and choices to choose from.

We stayed in the beautiful, clean and comfortable Rural Real de Poquire next to the village church. Room had a good view of the mountains, A/C, beautiful bathroom and TV ( Spanish, German and BBC World Channels). We had a room with twin bed, good choice as someone had mentioned here before! The beds were pulled together and we had plenty of room. Very comfortable! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Parking was easy just outside the hotel in the square. If there is not enough room in the square, there are plenty of other places to park around the village.

Swimming pool is shared with the Meson Poquire, but this time of year ( beginning of June), there were only a couple of other people enjoying the afternoon by the pool in the nice garden.

Restaurants in Capileira open quite late for dinner. We waited until 21.00 before we got served in one of the local restaurants. I know it is the Spanish and Southern European way, but just to let you know if you are used to having restaurants open all day in the tourist resorts - It is not the way here. The Pizzeria in the church square opens at 20.00. You will find great, quality food in all the restaurants in Capileira.

Room Tip: Room with a view and two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsM-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We moved here from a dingy and cold hotel in the village and were very glad we did. We wanted a double bed, but when we were shown how big it was (we're both slim and about 5' 10)") we could see that it would be a squash so we chose the twin room with view over the valley. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, the breakfast is served from 9 - 11.30, which suits us and the coffee was the best I'd had in Spain. Excellent buffet breakfast, central heating (it gets chilly when the sun goes down) and good value. Although it's right next to the church, the bells don't ring at night. We'd go back there. We did 2 walks up and down the valley from the village so car not needed once you're there.

Room Tip: Consider sacrificing the double bed for a twin - you get more bed space and better views from that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judewalker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very well situated in a little square by the church, this hotel has relatively recently been renovated and is surprisingly smart and modern. The rooms are relatively large, quiet, clean and well-appointed. Great shower, which is always a bonus!
The buffet breakfast was fine as far as I was concerned - good coffee.
I made it into the pool, and was pleased to make it out alive, given its (low) temperature. It may be best to wait until later in the year, I think.
Some of the staff were particularly pleasant and friendly, too.
All in all, great - the only downside was the palaver with the internet (new codes have to be requested every 24 hours) and the slower than dial-up speed. But it is best to be out in the open if you stay in this beautiful area, anyway!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We enjoyed a one night stay here at Easter. We like this town, it is perched high on the mountain and has some excellent restaurants; so we decided to stay one night, just so I could partake of the wine as well as the large pieces of basically cooked meat. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was well appointed, with a bath (still the titchy Spanish type), the owners were very friendly, and the downstairs foyer was a pleasant place to sit. Being Spanish the breakfast was basic. All that food and they eat poor quality toast. That is not a criticism of this hotel, but of Spain, as I have noted before, and will note again. Coming from the heaven of English bacon and egg foreign parts can be problematic in the morning.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capileira
0.1 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#3 of 3 in Capileira
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
306 reviews
7.7 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Alfajia de Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Real de Poqueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Real de Poqueira

Address: Calle Real 01, 18413 Capileira, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Capileira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Capileira
Price Range: £57 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Real de Poqueira 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel Bed. Ideally located in the heart of Capileira, near the public parking, right next to the Church. Fully equipped with heating, air conditioning, flat tv, wifi throughout the hotel, elevator, restaurant, cafe, lounge, reception, pool season.With all the amenities to enjoy your stay in the area. Ideal for families, couples and groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rural Real de Poqueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing