We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hostal - but quite noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Rural Atalaya
Ranked #3 of 11 Capileira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I was looking forward to my stay in Capileira and at first everything looked good. The hostal is in a good location, the rooms are an ok size and impeccably clean, with a compact bathroom.
We stayed in a room with a tiny balcony (ok to stand on but no room to sit down) overlooking the main street.

BUT the downside was the noise. You can hear absolutely everything from every room - from the front door, echoey corridors, doors opening and closing, showers and WC and people speaking in the rooms. (think of the opening titles to the comedy 'Porridge' and you won't be too far away)

If you can cope with the lack of sleep, then this is the place for you - otherwise be warned!

Room Tip: If you opt for the budget rooms, be aware that you'll have one very small window (and i mean sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PantBryn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

Located right in the centre of Capileira near where the bus drops people off. Basic place but the rooms were big, and we had a good view over the village and gorge from the window. Only saw the owner for about 5 minutes the whole time we were there but they can provide advice/ leaflets about walking in the area. From Capileira it is easy to walk up and down the gorge so this was a good base.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonJim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

The hostal is located in one of the first buildings you see when you reach lovely Capileira. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We had two budget rooms without a view (which would have been breathtaking) which were neat and clean. The bathroom was good, albeit small. The rooms don't have airco; although it was July and pretty hot outside, the room temperature remained pleasant. Very good value for your money!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdricO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Good facilities and all you need for a few nights stay, bathroom and bed fine.

In June it was hot, around 38/39 degrees and for northern europeans, that is hot, even at around 1500m. That meant it was hot a night as well and the windows had to be open. Being at the low end of the village it meant a lot of traffic noise in the morning and a reasonable amount of people noise at night, especially at the weekend. That being said, it is great value at 35 euros for two people.

Lots of lovely places to eat very close by, so breakfast was easy to obtain.

Given cooler weather, we might have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnowlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Great little hotel

We stayed 2 nights in Oct and loved it
For 32 Euros we got a room with a view and bathroom that was spotless

Beds were very comfortable

Owner was a delight - no english but no problems

Breakfast was not on offer in october - but plenty of lovely little places to eat in village

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2005

This was by far the best value we enjoyed during our tour of Andalucia at 36 Euros for the 2 of us including a top quality Spanish breakfast (coffee, toasted fresh roll and orange juice)! And we had a lovely view across the mountains. No AC but it wasn't too hot at that altitude at night even in August. However, the Spanish do like to party on Friday and Saturday nights, all night, literally, so the shutters do need to be shut if you have a room facing the street as we did. The room and bathroom were excellent although storage space was at a premium. The owner spoke no English but it really wasn't a problem.

1  Thank lindos_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alfonso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capileira
0.1 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#2 of 3 in Capileira
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Terrazas de la Alpujarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Alfajia de Antonio
0.1 mi away
Hostal Rural Moraima
Hostal Rural Moraima
#4 of 11 in Capileira
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rural Atalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rural Atalaya

Address: Calle Perchel 3, 18413 Capileira, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Capileira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Capileira
Price Range: £29 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Rural Atalaya 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Rural Atalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing