We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Staff, Clean Room, and Very Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Rural Atalaya
Ranked #3 of 11 Capileira B&B and Inns
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm Staff, Clean Room, and Very Affordable”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Very kind folks, with a very tidy hostal. The room was spotless and comfortable. We even ran into some car trouble and without asking, the owners jumped in and helped us out. I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Very nice hostel by the road at the entrance to the village. Spacious and very clean rooms. We took three rooms with balconies overlooking the valley, well worth it. Comfortable beds, good showers. The owner was very nice and helpful, and gave us very good advice for dinner. A bit of noise from the street, but nothing like what I've read from other reviews; had no trouble sleeping. All in all, a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcasero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I spent 2 nights here and the owners kindly allowed me to leave my bags there while I hiked to the refuge in the Sierra Nevada. Spotless and central. Great deal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank questforfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I was looking forward to my stay in Capileira and at first everything looked good. The hostal is in a good location, the rooms are an ok size and impeccably clean, with a compact bathroom.
We stayed in a room with a tiny balcony (ok to stand on but no room to sit down) overlooking the main street.

BUT the downside was the noise. You can hear absolutely everything from every room - from the front door, echoey corridors, doors opening and closing, showers and WC and people speaking in the rooms. (think of the opening titles to the comedy 'Porridge' and you won't be too far away)

If you can cope with the lack of sleep, then this is the place for you - otherwise be warned!

Room Tip: If you opt for the budget rooms, be aware that you'll have one very small window (and i mean sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PantBryn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Located right in the centre of Capileira near where the bus drops people off. Basic place but the rooms were big, and we had a good view over the village and gorge from the window. Only saw the owner for about 5 minutes the whole time we were there but they can provide advice/ leaflets about walking in the area. From Capileira it is easy to walk up and down the gorge so this was a good base.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

The hostal is located in one of the first buildings you see when you reach lovely Capileira. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We had two budget rooms without a view (which would have been breathtaking) which were neat and clean. The bathroom was good, albeit small. The rooms don't have airco; although it was July and pretty hot outside, the room temperature remained pleasant. Very good value for your money!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdricO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Good facilities and all you need for a few nights stay, bathroom and bed fine.

In June it was hot, around 38/39 degrees and for northern europeans, that is hot, even at around 1500m. That meant it was hot a night as well and the windows had to be open. Being at the low end of the village it meant a lot of traffic noise in the morning and a reasonable amount of people noise at night, especially at the weekend. That being said, it is great value at 35 euros for two people.

Lots of lovely places to eat very close by, so breakfast was easy to obtain.

Given cooler weather, we might have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnowlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capileira
0.1 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#2 of 3 in Capileira
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Terrazas de la Alpujarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
7.7 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rural Atalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rural Atalaya

Property: Hostal Rural Atalaya
Address: Calle Perchel 3, 18413 Capileira, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Capileira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Capileira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Rural Atalaya 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Rural Atalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing