We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very difficult to find, especially at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel GIT Abentofail
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Guadix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Once we finally managed to get through the door, this turned out to be a very nice hotel, but be warned that if you are trying to find it in the dark you may well have problems. We don't have SatNav, but had printed out very detailed maps from GoogleMaps that turned out to be almost useless. The centre of Guadix is mostly pedestrianised, some of the streets shown on the maps are actually flights of steps (!) and the alley leading to the hotel itself is only about 1 metre wide. We asked at a petrol station, the police station and then spent around 15 minutes on the phone to the very helpful girl on reception. In the end I managed to find a landmark that she recognised and she actually ran out through the streets to come and rescue us and lead us in - wonderful service!
Unfortunately, but the time we finally got there the kitchen was about to close, so our meal wasn't that great - a shame as we were really looking forward to it after reading previous reviews.
Breakfast was also a little disappointing. Hotels charging these rates really shouldn't supply butter and jam in little plastic packets with tear-off lids, but should make a little more effort.
With those gripes aside, our room was lovely with a huge romantic comfortable 4-poster bed (though the plumbing wasn't great). The hotel is in an interesting well-restored historic building and as mentioned before, the staff went out of their way to help us and make us welcome.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel, despite its good points, mainly because it was so difficult to locate and feel it just wasn't worth the rate charged.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A1icious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

We did not stay here but ate in the restaurant twice in 3 days. We found the hotel by chance and had a fantastic lunch so had to return to experience the great food again before we left Guadix. We saw some of the rooms and a quick viewing was enough to convince that a stay here would be just as enjoyable as eating here. The food was the best we had in 2 weeks in Spain in Torrevieja, Guadix and Valencia. The service was great, the decor and atmosphere in the restaurant and hotel was cool, calming and beautiful. Could not recommend this place too much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelPrendiville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GITHOTEL, Atención al cliente at Hotel GIT Abentofail, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nos alojamos en la suite, en la bañera casi puedes bucear. Genial todo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOSEMANUELRR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GITHOTEL, Atención al cliente at Hotel GIT Abentofail, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GITHOTEL, Atención al cliente at Hotel GIT Abentofail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gugge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank inmaculada g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GITHOTEL, Atención al cliente at Hotel GIT Abentofail, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Onate
Hotel Palacio de Onate
#4 of 11 in Guadix
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mari Carmen
Hotel Mari Carmen
#9 of 11 in Guadix
33 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abades Guadix
Hotel Abades Guadix
#6 of 11 in Guadix
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cuevas Hammam Abuelo Jose
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mulhacen
Hotel Mulhacen
#7 of 11 in Guadix
45 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cuevas Almagruz
Cuevas Almagruz
#3 of 11 in Guadix
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GIT Abentofail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GIT Abentofail

Address: Calle Abentofail 8, 18500 Guadix, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guadix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Guadix
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GIT Abentofail 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abentofail is named after Ibn Tufail, the great Andalusian philosopher, doctor, mathematician, poet and author of the first novel ever, "The Self-Taught Philosopher”. It is located in the heart of Guadix, one of the earliest human settlements in the Iberian Peninsula, few meters from its cathedral. The historical and natural surroundings of the hotel are unparalleled – we are less than an hour from The Alhambra and Granada and very close to the Nature Park Cabo de Gata – Nijar and the Almeria beaches. The hotel has 30 renovated, comfortable rooms distributed on 2 floors and decorated in different styles, giving our facilities a unique and defined personality. In each room, recycled woods from Indonesia, the best wrought-iron work and noble materials have been used. Of course, the typical central patio crowned with its characteristic fountain could not be missing in our hotel; the perfect place to relax accompanied by quiet music and a perfect atmosphere. The strategic location of the region of Guadix makes it an ideal place for excursions to many spectacular nearby areas. The city of Granada is only 60 km away and in less than an hour the monumental city of The Alhambra can be reached either by public or private means of transport, frequent train and bus service is available at all times. At 30 km distance from Granada is the well-known skiing resort of Sierra Nevada, among those most important in Spain. The beaches of Almeria and the Nature Park Sierra de Gata - Nijar are only 120 km away with easy motorway access (public and private transport) as well as by train. For arrivals after 22.00 please contact the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel GIT Abentofail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing