We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth finding this little oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel GIT Abentofail
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Guadix
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth finding this little oasis”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just returned from a night spent at the Hotel Abentofail . We stopped here on are way from Valencia to Marbella and how delighted we were that we did. I would also like to thank the contributor who advised how to find the hotel because it so much easier to find. We booked the 2 suites at the top of the hotel which share a terrace with 2 large settees and a hot tub and it was absolutely fabulous.We shared this with another couple of friends and this was wonderful for sitting in the evening sun. The rooms are beautifully appointed with huge mosaic baths and showers. We had 2 older children with us and they were booked in a standard double room and this was also very well appointed with a modern shower room .
Downstairs is a restaurant which I believe is really good but it was closed on the sunday evening
We had breakfast the following morning which was fine and the staff were very pleasant.
What surprised us was that Guadix is an undiscovered jewel. We walked from the hotel in to the square where there were a selection of spanish bars and then to the cathedral where there is a gorgeous bar called the cathedral bar . There are plenty of restaurants around and a horse and carriage available for a tour around. The following day we took the local tourist train up to to the cave museum which is fascinating, You get to visit the locals in their cave homes and the museum is brand new and very impressive. Altogether it was a great stopover and I would definitely recommend you try it.

Room Tip: For value for money a standard room is absolutely great. For a treat book a suite but it could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    63
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
110
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in Abentofail hotel in Sep 2011.
This is a beautiful, butique hotel in a small town, about an hour drive from Granada.
We actually found it by chance, and it was a great find.
The rooms were very nice and modern, and we were served with nice breakfast in the morning.
In fact, the place was so nice that we planned to stay only for 1 night, but eventually stayed for 2.
very much recommended !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Thanks so much for the previous contributors for their instructions on how to find the hotel - they are spot on! Even with Sat-Nav & a map I'd have never found the place. Once (if!?..) you get here, the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are clean and well looked after - memory foam bed was good too. Would get 5 stars but the breakfast selection is poor and the location so bad it's funny! Right bang in the centre of Guadix, would make an ideal base for exploring the town or a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed one night in January as we were in south Spain and wanted to visit the cavehouse area - which was interesting. As other reviewers have highlighted it is very difficult to find and the streets are very narrow but once found were impressed with the quality. Hotel itself was of a good quality recently redeveloped in a town which we felt was rather rundown. Room was nice with double bed and ample space for an extra single. Shower room was very modern and nicely fitted. Breakfast was nice. Disappointed with the evening meal which we thought was rather overpriced for what we received. Waiter insisted on removing the wine bottle from the table between pours which we found irritating and on the last pour did not empty it but left a small amount which he took away and threw out as there was only 'a little left'. Rating is for the hotel rather than for the restaurant

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnet
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We enjoyed a most enjoyable stay at this hotel in November en route from Valencia to Malaga. The hotel is quite difficult to find - best to park near to the central square and take the steps up from there. It is very close to the lovely cathedral opposite which you can take the little "land train" to the area of the cave dwellers. Don't miss seeing this and you may also enter one of the homes to see what they are like inside. The views from the mirador are also very good of the surrounding mountain landscape.

The hotel itself is quite small but had a very nice courtyard effect sitting area next to the restaurant, which is also very nicely laid out. We didn't have an evening meal there but the breakfast was of good quality although slightly limited in choice. Our room on the 2nd floor (lift available) was a good size with a four poster bed and a good shower room. There was a flat screen TV with an English news channel. The view from our room was over the city and out towards the mountains. The night we stayed though we were woken by fireworks and church bells at 7.30am as there was a fiesta!!

The staff were helpful and pleasant and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Altogether a very good find for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - it may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnetBeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Hotel Abentofail is situated in the centre of Guadix, difficult to find even with satnav due to the small alleys and steps. Best bet is to drive to the cathedral and under the arch into Plaza de la Constitutucion. There are steps from there directly up to the hotel. This is a pay parking zone, but you can park on the street behind the hotel for free and it is safe. But it is easier to walk to the back of the hotel and get your bearings first. Rooms are clean and comfortable with good en suite facilities and air conditioning. There is a good restaurant and bar, but beware, both are closed every tuesday. For tapas try bar Sagitario which is just off Calle Baza, about 12 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennedyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a very nice hotel, clean and comfortable with a good restaurant en good breakfast. Careful, the hotel is located in the middle of tiny small streets, no parking near the hotel and if you miss the left turn into one of those tiny streets, you end up in such narrow streets, that you can't pass with a large car. Ask my right rear-mirror, poor thing was badly scratched by a wall...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwerver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guadix
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abades Guadix
Hotel Abades Guadix
#6 of 11 in Guadix
69 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cuevas Hammam Abuelo Jose
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mari Carmen
Hotel Mari Carmen
#7 of 11 in Guadix
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Onate
Hotel Palacio de Onate
#4 of 11 in Guadix
103 reviews
20.3 mi away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 13 in Nevada
768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cuevas Abuelo Ventura Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GIT Abentofail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GIT Abentofail

Property: Hotel GIT Abentofail
Address: Calle Abentofail 8, 18500 Guadix, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guadix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Guadix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GIT Abentofail 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abentofail is named after Ibn Tufail, the great Andalusian philosopher, doctor, mathematician, poet and author of the first novel ever, "The Self-Taught Philosopher”. It is located in the heart of Guadix, one of the earliest human settlements in the Iberian Peninsula, few meters from its cathedral. The historical and natural surroundings of the hotel are unparalleled – we are less than an hour from The Alhambra and Granada and very close to the Nature Park Cabo de Gata – Nijar and the Almeria beaches. The hotel has 30 renovated, comfortable rooms distributed on 2 floors and decorated in different styles, giving our facilities a unique and defined personality. In each room, recycled woods from Indonesia, the best wrought-iron work and noble materials have been used. Of course, the typical central patio crowned with its characteristic fountain could not be missing in our hotel; the perfect place to relax accompanied by quiet music and a perfect atmosphere. The strategic location of the region of Guadix makes it an ideal place for excursions to many spectacular nearby areas. The city of Granada is only 60 km away and in less than an hour the monumental city of The Alhambra can be reached either by public or private means of transport, frequent train and bus service is available at all times. At 30 km distance from Granada is the well-known skiing resort of Sierra Nevada, among those most important in Spain. The beaches of Almeria and the Nature Park Sierra de Gata - Nijar are only 120 km away with easy motorway access (public and private transport) as well as by train. For arrivals after 22.00 please contact the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel GIT Abentofail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing