We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Late minute' long weekend”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Decided suddenly to 'take a break' from relentless rain and wind in the UK - somewhere sunny - not too far and were recommended Almunecar. Through Tripadvisor we found the PEARL - Hotel Casablanca. It became one of the most cherished weekends in a long time - thanks to this little hotel, with wonderful staff! Breakfast with crispy crossiants on the SUNNY terrace, with the best Cafe solo you could wish for. Try the the food - the Salad a la Maison with avocado - heavenly! The rooms are spacious, with nice bathroom, the view - either over the bay or the mountains.
Thank you - we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed at the 4th floor and it was quiet and nice. Eat at least once in the Restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenelopeWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

It's interesting to read the Spanish reviews on this place. As opposed to the ones in English, they don't seem to be that enthusiastic. I know, Spanish guests can be uber annoying and really hard to please, but there is always some truth deep down their initially irrational ranting. This hotel has potential indeed. It's on a nice location, clean, charming and so on. It just feels understaffed and a bit under run. The rooms are not massive but most of them are nice, or sweet, albeit somewhat gloomy, at least the 3 rooms we had 107, 108 and 109, at the back of the building. We found it a bit noisy, particularly on the first floor with doors banging through the night during an unusually stormy evening. I overheard breakfast was overpriced compared to normal cafés outside, but I found it pleasant, nice coffee, toast and fresh orange juice. So, overall, this place could improve with some extra staff, better room lighting and some care for banging doors (side door on the first floor). We enjoyed our stay there and would go back to this hotel, with certain reservations.

Room Tip: Get a room in the top floor for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonioGP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Walked-in not having booked anything in the region, attracted by the ochre exterior and Moorish tiles and arches. Amazing low winter rates!! Comfortable room with sea view and convenient to restaurants, bars and markets. Easy street parking.
Perfect weather. Ideal for a short break. We extended 2 days to a full week.
Caution: I think in-season would be an entirely different story!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is in a great location and its possible to get rooms with sea views. The room is adequate (for the money) and comfortable. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel and the food was good with plenty of locals present, always a good sign. Its about a 10 minute walk into the old town with its bars and restaurants along the promenade.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view, they are slightly more expensive but have sea views and a small balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Got a very good deal from Booking.com and were not disappointed. Lovely Moorish style hotel with lovely ambiance and very clean. The bath was full sized and plenty of hot water to have a soak.
Free parking all around and situated just across from the beach. We had several walks in different directions ... all offering something beautiful to see.
The hotel was quiet ... only downside was the room above us - they didn´t take their shoes off and it sounded like they were tap dancing the whole time (grrrr!! ... inconsiderate but not the fault of the hotel).
Loads of restaurants to choose from and all the bars we used offered free tapas with drinks (and there were several in the 2 nights we were there!!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrystalTips2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

When I asked the lady at the tourist info for family run Hotels in town, the first one she mentioned was Hotel Casablanca. I was a little sceptic if a 2-star place would serve my needs after 10 days living pretty much outside in an amazing valley near Granada, feeling like a frozen yoghurt and in pain from sore muscles. I knew exactly what I wanted: it had to be sweet and cosy, it had to have a view of the sea to calm my mind and a tub to take a very long, very hot bath. A spa wouldn't be bad either, which is why I considered 4-5 star hotels too. But when I passed Hotel Casablanca with its Moroccan style tiles, colors and other details, the nice porch outside and the location, I fell immediately in love. In comparison, the 4-5 star hotels were ugly high rises destroying the look of the entire sea promenade.
I hadn't made a reservation (it was late November) and I only asked for 1 night. It didn't keep the staff from being friendly. At the opposite, Pablo returned immediately from his break to show me the rooms himself and answer my million questions. And yes, the rooms are cosy, the view is as beautiful as it gets, the sea close enough to wake up with the sound of it, the bathroom had a tub and Pablo as a real Spanish charmer a delight to deal with. They make fresh orange juice in the mornings, which you can enjoy together with a strong coffee and a toast or croissant outside at the porch whilst watching the town get back to life. Of course, if you have one of the rooms with a terrace, you might want to have your breakfast served there. Also heard that food would be great there but didn't have the chance to try, so I'll have to make sure to get back one day soon.
All in all, highly recommendable, very good value for money!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a terrace on the front, especially if you stay longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiebkekoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

this was the second time we had stayed at the hotel, last year in may and this year in october. we came back because the hotel is beautifully decorated in moorish style and is just across the road from the beach the view from the balcony rooms are stunning our room was spotless they are cleaned every day .the only thing we missed was not having a fridge in the room. breakfast is extra but we found it a little limited. on our last day we had a superb paella from the restaurant which was excellent. would definitely come back

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room a little extra but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katnatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
0.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
1,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
#16 of 24 in Almunecar
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#6 of 24 in Almunecar
689 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
271 reviews
2 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#10 of 24 in Almunecar
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Address: Plaza San Cristobal 4, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Almunecar
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range: £36 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casablanca 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 39 bedrooms offering guests a comfortable and friendly stay with all the necesary to guarantee your satisfaction.Is located in front of two important beaches of Almunecar,in the main promenade. Almunecar is considered one of the most attractive tourist points and further on the Andalusian coast. Not in vain its coastline is known as the Costa Tropical , a name consistent with its long beaches, its weather and its exuberant tropical and subtropical vegetation.It has a variety of services such as a restaurant where you can taste the Mediterranean cuisine with fish and grilled meats as well as special dishes of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Almunecar, Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing