We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just sublime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just sublime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have known Almunecar for 34 years & often eaten in Emiliano's in the old town or dinner at CasaBlanca but never stayed until this week. We needed one odd night after our flat rental came to an end. We just loved it & will defo be back! We had room 402 which is sea facing, overlooking the plaza san cristobal & lovely terrace with the Moorish curved arches. Sat up there drinking vino people watching as the sun set behind us. The beds are comfortable, very clean room, fantastic shower and beautifully decorated in Moorish style. The staff are friendly & speak English if you are worried about your Spanish. The food here is fabulous either a mix of tapas or grilled fish, meat, pinchitos, full main courses etc. Nothing is too much trouble, superb atoms on the terrace in the evening and you just feel at home. So glad I took the time to stay here after all these years - their reputation precedes them and they deserve to do well. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony sea facing room like 402. We opted for twin beds as too hot weather to share!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoCharles_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    113
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
46
137
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Visited 11th - 18th June
We came across the Hotel Casablanca whilst browsing Tripadvisor and were impressed with the reviews. Having always stayed in 4 star hotels, we thought we would book a week here and try it. That turned out to be the best holiday decision we ever made. I'ts a truly wonderful place, clean, comfortable with great staff (family run) and the freshly cooked food - served on the terrace - was outstanding, try the grilled pork, you'll see what I mean! The cost of food and drinks at the hotel was often cheaper than at local bars.
We had room 402 which was as comfortable as any 4 star, had a balcony, a great sea view, fantastic shower and aircon, ok so no telephone in the room, but who ever uses or needs one?
The town itself dates back around 3000 years, has narrow, quiet, car free streets and is a delight to explore, everywhere festooned with plants and flowers. We visited most of the 'attractions' but missed out on the castle as it is closed on Mondays, guess which day we went!
Almunecar itself is a delightful well kept secret, when people ask where we've been we inevitably receive a.... Where? But it is well worth a visit if you like a typically spanish, friendly, totally unspoilt and relaxing resort.
So, many thanks to Hotel Casablanca for a truly unforgettable holiday.

Tip, airport to hotel return, Clicktransfers.com are half the price of taxis.

Room Tip: Room 402 top floor front, not only can you see the sea, you can hear it too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planemad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The rooms are quite spectacular, very big, pretty, big comfortable bed. The bathroom was one of the best I have ever encountered.
I must say, the rooms are 4 star quality.

Extremely clean, good amenities.

The wifi works like a charm.

We ate breakfast once, good price for a good breakfast.

I highly recommend this hotel, I doubt you will find a better quality/price ratio in Almuñecar. An excellent stay and a very good surprise.

A couple of tips, try the breakfast, a late brunch or just a light meal in Cafe Ayer. Very good and cheap.

For dinner try Los Geraneos, I was amazed with the quality. The price is fair, almost cheap if just compare it with the quality of the food.

Just a remark, I booked the rooms through booking.com, therefore you already have my credit card you don't need to ask it again.
But if you really must ask it, dont say "booking.com has your credit card, not us."
It's a bit insulting. The card is provided through booking.com for your use.

Just keep this in mind, the client you have in front of you might be a hotel manager and when you say this kind of thing it doesn't look good because your client knows how it works.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank João A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The good: location, right across the street from the beach, inexpensive, clean, great bathroom. Plenty of hot water, good water pressure. The staff was very pleasant
The average: air conditioning was marginal, no remote for the tv, and a bit noisy.
The bad: no real parking and because of road works almost impossible to find.we got kind of lucky in that the road ended in Underground garage which cost 19€ for 24 hours

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tsanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The good: location, right across the street from the beach, inexpensive, clean, great bathroom. Plenty of hot water, good water pressure. Very pleasant staff
The average: air conditioning was marginal, no remote for the tv, and a bit noisy.
The bad: no real parking and because of road works almost impossible to find.we got kind of lucky in that the road ended in Underground garage which cost 19€ for 24 hours

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tsanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Casablanca Hotel is a perfect example of a small and friendly hotel. It's clean, well positioned within the resort, and has a range of restaurants in the near vicinity. We paid only 48 euro's for our nights stay - a bargain. Our reception was friendly and efficient and we were shown where we could park our car free of charge. Our room was spacious, well furnished with a large bathroom, and although we had a room at the back of the hotel we could see the sea from our window. Sadly we were unable to have breakfast in the hotel as it isn't served until 9.00 am and we had to leave then to get back to the airport for our flight home. The hotel is signposted in the town, but unfortunately there are road works barring the route in from the east, so we had a bit of a tour around before we could find it. Well done Tripadvisor for highlighting such a lovely little hotel. I thoroughly recommend it, and we hope that we shall return.

Room Tip: There's a lift, so ask to go up high for a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel. Family run and friendly. We had a delightful stay. A short distance from the beach and close to lots of local restaurants and shops. Room was clean and tidy. Will definitely stay there again. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
0.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
#17 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria Playa
Hotel Victoria Playa
#8 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Plaza San Cristobal 4, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Almunecar
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casablanca 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 39 bedrooms offering guests a comfortable and friendly stay with all the necesary to guarantee your satisfaction.Is located in front of two important beaches of Almunecar,in the main promenade. Almunecar is considered one of the most attractive tourist points and further on the Andalusian coast. Not in vain its coastline is known as the Costa Tropical , a name consistent with its long beaches, its weather and its exuberant tropical and subtropical vegetation.It has a variety of services such as a restaurant where you can taste the Mediterranean cuisine with fish and grilled meats as well as special dishes of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Almunecar, Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing