We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mar de Plata

Mar de Plata
Ranked #3 of 257 Restaurants in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wonderful seafood restaurant near San Cristobal beach
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish restaurant”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

To echo other reviews - the salt baked fish is wonderful and for non fish lovers the lamb is superb. This is our favourite restaurant for a special night out. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulnSueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    147
    32
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almunecar, Spain
Level Contributor
373 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A restaurant where you get to meet your fish”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

For more than 29 years this classy seafood restaurant has maintained very high standards. The quality is superb. They will often bring the fish to your table on a bed of ice to get your approval before preparing it. My favourite method at this restaurant is prepared baked in salt. The fish is in effect poached within the hardened coating os a salt paste. Then the case of hardened salt is broken open and the fish is delivered to your plate with French service. The seafood is always fresh. One pays a little more at this restaurant, but the quality and presentation make it well worth the price.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ECraigMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A VERY nice meal”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Was very surprised to find this large restaurant almost full when we visited at around 8.30 on a Thursday night in mid November. It didn't take all evening to realise why. The food was excellent as was the service and it had a very pleasing buzz all the time we were there.
It is a little bit more expensive than some of the others we ate in but we thought it was worth it

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EamonnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Would recommend this restaurant, the waiters were efficient & friendly & the fish paella was excellent. Would also recommend the hake with almond sauce.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidays090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“evening meal at Mar de Plata”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Have been to Almunecar for the past three years and have tried many of the restaurants. I read the reviews on Mar de Plata and decided to give it a go. I was with my wife and her cousin who lives in Olgiva. I had grilled prawns with monk fish and my wife had pork in pepper sauce. The food was excellent and the service too. The bill for three of us with 2 drinks each was 55Euros. Before we left we were given a choice of liquor on the house. A very pleasant meal and all round experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar de Plata also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 

Been to Mar de Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing