We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and grotty”
Review of Apal Chinasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apal Chinasol
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Grotty and basic but very cheap and well situated. NO bugs, No mold.. and comfortable. Although Sofa beds were terrible to sleep on for the kids. Served its purpose and would probably use again if just needing somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Looking for a couple of days at this amazing scuba diving spot in Almuñecar, we found this old and ugly looking apartments hotel were it seems nothing has been changed since the day they build this, and looks that this was a long time ago. The positive side of it: we only stay to sleep there, so all day out and you don't mind about high class rooms. it has a small kitchen and this is a nice help if you like to cook or to have breakfast before leaving. Great views from the terrace and probably the best price we payed in a long time. Sometimes you get what you pay for, but this is a reasonable little place if you don't mind the old fashion furniture and old tiles.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the top areas and of course looking to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at the Apol Chinasol for 2 weeks in September - firstly we were given a room at the side overlooking a road, we had asked for a sea view - the receptionist did change our room the following day. Both of the apartments were very dated with 60's décor. The furniture was acceptable but plugs and sockets were coming away from the wall. The bathroom was very dated and the sink and toilet was unstable and the sink tap handle came off after every use, although the maintenance man did bring another handle that one kept falling off as well! The lifts were an experience in itself, felt very insecure when it bumped at every level (we were on level 10) and had no last service date on the wall. The apartment had a safe and we asked the receptionist if we could rent it as there were no instructions we assumed that we had to pay for it.
She said that the owners did not let paying guest use it, also asked for instructions for cooker, as one needed an "ology" to use it, and was told the owners of 1016 (the apartment that we rented) had it! The fridge did not work properly, was more like a cool box than a fridge. The apartment was cleaned daily and staff very helpful.

Breakfast was the normal Spanish mix of meats, egg, toast etc., but did become boring after a while The restaurant, for dinner was quite good as was the entertainment in the evening.

The pool area was very good with a large area for sunbathing and a bar for drinks and snacks.

Overall, it was a fairly inexpensive aparthotel and sea views were very pleasant, but the building is in need of repair internally and externally and updating.

We loved Almunecar but would not go back to the Apol Chinasol again.

Room Tip: Room at a higher floor with sea view. Higher floors less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miryam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 35fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank alcaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Muchoviaje
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Almu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Chinasol
Apartamentos Chinasol
#22 of 25 in Almunecar
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
#17 of 25 in Almunecar
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#8 of 25 in Almunecar
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 25 in Almunecar
1,415 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
Sol Los Fenicios by Melia
#2 of 6 in La Herradura
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apal Chinasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apal Chinasol

Address: Avenida Mediterraneo 51 | Playa San Cristobal, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Almunecar
Price Range: £24 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apal Chinasol 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apal Chinasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apal Chinasol Almunecar, Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing