We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 01/06 to 06/06/14 and found it good value for money. It is in a prime location opposite the beach and we gad a very good sea view from room 332. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were clean but a bit dated. In need of an upgrade but would not be put off by this The food was plentiful both at breakfast and dinner and plenty to choose from. Almunecar is a beautiful unspoilt Spanish town on Costa Del Sol. Caters very much for the. Germans. This is the real Spain set in between the mountains. visited Granada for the day and it was lovely to see. Takes approx 1hr 20mins by bus , worth a visit

Room Tip: Sea view a must
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on a last minute break with my Mum. The room was large with a balcony facing the sea, there was a fridge and wine glasses provded, sizeable bathroom with shower over. The furniture was a little tired but everything was clean and comfortable. There are lots of amenities at the hotel - indoor and outdoor pool, small pool, play area and waterslides for the children. Crazy golf, tennis, shuffleboard, table tennis etc. The food was buffet style and
plentiful to suit all nationalities - we liked the traditional cava at breakfast :) Staff were pleasant and helpful.

We found the town and beach lovely to wander around but didn't venture further afield. There are some pleasant restaurants on the beach with free tapas.

A very enjoyable, chilled few days - but if you want action packed, I would suggest this is not the place for you!

Room Tip: If you want sunshine on your balcony for most of the afternoon ask for a room overlooking the pool...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dollyrural1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We mainly chose this hotel for its price and facilities. On arrival we were given room 441 which was on the 4th floor facing the sea, being an end room our balcony was bigger than others. The bathroom although dated was large with a bath with overhead shower, sink with large mirror, hairydryer and toilet & bidet through arch. The benefit of being at the end was 2 windows, toilet one had views of the old town.

Bedroom was large with 2 very firm double beds, bedside tables, chairs and mirrored wardrobes with plenty of hangers and 2 blankets.
There was a fridge which was large enough to store water, fruit etc. The only gripe is no mirror over the dressing table, a must for the ladies! As mentioned by others tv channels were all in german/spanish.

The facilities were good, heated indoor swimming pool/jacuzzi until end of May, Gym and spa facilities at extra cost. Outside pool in May was freezing although jacuzzi was heated. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols so could freely move as sun went round. If like us you fly budget airlines and weight is an issue, towels can be hired for 10 euro for the week, refunded on return, Irons can also be borrowed from reception. One hour Wi-fi to use in reception area although for 20 euros unlimited wi-fi can be used throughout the hotel.

Pretty foyer with foliage tumbling from each floor, comfortable chairs/sofas, games room and pool table. Indoor bar area was nice and bar staff friendly. Reception staff friendly but their english not so good.

Dining room was spacious with plenty on offer for everyones taste. Breakfast offered "full english", the usual cereals, hams, cheese etc. Evening meal, again plenty to choose from, hot, cold, although could be repetitive if staying for 2 weeks.

Cleaners were always cheeful and changed towels/sheets regulary.

Vacating of room is 12 noon, however if they have the space you can extend this for 25 euros! Cases can be stored in a room at reception until departure.

Almunecar as a town was pretty with plenty of small shops,church etc, there is a market on Fridays and Sundays, be sure to get a map of the area from the tourist information kiosk as the hotel provided no information at all.

I would recommend this hotel. It was quiet mid May with mainly elderly Spanish/German visitors, not sure if we'd go in high season.

Room Tip: Choose and end room higher than 4th floor for the views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dozyrosie9909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

10 day holiday booked with Fleetway travel. The hotel was clean and appealing. The rooms comfortable, spacious and clean to a high standard and kept regularly so.
The food offered lots of choice and was plentiful.
The staff were approachable and friendly and were always glad to help and offer advice
The pool area was maintained on a daily basis and throughout each day by the lifeguard on duty. There was plenty of scope for all ages, with a large pool, children's pool, water slide and two Jacuzzis along with loads of sunbeds.
An hour of free wifi access was available in the huge main reception area. The hotel is located right on the sea front with usual amenities but there is lots more to see in the main town of Almunecar. Very enjoyable holiday and would have no hesitation to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

There are signs as you reach Almunecar pointing to various other hotels in the town, but not the Playa Spa - that might have been a clue. On entering the fascinating reception, passing flags which include the British one, I had high hopes, then I noticed a bicycle rack (complete with cycles) adjacent to the reception desk (?). Very few staff can speak English, even less understand it. Though it is true that most guests are/were Germans.
Using the lifts that are the centrepiece to room 301, our initial impression was reinforced, this hotel is a bit tired and needs a refurbishment. Unusually for a holiday hotel, there was no welcome water, fruit, wine - anything - and no information of any kind in the standard cardboard folder on the table. TV had many channels, but only "BBC World Service" - that we later discovered kept having signal problems - unacceptable these days. Internet access is limited (free) to reception area and only one hour a day. Meal times (half board) are 08-00 start, too late for those going on trips, and if you are, its a long way to everywhere and the local motorways seemed to be closed if you wanted to head anywhere but Malaga. The evening meal was even more ridiculous, not commencing until 7-30. Far too late for me ! Though, as a vegetarian, I was quite content with the choice, my partner thought the food was poor.
Our room only got direct sun after 5-00pm, they do tell you that "For very little more you can enjoy the best rooms - we show them to you without obligation" - so even management are aware how poor their rooms are. 'Our' cleaner arrived every day, changed the towels and 'dolly mopped' the floor and balcony. However, if you picked up the hair dryer, it was greasy and covered in previous users hair, the corners of the room and bathroom were very dirty. Though, lots of very hot water for a shower or bath at anytime. There were three bulbs that required replacing in the room and the WC flush jammed so that it could run constantly - it was very wearing trying to explain this to reception staff. (though things were fixed) On one day, the towels were removed, but no bath towels left. It took a visit and three phone calls over 6 hours to rectify this !
I actually felt that apart from being very far away from everywhere (I drove 1000 miles in a week) the hotel was good value for money - Liz hated it !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A lovely holiday to Almunecar and surrounding areas.
Almunecar was lovely, unpretentious and quiet out of season. Reasonable prices, plenty of supermarkets, lovely long promenade, safe, clean and tidy. Shingle beaches with WC facilities and exercise equipment. With a hire car it is a good base for travel to Granada (Alhambra)and Seville (3hrs) with great motorways and a-roads.
Hotel Playa Spa was fabulous! Highly recommended.
The staff were welcoming and helpful at all times. Our room was as requested (a view) large, (2 queen sized beds) large wardrobe, tv, comfortable with a small fridge and air conditioning at no extra cost. Large bathroom, (a bit dated), with bidet. Good views over the pool and coast. Good soundproofing. Shame no tea and coffee making facilities.
Good-size indoor pool and jacuzzi. Lovely outdoor pool with slide and heated jacuzzi.
Breakfast and Dinner Buffet ; this was fabulous due to the variety, with freshly cooked omlettes, meat and fish while you wait.
Wi Fi free for 1 hour in the lobby was quite slow, there are many cafes/bars nearby with wi fi.

Room Tip: The higher the better with a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.
Regarding your comment about WiFi you can hire premium high speed WiFi conection at the reception
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments
best regards
Carlos Estévez Escalera
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent five days here on a deal through Fleetway Travel whose organisation was very good. The Hotel is 4 star and a heavy emphasis on families, with plenty of organised childrens activities although not too noisy when we were there .

Rooms were a good size with two double beds and balcony with sea view.TV was limited.

The buffet dinner varied between average and good but for the price we paid was excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brighton47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and service we provide.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Carlos Estévez Escalera
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.6 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
892 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#11 of 24 in Almunecar
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 24 in Almunecar
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel

Address: Paseo China Gorda s/n., 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Almunecar
#3 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range: £50 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almunecar Playa SPA Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, behind the seafront, just minutes from the old quarter of Almunecar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almunecar Playa Hotel Almunecar
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing