We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for group travel - superb value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We brought a group of 40 to the Almuñécar Playa in mid-March to sign a Sister City agreement between Almuñécar and Hendersonville, NC and the hotel exceeded our expectations in many ways. On prior trips, I had stayed at the Bahia Tropical and at a friend's apartment, but needed a hotel within walking distance of the townhall and the Casa de Cultura, where our official events were held. I was a bit concerned about some of the negative comments, but most of them seemed to come from participants in Saga group tours, which appears to provide cheap vacations for Brits, many of whom seem to expect 5 star service for 2 star prices. Coming from a town of similar size, we are now concerned that we cannot provide the mayor of Almuñécar with accommodations of equivalent quality to the Almuñécar Playa when he makes his return visit. Considering the current weakness of the US dollar, the value we received was exceptional.

In fairness, the hotel is able to provide value by limiting the amount of staff. There were no porters to help with baggage when we arrived. Knowing that in advance might have been helpful, especially since Americans tend to travel with more baggage than Europeans do. The check-in, however, was faster and more efficient than I expected, and the elevators were not a problem. The only time we had an appreciable wait was when a large group checked in. Otherwise, they were very fast. I agree that the carpeting in the hallways is somewat worn, but with the amount of traffic it gets, they could replace it yearly and still have the problem. The alternative would be a hard surface, which would increase the noise. Compared to the time we spent at a friend's apartment in Almuñécar, the Almuñécar Playa was surprisingly quiet.

The rooms were spacious and clean, with large, well-equipped bathrooms. One member of our group commented that the hot water was so hot she had to cut it back - contrary to what Americans tend to expect in Europe. We had booked half board, which is the minimum, and were surprised by the variety and quality of the food, especially that things could be cooked to order, and very quickly. The cava on the breakfast buffet was an especially big hit, as was the 2-for-1 happy hour each afternoon. The wine list had about 25 selections under 10 euros, and one of our bigger surprises was how low our bar bills were at the end of the week.

It's possible that we received a few extra services because we were guests of the mayor, but it appeared that a more limited breakfast was available for anyone who had an early departure, with prior reservation. They had a more limited buffet on the day we left early for Granada, and table service on the day of our very early departure. In general, the staff tried very hard to please us, even though some of our requests may have been a bit unusual.

Almuñécar, itself, is a rather amazing destination, with incredible history. At this point, it is largely undiscovered by Americans. English is not as widely spoken there as in other, more developed coastal areas of Spain. Granada province has not promoted its coast to the extent that other Spanish provinces have, since much of it is primarily agricultural. Almuñécar is a gem, tucked into its southwest corner, and the last place the super highway has reached, since the mountains there come directly to the sea. We feel fortunate to have it as our first Sister City.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redheadengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2010

Booked this hotel for our family of five. It was perfect, we used it as a base to travel around southern Spain covering Granada, The Sierra Nevada Mt area and beautiful towns along the sea: Malaga and Nerja. Having dinner and breakfast provided was a big help, the melas were varied. If you stay here make sure you take a walk along the sea and hiked up into old Almunecar. Not very popular with American tourists which is what we were lokking for.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LISAPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Well folks, this is a great hotel with excellent facilities right on the beach (well, across the road 20mtrs away). The rooms are a good size & all appear to have a partial if not full sea view.

The staff were excellent, especially Oscar head of reception, Roberto head of the Restaurant and Desiree the waitress. Very friendly and helpful. We would have scored the hotel 'Ecellent' if it were not for the food (Lunch & Dinner - breakfast was generally fine). In the main the food was simply cold or luke-warm at best, however, there were always alternatives and we managed)

The point is, we managed to get a 5 nights, 6 days half board for £198.00 for the both of us!!!! Amazing deal really,

The spar is good but not exceptional and they are not open for the Sunday till Tuesday. (We had 2 free sessions each in the deal), When you consider the indoor pool and the jacuzi are free, better value than spending €15 on a session in the spa!

All said and done, a fantastic deal in a very good hotel with friendly staff - if the food had been better, we would have been in heaven!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank pbos50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Previous reviews made us wonder if we'd done the right thing booking here but we found everything was way above average.
The modern hotel is on the seafront with a huge atrium, a well-stocked bar and large buffet restaurant. The bedrooms are spacious and well-furnished and give pool and/or sea views. The staff, in the main, were friendly and competent, although the bar was under-staffed at certain times.
The restaurant offered plentiful food at all meals, and a microwave was provided presumably for the English - I think we're the only ones who like really hot food.
The only things the bedroom lacked were tea/coffee-making facilities but these again are something only the English seem to need and you can always take your own.
The worse part of the experience was the evening entertainment which seemed to be arranged and undertaken by amateurs - for the flamenco show, we couldn't see the dancers except as silhouettes. The entertainment host said the dancers didn't like stage lighting as it melted their make-up!
If you are going with Saga as we did, you have the excellent Saga reps to look after you, and the 'all-inclusive bar' is exceptional.
During the cooler months, there is a heated indoor pool and jacuzzi, with outdoor facilities as well.
The town is a 'live in' Spanish town with shops, parks, and a Moorish castle, and a long flat promenade around the 2 bays.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2008

Am leaving this morning and just wasting time waiting for the coach. I agree with the last review. Staff in dining room especially must have been trained at Basil Fawlty school of hotel management. Our friends complained and manged to get the room cleaned. Managements excuse for the state of the corridor carpet was that not being cleaned as being replaced 'soon'.

Unlike Arnie, we will not be back.
johnep

Stayed: May 2008
5  Thank johnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

My wife and I (late 60's) just returned from a fortnight all-inclusive at the Amuneca Playa with Saga. (Our first Saga holiday but not greatly impressed.) Agree with much of the other reviews. This could be a really good hotel but poor management and basic design faults, eg two lifts for anything up to 400 guests, prevent this at present.

The location is excellent. However, there was non-stop pile driving for a new car park on the beach front during our stay and I would definitely not recommend a visit within a year or two because there is a huge building project, a hotel, apartment block and carpark, just underway right alongside the Playa hotel.

There were several areas of the hotel which were decidely grubby, eg the corridors outside the bedrooms (new carpet needed) and the solarium with several of its recliners and parasols broken. The weather was fine but extremely windy much of the time and some wind shields are needed - guests were improvising with parasols wedged into recliners.

The food was of a good standard and served at the appropriate temperature. A little lacking in variety, however, especially in green vegetables.

Turning to the staff, mostly they were on the less-than-friendly side with just a few exceptions including the chamber maids. And we were using basic Spanish. Many of the staff gave the impression that they would rather be elsewhere. Possibly because there was a very obvious shortage of personnel.

One instance of poor management: pigeons were nesting on a ledge actually in the balcony to our room. The young fledged while we were there but hung around with the parent birds. The mess they made on the outside furniture and floor with their droppings had to be seen to be believed. The Saga rep thought having the pigeons there was charming, however, saying "You wouldn't get that in England."!. Too right. It would be regarded as unhygienic and a definite health hazard.

Finally, the hotel managers were very noticeable by their absence.

PS If a really good example of a four star hotel is required, I would thoroughly recommend the Porto Rethymno in Crete where we stayed last year.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mosaicSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Shouldn't really write this or the hotel will become inundated. The staff were excellent, always smiling, always helpful and always caring. Cleanliness could not be faulted. Food was brilliant - so much choice - all well cooked and hot. Ruben a chef checked each dish as I was allergic to chicken. Carmen cooks a mean steak. Bar Staff happy and very quick to serve. Reception always knew the answers and their English was really good. Room so luxurious and what a sea view. Spa.... incredible. Weather good and sunny. Very Spanish area and full of Spanish culture. Best holiday. I am going again in May.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank h0lidaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
0.1 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
986 reviews
2.6 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Almunecar
1,823 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 25 in Almunecar
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 25 in Almunecar
1,445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
#13 of 25 in Almunecar
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
Hotel Arrayanes Playa
#17 of 25 in Almunecar
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel

Address: Paseo China Gorda s/n., 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#3 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range: £41 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almunecar Playa SPA Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, behind the seafront, just minutes from the old quarter of Almunecar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almunecar Playa Hotel Almunecar
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing