We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food”
Review of Reina Sofia

Reina Sofia
Ranked #39 of 262 Restaurants in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We live in Almunecar and do not eat out that much, but Reina Sofia is our choice for special occasions because we know there will be very good food and attentive service.The owner/ chef is very creative. The food is imaginativly prepared and presented. The ingedients are always fresh. This is nowhere near the usual offerings of fried fish, overcooked veggies, etc. often served at seafront establishments. The meat is some of the best for quality and taste. We always order the eggplant (aubergine) starter which is perfect every time, crispy slices with soft cheese drizzeled with molasses. Also the very original version of gambas pil pil served on a bed of very thin slices of potato with a tasty sauce. The desserts are irresitible too, unfornunately so if you are on a diet. This is the kind of food we would expect in a big city, not our little seaside town. Reservation a must on weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    29
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We took my parents for te last night of our mini-break and it turned out to be our favourite meal of the holiday. Very individual menu compared to the usual standard offerings and all presented superbly, whilst not suffering from the tiny portions that you often get with we'll presented food. Price was reasonable for the quality and wine was cheaper than a lot of the restaurants we visited.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingston11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
268 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“One of the better ones in town”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The seatings are not the best, choose between outside close to the sidewalk or inside - in summer that´s not the best options. Although we enjoyed the food, which were both tasty and served with elegance.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norwegiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Nice restaurant and excellent food. They do an excellent daily menu and I had one of the best fish dishes I have had locally and beautifully presented.

Prices are high so try the menu del dia.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almendros21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
københavn
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over the top”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This restaurant is the best in Almuñecar . The food is just excelent. The place is elegant, have a nice terrasse and very good atmosphere. We Can highly recomend that beautiful place

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kathe077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reina Sofia also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 

Been to Reina Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing