We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal and friendly servcie”

El Rinconcillo de JR
Ranked #63 of 259 Restaurants in Almunecar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and friendly servcie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The tapas was very tasty and just kept coming until we had to tell them "no more"!!! The full menu is extensive and was very good, the seafood soup was delicious as was the rack of lamb and the staff were very efficient and helpful recommending a lovely red wine. Will definitely eat here again on our next visit to Almunecar.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happyjan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“ok,lots of Belgian tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

the menue card is baly translated,the choice of tapas not so great and the place is a bit dark inside, not so cheap for meals,sometimes you have to wait longtime

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKE207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Simply incredible tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I discovered El Rinconcillo this summer when we were in Granada and we absolutely loved it. We crowded up to the bar and were delighted to watch the waiters scrawling sums in chalk on the top of the bar as they toted up our order. The pork cheeks was one of the first plates we tried, and it was nothing short of divine. Watching the jamon shaved straight from the leg was a delightful experience (and the ham is also to die for). Because we didn't speak Spanish, it was sometimes hard to get the waiter's attention, but patience and persistence will pay off. Because we liked the place so much, we actually went back a second night and enjoyed it as much or more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great night out - excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Always reliable for raciones and menu del dia, but it's difficult to see how JR's weekly five-course special menu with flamenco display for 18e can be beaten. Good food, friendly service, and dynamic dancing drew a capacity crowd. It's essential to book if you want to enjoy these events.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Visited for an evening drink with tapas. Friendly staff, drinks very cheap, 2€ for example for a very decent Rioja. Accompanying tapas was tasty. They have a 5 course menu on a Wednesday for about 15€ which includes Cava, wine and water. We haven't tried it but at that price, not much to lose.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henri10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rinconcillo de JR also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 

Been to El Rinconcillo de JR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing