We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, amazing setting, sea view...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Rijana

looking down to La Rijana pool and its setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
looking down to La Rijana pool and its setting
time to relax on the double-sided terrace seating on the corner of our 2 sided terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
looking down to La Rijana pool and its setting
time to relax on the double-sided terrace
seating on the corner of our 2 sided terrace
across the pool to our house and parking
Sitting room opening on to the terrace with sea views
Sitting room opening on to the terrace with sea views
Sitting room opening on to the terrace with sea views
The kitchen: modern and well-equipped
Master bedroom with king bed and sea views to Motril
ensuite through to master bedroom with sea and mountain views
Early skies over the sea, from our bedroom
bedroom 1 and 2
Bedroom 2 with sea views
Bedroom 3 with sea views
2nd bathroom
Stairs to second floor
my favourite Almunecar beach
The Moorish style tourist office in Almunecar
One of the cobbled streets in Almunecar old town
Almunecar's Botanical Gardens, (and castle) where the International Jazz Festival is held each
View across the Parque Mediterraneo to Playa Galera, Almunecar
The nearby Marina del Este
Beach restaurants down the cliffs of the Costa Tropical
Typical tower of the Tropical Coast
Cantarrijan, naturist beach within the Marine Reserve of the Costa Tropical
Maro, just outside Nerja
The world renouned Alhambra Palace in Granada, just an hour away
One of the many beautiful beaches of the Costa Tropical
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Almunecar, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
rose386
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, amazing setting, sea view. Definitely recommend to others.”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I have returned here as we had the best stay last time we came a year ago. The house is spacious, clean and had everything there we needed. We went to the pool each day and also the beach which is very close by at the bottom of the hill. The views from the house overlook the sea and are breath taking. We were lucky enough to even see dolphins one morning whilst eating breakfast! We will definitely be coming again. Thank you Sheila for all your helpful information and for a brilliant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and well done for spotting the dolphins this time - I obviously need to be a bit more watchful when I'm taking breakfast on the terrace!
We look forward to your next booking with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona P
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A great getaway from the heat and hectic life of Madrid! Beautiful house with lovely pool and great little town. We hired a car and drove to some great nearby beaches that Sheila suggested to us. We also enjoyed some great tapas and flamenco in Almuñecar town. All in all a perfect weekend. Thanks Sheila!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
De nada Shona!
We hope that you can take another break from your hectic life in Madrid to get down to either this seaside villa or maybe our retreat in the hills, Bajo La Maroma! This is just outside the white village of Canillas de Aceituno, only an hour from the airport and less than 30mins from the coast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ednl113
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Amazing sea-view apartment”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Spent a weekend in this amazing gated community. We booked a flight to Malaga and rented a car at the airport. Very good connection to Almune-by-car. Arrived at night so couldn't see the breathtaking views yet. Even better waking up the next morning. Nice beaches close by. If you rent a car be sure to check out the beaches in the area. Highly recommend this villa!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thanks for your great review and glad that you took the opportunity to investigate the beaches of the fabulous Costa Tropical!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K12kyl
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent villa with stunning sea-views”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had an excellent break at La Rijana. Villa was perfect, had everything that we needed including a large wrap-around balcony over-looking the sea. Short drive from many secluded cove beaches along the Costa Tropical and close to the town centre. We particularly enjoyed wandering around the old town, which has plenty of traditional bodegas and restaurants to choose from. Overall an excellent holiday and hope to stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thanks Kirsty, so glad that you enjoyed your break.
I agree entirely with you, the joys of this house and location are the 2-sided terrace (to catch or avoid the sun, depending on the weather and your preferance), the huge variety of beaches (with differing proximity, backdrops and facilities) and the town in its three categories, the historic cobbled atmospheric old town, the innumerable chiringuitos (beach bars) of the coast and the extra services and facilities provided by the newerparts of town.
We certainly hope to see you again with returners' discount!!
Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolaros...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous villa set in small community with stunning views of the mountains and the med”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (a family of six adults) rented this villa for 10 days based on a recommendation from a friend. There was a lot of space both inside and on the balcony for the six of us. There was lots of storage space in the kitchen and bedrooms. I especially liked that the master bedroom had an en suite and there was another toilet on the landing. We were only a few paces from the communal pool which was mostly felt like our own for private use due to there not being many other holiday goers during our stay. The pool overlooked the Mediterranean sea which beautiful. We even watched dolphins playing in the waves caused by a speedboat in the sea from the poolside.

Facilities in the villa were fab! Especially the blue tooth connected music player, tv and dvd player and cheap wifi (15 euros for a week that we could all use)! Shame there wasn't an oven but there was a microwave oven that just about did the job as well as a kettle, toaster and a large fridge/freezer. We found it very useful that there was a file full of local information placed in the villa. This recommended various beaches, restaurants, sporting activities and so on.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU RENT A CAR. My mum is an amputee and we actually contemplated not hiring a car but instead just busing, taxing or walking. It would have left her very stranded if we did not have a car as I didn't see any buses in that area and it was way to far a walk up and down the mountain sides to Almunecar town.

Almunecar town is a 5 minute drive and has lots to offer including restaurants and bars, supermarkets, pharmacies and retail shopping. We did find the siesta time a bit frustrating as by the time we get up and ready things are not long shut for the afternoon before opening again from 6/7/8 onwards.

You are only an hours drive from Malaga airport and are in easy access of places like Salobrena, Nerja and La Herradura. You could also easily get to Motril and Granada if you wanted to spend a day at either.

I would recommend this villa

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the peace, the beauty of plants and herbs, the pool.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing