We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“autumn break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Almunecar
sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“autumn break”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Although the hotel was closing for the winter at the end of our week there was no sign of any slacking in service. Pool was cleaned and maintained, rooms were spotless. Waiters worked their socks off. All staff very helpful. Food was good always a wide choice and good quality. Good showers and bath. Rooms all have bed settees in them as well as large twin beds. ( two small doubles)

Husband and I disagreed on the beds which were very hard - he liked them I didn't ! Would have liked to have been able to make tea and coffee in the rooms. There was an extra charge for using the safe which seemed a bit unnecessary.
Spanish families can make it noisy at the weekend , although carpeted corridors help.

Room Tip: Dont think it makes any difference. There are no rooms over dining room or bar. It appeared all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    261
    154
    46
    24
See reviews for
307
195
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire. UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel was booked for us as part of a package deal so we were a little apprehensive beforehand. As it turned out, it was pretty good overall.
The building and room furnishings are perhaps a little dated and "tired" but they were spotlessly clean and the bedlinen and towels were changed daily. Most rooms either overlooked the pool area or had a sea view. Ours unfortunately looked out onto the street at the side, but it was nice and quiet at night, so it didn't really matter.
The air con in the room was excellent - very effective without being noisy.
All meals were served in buffet style with plenty of variety and choice. We didn't go hungry during breakfast, lunch or dinner!
As with most Spanish hotels, the thing I missed most was a hospitality tray in the room. It's a great shame they don't provide this small additional comfort for guests. Maybe they'll catch on one day!

Room Tip: Not all rooms ovelook the pool or have a sea view so if this is important to you, it might be advisa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marianjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Ths is undoubtedly a resort hotel for families wanting sun and sea. Our party was only here one night and it was the location that resulted in this choice of hotel. The room faced onto the seafront, wlthough the rest appeared to be grouped around the central swimming pool in an enlarged courtyard. The large sizes of the room and bathroom did not compensate for a sense of isolation.

Food is enjoyed in what only may be described as a large refectory with limited appeal. This led to morning and evening "bunfights" as various individuals queue jumped in efforts to grab their selections. This was in the face of the dishes being regularly topped up. For an overnight stop this did not matter but a longer stay may have led to more irritation..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed for one night at Bahia, very good deal from Booking.com. Beautiful view of the Mediterranean city from 10th floor, simply amazing...

Room Tip: 8th floor and above, facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZackPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We recently met up with friends and spent a couple of nights at this hotel. Our rooms were very spacious and comfortable and exceptionally clean. The temperature in the room could be adjusted easily.

We were booked in for bed, breakfast and evening meal. The choice from the buffet catered for everyone and the food was delicious. The only problem was that we ate a little too much.

The hotel has fabulous sea views and yet is in a quiet location but ideally placed to tour the local area. We shall certainly go again.

We only had one tiny complaint. We should like to have kept up with the news on CNN but couldn't receive it for some reason. This was the only channel in English. Other than that it was great.

Stan & Marilyn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

our group holidayed with the travel department and we spent 7 nights in this hotel. we had no complaints...the hotel was really nice, rooms were larger than average and each room had a terrace. the staff were helpful, courteous and extremely hard working, nothing seemed too much trouble for them. the food was great too with lots of choice in the buffet breakfast and dinner. it was a very large hotel but everything seemed well organised.

Room Tip: choose a room with a sea view or you can choose a room with view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rosanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and I stayed 5 days in this hotel early October 2011. Definitely worth a 4 stars !!
Everything is perfect. We had a very comfortable suite, but the "normal" rooms are very large and very quiet at night. You can select seaview or swimming pool view.
Very clean hotel. 3th floor has a Spa. Good food with breakfast, lunch and dinner in buffet. You can ask for picnic. Not the Spanish cuisine, but international standard, varying every day. We had Steak, Paella, Pork, chicken, and you can select different sauces. Great choice of vegetables and desserts. Good wine for cheap prices.
Very friendly, multilingual reception staff. helpfull. Free WIFI.
Swimming pool is not heated. I suppose it can be rather cold in spring. But you can use the spa-swimming pool.
At approx 3 km from Almunecar city centre. You can walk along the sea to join the center, but there is also a bus stop in front of the hotel. There is a nice small beach just in front of the entrance. We had FB, with sometimes a nice picnic at noon. Very close to Granada, Nerja, Motril, Malaga and white "Alpujjarras" villages in Sierra Nevada!
Prices are really interesting!

Room Tip: If you call for a reservation, ask for Rosanna, she is very kind and helpfull, fluent in English.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FreddyDeWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
4.0 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia de Almunecar
Hotel Bahia de Almunecar
#14 of 24 in Almunecar
219 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#2 of 5 in La Herradura
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Tropical Hotel

Property: Bahia Tropical Hotel
Address: Paseo Del Tesorillo, Playa Del Pozuelo, Almunecar, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bahia Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bahia Tropical
Bahia Tropical Hotel Almunecar, Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing