We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Tropical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
harrogate
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here for a week on a holiday organised by Preferred Travel. As a single traveller I was delighted with my spacious and comfortable double room with a balcony facing the leafy and quiet park. The hotel is situated on a corner away from all the high-rise developments nearby and it's easy to walk to pretty and quiet coves and beaches with very few tourists(in February - might be different later in the year)! It's also possible to walk the 3.5 kilometres to the little town of Almunecar - very Spanish in character and not very touristy. There is quite a good bus service and it's easy to reach Nerja and the beautiful village of Frigiliana if you want to avoid the steep costs of the organised excursions.

On the downside, the food wasn't very good, with green soup every day, a limited choice of puddings and overcooked fish and vegetables - not bad, but after the first couple of meals it got a bit monotonous.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the park get morning sun, and are away from the pool which even in February was noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    240
    131
    36
    24
See reviews for
272
173
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel a few times and have always enjoyed our time there.
The hotel is lovely, rooms very spacious easily adequate for families. Pool area is well kept and lobby is lovely too. The hot is in a quiet area if you're looking for a hotel close to loads of bars and resteraunts don't come here , there is a park next door to hotel that has a small bar and a couple of resteraunts within a few minutes walk. Just a few minutes walk away you will find playa del Tesoro a lovely cove like beach with 2 beach bars , a really pretty beach and great for kids.
The hotel has tended to have a lot of Spanish guests when we have stayed this I find a bonus as it means the food us more Spanish style and not Brit style. Cannot fault the food in anyway great variety all very fresh and tasty, even the pickiest eater would find something they liked.
We will certainly return again in the future

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kellykeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Although the hotel was closing for the winter at the end of our week there was no sign of any slacking in service. Pool was cleaned and maintained, rooms were spotless. Waiters worked their socks off. All staff very helpful. Food was good always a wide choice and good quality. Good showers and bath. Rooms all have bed settees in them as well as large twin beds. ( two small doubles)

Husband and I disagreed on the beds which were very hard - he liked them I didn't ! Would have liked to have been able to make tea and coffee in the rooms. There was an extra charge for using the safe which seemed a bit unnecessary.
Spanish families can make it noisy at the weekend , although carpeted corridors help.

Room Tip: Dont think it makes any difference. There are no rooms over dining room or bar. It appeared all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire. UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel was booked for us as part of a package deal so we were a little apprehensive beforehand. As it turned out, it was pretty good overall.
The building and room furnishings are perhaps a little dated and "tired" but they were spotlessly clean and the bedlinen and towels were changed daily. Most rooms either overlooked the pool area or had a sea view. Ours unfortunately looked out onto the street at the side, but it was nice and quiet at night, so it didn't really matter.
The air con in the room was excellent - very effective without being noisy.
All meals were served in buffet style with plenty of variety and choice. We didn't go hungry during breakfast, lunch or dinner!
As with most Spanish hotels, the thing I missed most was a hospitality tray in the room. It's a great shame they don't provide this small additional comfort for guests. Maybe they'll catch on one day!

Room Tip: Not all rooms ovelook the pool or have a sea view so if this is important to you, it might be advisa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marianjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Ths is undoubtedly a resort hotel for families wanting sun and sea. Our party was only here one night and it was the location that resulted in this choice of hotel. The room faced onto the seafront, wlthough the rest appeared to be grouped around the central swimming pool in an enlarged courtyard. The large sizes of the room and bathroom did not compensate for a sense of isolation.

Food is enjoyed in what only may be described as a large refectory with limited appeal. This led to morning and evening "bunfights" as various individuals queue jumped in efforts to grab their selections. This was in the face of the dishes being regularly topped up. For an overnight stop this did not matter but a longer stay may have led to more irritation..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed for one night at Bahia, very good deal from Booking.com. Beautiful view of the Mediterranean city from 10th floor, simply amazing...

Room Tip: 8th floor and above, facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZackPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We recently met up with friends and spent a couple of nights at this hotel. Our rooms were very spacious and comfortable and exceptionally clean. The temperature in the room could be adjusted easily.

We were booked in for bed, breakfast and evening meal. The choice from the buffet catered for everyone and the food was delicious. The only problem was that we ate a little too much.

The hotel has fabulous sea views and yet is in a quiet location but ideally placed to tour the local area. We shall certainly go again.

We only had one tiny complaint. We should like to have kept up with the news on CNN but couldn't receive it for some reason. This was the only channel in English. Other than that it was great.

Stan & Marilyn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.2 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.1 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Alcazar
Best Alcazar
#13 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
#12 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Tropical Hotel

Property: Bahia Tropical Hotel
Address: Paseo Del Tesorillo, Playa Del Pozuelo, Almunecar, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#4 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bahia Tropical
Bahia Tropical Hotel Almunecar, Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing