We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Tropical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Booked with Preferred Travel a week in this Hotel. The rooms were immaculate and we had a view of the pool and sea.
The breakfast was great something for everyone, dinner was good and plenty of variety.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and even out of season there was entertainment every night. Not suitable if you want to party. but perfect for a very restful holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandra_gillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    240
    131
    36
    24
See reviews for
272
173
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here with Preferred Travel Services in May 2013. The place was very clean and the rooms large and comfortable. The food was good - especially if you like pork! But saying that there was an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The barmen soon got to know our room number (that's a bad sign!) And we even had a couple of free drinks off the barmen as we spent quite a bit at the bar! The entertainment was the same most nights - even the same bloke playing guitar to a backing track four of the nights. Usual songs, Feelings, Spanish Eyes etc. people were ballroom dancing to it. I thought it was hysterical especially when he sang Delilah (being Welsh!) although we are in our 50's we haven't reached the ballroom stage yet! It is situated by the beach but all the beaches in this area are stony and grey sand so not at all comfortable to lie on on go bare feet! We were there just before the season started so not everywhere was open, but we had a few drinks on the beach bars in the evenings, lovely moon rises. We were really impressed that wherever we had a drink we had a free plate of tapas too - so as we were half board the snacks we had in the day were sufficient to tide us over to the evening - and they were free! It was quite a long walk into Almunecar which is the nearest town (about 2.5km) but a very pleasant walk along the beach promenade. I would definitely recommend this hotel but if you're looking for beautiful beaches and lots of nightlife then this is not the place for you!

Room Tip: Practically all rooms have a view of the pool and/or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiethehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just a small review on this hotel. Stayed here one night. Rooms are clean and spacious. Lunch was buffet style, quite decent variety of food. Dinner was a fixed menu but absolutely gorgeous right from the starters to desert. Would definitely just come to have this awesome food.
There's a nice big pool and the beach is just outside the main entrance. Only drawback is that its located a bit out of town. Overall I had a pleasant stay. One more thing, beds are not too great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyDayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almunecar, Spain
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel was very nice and had a large pool with plenty of activities for the kids. The breakfast was fairly standard European with meats, cheese, breads and pastries. Some cereal and fruits as well. It is just across from a small beach which was very nice. It is a short walk to the Velilla area of Almunecar, but if it is off season this beach is EMPTY. So if between Oct-April be warned you may feel isolated. It is a good mile + walk to get to the city center. If you are there to enjoy the hotel and what it has to offer then you are in the correct place. If you want to walk around town and experience all that it has to offer, you may want something closer. That said, there aren't many options near town that are this nice.

We really enjoyed the extra lounging areas and wifi in the Lobby as well as the couch and TV on the first floor. This provided us with extra living space.

Room Tip: The pool side can be a bit noisy in high season, but it is good if you want to get the sun in aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WagonerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from this hotel having been on a package with Preferred Travel Services, an excellent company. The hotel is very good all round with large rooms and good food although the evening meal service does not start until 7-30pm, rather late for us Brits, the free WiFi however is a welcome treat. The only problem is the location, it is 3.7km out of town (not 2km as a previous report states) and the local bus service does not run between 1400 and 1700hrs (Siesta time I think)
In the local area there is a small supermarket and a couple of beach restaurants, the beaches however are very stoney.

Room Tip: Insist on getting a room overlooking the pool as the others overlook a road (very important)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodanne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

2km out of town right by the beach amongst charming streets, good value, great food and friendly service. Large rooms, clean all round a very good hotel. A good relatively quiet location with lots of attractions close by.

Room Tip: Pick overlooking the pool if possible so you can relax in the sunshine on your own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here with our 18 month old son for one night on the way from Malaga to almeria. It is quite difficult to find the hotel as tomtom seemed to think you could just drive down tiny paths! I would certain,y recommend a printed map.

From the outside the hotel looks like somewhere my parents might have stayed in the seventies but it was cool and calm and classically decorated on the inside. The internal area with the pool which you cannot see from the outside is really lovely with a separate children's pool ( which we didn't use as it was too early in the season).

The rooms are big with a sofa and plenty of additional space for a cot. We had a balcony overlooking the park which was fun for my son but we would have preferred a pool view.

We had half board which was very good value for money but fairly average buffet style food. You would probably get bored of this if you were eating in for a week. You cannot order wine by the glass at dinner but they will save a bottle for you until the next evening if you can't mange a whole one in one sitting. Breakfast was buffet again with a pretty good spread. Service in the restaurant was prompt and our son was fussed over and made to feel welcome.

There are restaurants and bars and two nice beaches within a very short walk of the hotel. There were also many more restaurants and chiringuitos about 10-15 minutes walk. While we were there we didn't hear any other English voices which was fine by us. There were mainly Spanish tourists with occasional Germans. I'd be happy to return here -great if you want a quiet, sunny break away from the costa del sol masses.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view-ground floor if you have kids as you can open gate from terrace directly onto pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGI1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
2.2 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.1 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
#12 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Alcazar
Best Alcazar
#13 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Tropical Hotel

Property: Bahia Tropical Hotel
Address: Paseo Del Tesorillo, Playa Del Pozuelo, Almunecar, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#4 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bahia Tropical
Bahia Tropical Hotel Almunecar, Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing