We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Alcazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Alcazar
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Almunecar
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Poor service, the staff only want to know you once you tip them.
very noisy hotel, the only good thing was the free bus into La Harruda and the breakfast at the giveaway. Would not return to this hotel if you paid me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dougaltuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Alcazar, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Sir,
We regret that your expectations of our establishment have not been fully met. Similarly, we thank you that you have made your comments
We sincerely that you give us a second oportunity and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us and see by yourself that our hotel is a great offer in price-quality standards

Best regards,

Carlos Campos
Director
Hotel Best Alcazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    398
    290
    131
    118
See reviews for
620
287
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week all inclusive from 21-28 September . This is certainly not 4 star. Apartments were clean but very basic. Stayed on 1 st floor above the car park which was sometimes noisy. Did not have much of a sea view. Balcony had rusted air vents and paint peeling off the walls. We overlooked the swimming pool which was very noisy. In fact hotel is very loud and very Spanish orientated. The rails from the pool were coming away from the wall of the pool and hand rails down the ramp to the reception was coming away from the brick wall making it dangerous especially for elderly guests we saw trying to get up the steps. Tiles were broken on steps all around the hotel. The entertainment is all in Spanish and not very good so spent the evening after dinner on our balcony. The noise does not stop until at least 2 in the morning and even then the children are running along the corridors and shouting. The bar staff are very rude and don't serve the English until you shout at them. The place is quite messy as the bar staff just throw rubbish from tables onto the floor. The same in the restaurant food is just thrown onto the floor when they wipe tables. Tables are very close together and you feel you are sitting with another family. The staff work very hard in the restaurant but do tend to crash about and bang your drinks on the table and always look as if they have the hump and are not enjoying there job. Many times I found the crockery with food on them from the previous day. Hot food was mostly cold. Chicken, fish, pizza, pork was the main hot meals every night. The breakfast was very poor. Had toast most mornings and cheese rolls lunch time, with chicken and salad in the evenings. Was hungry a lot of the time. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere stuck on top of a mountain. A shuttle bus does take you to the beach but we walked down and got the bus back up. There is nothing to do outside of the hotel and our highlight of the holiday was going to the beach to get an English newspaper as the hotel shop did not stock them. Did ask to be moved to a livelier resort but nothing was available and cannot fault Ruth on reception or the manager who tried their best to help. This hotel is 6 years old but looks a lot older and needs a lot of maintenance to bring it up to date. It is more 2-3 star. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Alcazar, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Mrs Julie,

First of all, Thank you for posting your comment by tripadvisor but we are very sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your holidays a 100%

We will check all the points mentoined to asure that our guest having a good stay you will be able to check it yourselves in case you come back one day

We check bar and restaurant staff to be more polite if you think was not so good for you.

Breakfast have cold and hot buffet, showcooking during breakfast, lunch and dinner, coffe, milk, juices, fruit, eggs, pancakes etc,… We feel sorry that in your opinión this was very poor. We having many different plates to make sure it is different every single day and also some gala and theme dinners. We hope to see you again in the future and if you do so please request a higher floor to have better views.

Thank you and best regards,

Carlos Campos
Director
Hotel Best Alcazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Almunecar hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I always rate the hotel according to what I pay. This is a good choice. La Herradura is one of my favourite destinations in Spain as it is missing the dozens of bars that towns like Marbella have. It would be a great family choice. This hotel is located on the hill between La Herradura and Marina Del Este. If you don't have a car you don't want to stay here as there are only two buses a day. Its a decent walk to town! There is nothing around this hotel. But it is good value for money and if you like to walk then its good choice!
It was very clean and the breakfast buffet was really nice.
The staff were very friendly except the one man in reception who kept cursing Jesus under his breath when I asked him to explain why he was charging me every day as separate charges on my credit card instead of just once when I checked out.
The walls are paper thin and you will hear the people in adjacent rooms cough like they are in the same room as you. In this hotel you hear everyone going past your room on the way to their rooms.
I had a fantastic sea view room which made up for everything!
There is a tennis court and a pool. And if you have a car then its a good option.
It was really well priced at approx 45 Euros a night, including breakfast, In the off season. The cleaning staff were excellent and left my towels folded in the shape of a tortoise on the bed. Nice touch!

Room Tip: Choose a room high up with seaviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingsailordiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Marina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent six nights in the Best Alcazar on a Full Board basis. The location is a bit out of town, but the views from the rooms make up for that. There is a local bus running through the day and you can walk to the nearby bay of Herradura.
Rooms are clean and quite large with two 4ft wide beds giving plenty of room. Unfortunattely there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, nor is there wifi in the rooms.
There is free wifi in reception - but it is very slow!
The Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, although a knowledge of Spanish helps.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnfris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

The two adjoining towns of Almunecar and La Herradura are well worth a visit but what could have been such a pleasant trip was spoilt by the choice of hotel. I have never in all my life stayed in one quite so noisy. It was also much too far from any form of life.
I will say the food was excellent, the staff, for the most part, were cheerful and helpful and the rooms were spacious if a little dreary. I was told they were undergoing renovation but saw no evidence of this.
The rooms were kept clean, but mine, on the 4th floor,must have been one of the very last at about 4.30 each day, to be cleaned.
I needed internet but it was very, very slow and the connection was lost every 5 or so minutes. Work that I needed to do had to go by the wayside.
The hotel shop was little better than a kiosk and there was little to tempt, certainly not the prices.
The same could be said for the hotel bar which was very poor and rather expensive...2 shorts with 1 mix was 13.50 euro and to say that entertainment was poor would be an understatement.
Indeed the whole hotel was extremely tired and is nowhere near to a 4 star rating that it claims. I have stayed in better 2 stars.
Attached to an aparthotel, guests of which share the hotel facilities, this is very much a Spanish family hotel

Room Tip: Needs to be north facing otherwise in the shade all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldeas43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Unfortunately, this doesn't have to be equal to quality since the coastal region of Granada (Costa Tropical, as they choose to call it) seem to almost totally lack good tourist hotels of West European standard. It is a sad fact, but very true as I personally have lived in many of them for longer periods, in Best Alcazar for moths in total. The hotel is fairly new, large tourist machine made for Spaniards. The interior colors are very dark and depressing. The dining room enormous and made to serve hundreds of people at one time. Food can be quite tasty if there are many quests there, or almost unbelievably bad if there are just a few. I guess it depends largely on the chefs present at the time. Bedrooms are rather large and with well sized balconies, many with nice views. Unfortunately, the mattresses are as hard as only the Spanish can want them and provide, at least me with almost zero sleep. After some time I learned to ask for blankets at the reception which I formed in suitable layers upon the mattress, under the bedsheets. It helps, but you need at least a handful of them! The good thing about this hotel: The price vs value ratio in the low season is almost impossible to beat. Sometimes I managed to get half pension for under 35€ per day from the Spanish hotel brokers (like; quehoteles.com). The more common brokers could normally not match those prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelalotOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estepona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

my wife and i stayed for a week in november we had a great time the staff was very freindly food was good and the entertainment was great we had a very good week

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geoff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almunecar hotels
1.9 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
4.0 mi away
Bahia Tropical Hotel
Bahia Tropical Hotel
#7 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.8 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
Hotel Suite Albayzin del Mar
#12 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Alcazar

Property: Best Alcazar
Address: Camino de la Playa, s/n, 18690, Almunecar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Alcazar 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel and Apartments Best Alcazar is located in “Urbanizacion Marina del Este”, wich is 1.2 km from la Herradura and 4 km from Almunecar, in the center of Costa Tropical. Close to the Hotel you can find the Marina and the beach “Punta de la Mona”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Best Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Alcazar Almunecar, Province Of Granada, Spain
Best Alcazar Hotel Almunecar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing