We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely half term break!”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax beside the beautiful infinity pool with views over the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax beside the beautiful infinity pool with views over the sea
Lots of room for lounging around the pool Relax on the beautiful sun terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Relax beside the beautiful infinity pool with views over the sea
Lots of room for lounging around the pool
Relax on the beautiful sun terrace
Stunning views
Dine in style
Lovely views from indoors
Beautiful views from indoors too
A spacious lounge with TV, stereo and WiFi
Plenty of room for dining
Stunning views from the master bedroom
Master bedroom with king size bed and en-suite
Fully-fitted modern kitchen with all appliances
En-suite bathroom with marble tiles
Relax by the infinity pool until the sun goes down.
The road leading to the house,
The walk onto Tesorillo, the closest beach
The local beach has two lovely chiringuitos (beach bars)
One of many nearby coves
Nearby rooftop restaurant and bar
Watch the sun go down from nearby Salobrena
Marina del Este just 15 mins drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Almunecar, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Murraymin...
Bridgend
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely half term break!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great house on side of a mountain above Almunecar. Comfortable and spacious, we enjoyed the lovely weather and the panoramic pool.

The only thing to remember is that the closer infinity pool isn't open till mid June, but the panoramic one was gorgeous and not too far away either! Added some photos - the view from the balcony, the panoramic pool and the view from there!

Recommend that you catch some flamenco during your stay (the tourist office will have details) and the restaurants Tito Yayo and Bodego Francisco I & II.

Thanks Wendy and Steve for a lovely trip!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thanks Jacqui, delighted you enjoyed it! You'll be welcome back anytime.

Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanEast
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top marks for this spacious modern house in a great location”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Steve & Wendy responded promptly to enquiries. There were four adults in our party so there was ample space for us with one bedroom not being used. We stayed early November and found the house very well equipped, clean, tidy and nicely furnished with everything working. Most cleaning and washing materials and much more were provided. The folders in the lounge contained all the information we needed. The general area was peaceful and the Fuentes development maintained to a good standard. We drove around Las Alpujarras and strolled along the beach to Almunecar in clear skies and, of course, wonderful sunshine. Yes, it is indeed a beautiful holiday home and well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thanks Alan for taking the time to write such a nice review. We're delighted you enjoyed it. You and your family will be welcome any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38Althorp...
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect spot for wind down”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

If you are looking for a lovely tranquil spot this is the place to be. Firstly the booking process is perfect and Steve responded to all questions very quickly and professionally. The house is beautiful and well maintained. it is a perfect spot for exploring, particularly Malaga and Granada. A car is essential though. If I had any issue it would be that a few english tv channels would be helpful particularly as in October its not warm enough just to sit out at nighttime. Thanks once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: being a little too far from everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breath taking place”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here at the end of August, The property was absolutely fantastic as was the owner Steve. We did not have a car which was probably a mistake. Although a taxi into the town was only €7 very reasonable. The house was spotless and had everything required for a great holiday. We had great afternoons at the infinity pool and then a barbecue back at the house with breath taking views. I would definitely stay in Casa Monticullo again. It really was a truly relaxing beautiful location. Almunecar was charming with great restaurants
my favourite was La Churraesqueria (a meat lovers dream and €25 pp to include drinks was fantastic. Also

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience. The place was as advertised
Liked least: The walk to the beach was a bit to far if you are not fit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rikke J
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous! Definitely want to visit again”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family and I spend 2 wonderful weeks in Casa Monticulo, and had the best time ever. The house was big, well arranged and decorated. There was room enough for all family members counting 3 girls age 7 to 15, my husband and my-self. We loved the house and terrace, and spend evening after evening, playing games, talking and just enjoyed the stunning view from the terrace. We felt at home from the first day, and it was so much more cozy than staying at a hotel. The pool areas were really nice and clean and proper; everybody was very friendly. The infinity pool and the view, was like a dream. Prior to our stay I had several questions to the owners, who always reply fast and with very helpful answers. I cannot praise Casa Monticulo and the owners enough - thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simmonick...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it. Going back!”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Really can't understand that last review, the place is great. Spotless, modern with everything you need. And the most fantastic views. The area is great as well, loads to do and see. We'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger771
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not live up to previous raving reviews!”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked this accommodation for two weeks as the reviews were amazing, oh dear what went wrong over theses past months? Firstly there is no mention that the house is on 3 levels. You enter the property via the street straight onto the top level. Here you find one bedroom and a shower room. You go down 8 stairs which takes you to the middle level to the main bedroom and a third bedroom. You go down a further 8 stairs that takes you to a toilet, then 8 more stairs to get to the living room, kitchen (no windows in here) and balcony where the sun went off here at about 3.30 as east facing. So it was a long haul with groceries from the car.
The overall condition of the casa was tired and generally not clean. On further inspection we found that the mattress and pillows were stained in the main bedroom, also the en-suite had black mould on the tiles.
The cooker had only one shelf so cooking was very limited, thankfully there were only the two of us. The cooking pans were well past their sell by date. All this information plus photos was emailed to the owner who said that he would investigate after we left as not to interrupt our holiday......
We will not be going there again and would definitely not recommend.. On the plus side we did like Almunecar, we have been here before and it was as we remembered a traditional Spanish town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almunecar
Liked least: The 24 stairs to access outside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
First of all Roger can I thank you for taking the time to review your stay. All reviews, including negative ones, are valuable as that is the only we we get feedback so we can further improve our service and facilities for our guests so they always have a wonderful stay.
I must say I find your comments a little hard to understand. This house has been rented out for 10 years now and has had almost perfect, if not superlative, reviews from everyone else - not just on this site but also, as you will have seen, in the guest book in the house itself. I will respond to your specific comments, but first a couple of reminders.

Prior to your booking you asked for a discount as there were only two of you. I gave it to you, you were delighted and thanked me. You then asked me for to waive the charge of €20 for the wifi, so I discounted the bill further. You forgot I'd done that on arrival and phoned to complain until you remembered. Then you texted to complain that the toaster wasn't working and the remote control batteries for the TV had gone. That's fair enough. Of course I can't put that right until someone tells me they're not working! You informed me, 1,500 miles away at 4pm on a Sunday afternoon. By mid-day on Monday a new toaster and batteries were delivered to your front door. You also complained that there was no orange juicer. I apologise for that but I don't think we ever said there would be?

You then, for some reason, decided to strip all the bedding, pillowcases, etc from the beds. Following your inspection, out of the 12 pillow cases and the 5 mattresses in the house, you found 2 pillows and 1 mattress with a faint stain on them. Thanks for bringing that to our attention. They have now all been replaced.

As for the layout of the house it is what it is and, in our opinion and all other guests, is part of what makes the property so enjoyable. You're right, it is on three levels and opens out onto a beautiful terrace with wonderful views on the lower floor. It is simply 'upside down' - entrance and bedrooms on the top, large lounge, kitchen, dining and terrace at the bottom. Everyone else loves it.

I really do think the description of 'tired' is unfair. We work hard to constantly keep the house fresh, modern and well- equipped. The entire lounge, terrace and bbq were repainted just 6 months ago. We constantly replace fittings and fixtures and add small decorative touches. We're very proud of our home.

I'm glad you enjoyed Almuñécar though - it's wonderful isn't it?

So, finally, I'm sincerely sorry you didn't appreciate our place in the sun, so many others have.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing