We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Motril
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We booked this hotel online and got a great deal of 3 nights bed and breakfast for £120. I read the reviews on this site afterwards and was a little dubious. I needn't have been. It was excellent value. The room was spacious and very clean with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. The staff were very helpful and polite. There is a decent size oudoor pool area - shame we didn't get to use it as the weather wasn't brilliant. However I used the indoor pool and jacuzzi instead. The indoor pool is a lot smaller than the photos on the website would lead you to believe, but the outdoor pool makes up for it. The breakfasts were brilliant. There was a huge choice and the staff were very attentive at clearing away. Motril Port is quiet but we liked it. Great for strolling and friendly locals in the restaurants. Our main holiday stay was Orgiva where there are hardly any mosquitos, but we were bitten a few times in Motril so use a deterrent. Good base for exploring the coast.

  • Liked — Big clean rooms and excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonesslynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    215
    81
    25
    21
See reviews for
212
216
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alicante
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

stayed one night .... for a four star 95 euro a night hotel found the bathrooms very worn out and ready for a re-furb plumbing fittings worn out ..door frames and bottoms wood badly wet/rotten cieling inside room entrance door in bad state ..holes and water damage...Hard beds..otherwise ok..

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — rotten bathrooms
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank applefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Stayed for 3 nights in early March 08 and loved the place.
Reception was smart and had nice friendly staff.
The hotel bar was plush, with reasonable prices for a hotel bar, 10 Euros for 2 beers, 2 red wines, and 2 coffees.
Our room was very spacious, witha living room and bedroom leading off it. The living room had a nice 3 piece suite, coffeee table , dresser etc, with tv and balcony and mini bar.The bedroom had a really large comfy bed, tv too and it's own balcony.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was quite large clean, but with the usual signs of useage around the bath but nothing to concern.
Our room was at the back of the hotel with a view of what looked and sounded like a nature reserve/swamp as the first part of our view. That was nice. Behind it was some sort of industry, about 300metres away. remember this is a town to which tourism is new, the industry has provided jobs for the area and was no problem for us. Especially when you looked beyong it to the town and snow capped mountains. I've included photos from one of our balconies, make up your own mind.
We a took taxi at night to the town centre of Motril soem 4 miles away- 6 Euros. We ate well in a great Italian just off the main square at the point where taxis drop off/pick up.
Had a night cap in one of the many cervecerias nearby after the meal and again found the staff to be welcoming to the tow foreign strangers- free tapas- pity we were full!
Breakfast was great, all the usual breakfast foods, bacon, eggs etc, bread, rolls, jam, pastries etc, cereals, fruit, juices, tea, coffee etc.. Some spanish fare too.
On the top floor theres a small indoor pool and jaccuzzi together with a sauna and mini gym.
The area surrounding the hotel is up and coming with a few bars and restaurants which were closed in early March but looked nice enough . There's a golf course at the end of the street and the beach was long and straight. Didn't go on as we were using the hotel to explore the many coastal towns nearby, I post a picture of one of the beaches to be found some 25 minutes from this hotel.
So, overall, the place around the hotel was a lttle too bit quiet for our main holiday but would definately visit again for a short break of 3 or 4 nights.
Recommended.

  • Liked — Quality of accomodation
  • Disliked — Could not see us staying in the area surrounding the hotel for the day- you need to explore.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Avidtraveller3544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

This was a very poor hotel - and nowhere near four stars.

Good points:
The receptionist was pleasant.

Not so good points:
The room was spacious, with a nice tall ceiling and a balcony (overlooking some rather rundown garages, over which you could see the sea). And it had a TV and a minibar. The beds were fine - although we had booked a double and got a twin. The decor was shabby, especailly in the bathroom - splitting wooden door frame in the bathroom, a showerhead that would not stay in any position apart from at the bottom of its runner down by my waist, black mould growing in the sealant around the bath, the purple lettering from a 'sanitised' banner staining the plastic loo seat, a toilet that was difficult to get to on account of the sink being in the way...

The food was attrocious. It's one of those 'all-in' places and everything in the buffet was covered in oil, tasteless and luke warm. At breakfast, various itmes just ran out and weren't replaced - and that included bread. I have rarely met such a rude waitress when I enquired as to whether we could have some coffee cups - because they had run out. We paid for half board for two nights, but quickly learned to cut our losses after two meals and found santuary in McDonalds in Motril!

Both nights we were awoken by what sounded like furniture being shifted around. Despite complaining, there seemed to be no explanation of this noise (which might have been the plumbing, I guess, since it went on four hours!) and nothing done about it.

Upon check-out the receptionist tried to make me pay twice.

Will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2005

We recently stayed at the Gran Hotel Elba, Motril, Granada, Spain for a short 5 day break. This 4* hotel was everything and more than we expected. The hotel facilities were extremely good as were the standards of hygiene throughout the hotel. All the staff were friendly (although knowing some Spanish definitely helped) and the hotel was well run. Its location is on the sea front and is an ideal hotel for touring as it is easy to get to Granada city, Malaga city and, in the other direction, to Almeria as well as venture into the Sierra Nevada hills - all of which can easily be accessed in a day. We are definitely going back there later this year and thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone not wanting to stay in an area that has become too 'touristy'. It is only 5 minutes by car to the town of Motril which has an abundance of extremely competitively priced restaurants and tapas bars etc.

Helpful?
16 Thank Alfiesmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motril
1.4 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
4.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
8.9 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,711 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
77 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Motril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Motril

Property: Gran Hotel Elba Motril
Address: Lugar Playa de Poniente S/N, 18613 Motril, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Motril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Motril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Elba Motril 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Motril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Motril Province Of Granada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing