We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hostal, lovely town”
Review of Hostal San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal San Juan
Ranked #2 of 6 Salobrena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hostal is clean, quiet and relaxing. The owners were friendly and responded to our email inquiries promptly. The four-legged welcoming committee was a cheerful site after a day of driving.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

The great value of this clean, quiet, airy Hostal is amplified by its convivial host, Jean-Pierre, who delights in looking after his guests. Breakfast is simple: toast, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice for 4 Euros. It's a Hostal, not a hotel, so don't expect a pool or parking (catch as catch can - and in July/August, expect to walk 10 minutes from your car to the Hostal, and be thankful for anything closer). There are many good bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. The beach is a 15 minute amble from the Hostal.

We stayed on the 2nd floor - so two flights of stairs. No elevator but no problem: Jean-Pierre took suitcases out of our hands to help us get up the stairs when we arrived, and as we left.

No negatives here if you're familiar with the differences between a Hostal and a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wishes_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed here for three nights in May. The hostal is beautifully kept, spotlessly clean and there the enclosed patio on the ground floor is lovely and there are lots of plants everywhere. Our room was cleaned daily. Two small bottles of water were in the room on arrival. There is a TV and Air con, although we didn't need it in May.
The French couple who own the place were nice and friendly, the man speaks some English, enough for everyone to get by. Free use of their computer and they have wi fi too although we go on holiday to get away from all that!
There is a roof terrace with three sun loungers but I agree with other reviewers that it needs some tables and parasols. I got the impression that as they haven't done this, perhaps they don't want people to be hanging about the hostal all day perhaps?

Salobrena itself is a quiet town, the beach is a 10 minute walk away, through modern 'suburban' housing development. There are a couple of restaraunts on the beach, one of which we went to. Perhaps it was because we were there out of tourist season but the town had a slightly of run down feel to it, but then the economy is Spain is struggling of course. AT first we wished we had stayed in Almunecar along the coast but it is more built up and in my view, Salobrena is a bit more 'real.'

The best place to eat is 'Pesetas', a walk up hill through the traditional windy streets that head up to the fort. The portions are huge and the bar owner is very friendly although I don't think he speaks English but we managed to get by in our pigeon Spanish. The restaraunt has great views of the coast and fields to Motril.

We didn't have a car so three nights in Salobrena was enough for us as there is not much to do.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mossleytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Clean, affordable and very well equipped. Very kind and helpful host and hostess. 15 min walk from the beach. Lovely large roof terrace with sunbeds. Only thing we missed was a table, some chairs and umbrellas. Coming from cold Scandinavia we want to be outside as much as possible but the sun was just too hot to sit in.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labedabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed for two nights and could happily have stayed longer. Both Jean-Pierre and his lovely wife were very friendly and helpful with lots of tips on where to go, where to eat, etc. Our room was bright and airy and overlooked the street yet it was still very quiet. Breakfast was served in the leafy reception area and the freshly squeezed orange juice was heavenly.

We were unfortunate to lose our camera whilst we were taking photos in the old town and Jean-Pierre and his wife were good enough to call the Guards the following morning to see if it had been handed in - no such luck. That's what I would call service above and beyond the call of duty.

All in all, a great hostal in a great location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

Stayed for 3 nights. We were welcomed by French owner Jean-Pierre who was very nice and helpful and spoke good English.
Our room was immaculately clean as was the rest of the place.
We had a nice en suite shower room which was a good size with plenty of towels, clean every day.
Our room overlooked a quiet one way street and garden, with balconies in both rooms.
Jean- Pierre brought us breakfast if we wished, whenever we turned up, with fresh juice, coffee and toast in the lovely dining area with tropical plants and moorish tiles.
There was a great sunny roof terrace with loungers and plants for reading or snoozing.
We were a short walk from the town and bars and restaurants.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dancinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank DaniAisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
2.9 mi away
Hotel Estrella del Mar
0.1 mi away
Hostal Jayma
Hostal Jayma
#1 of 6 in Salobrena
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Palomares
Hostal Palomares
#3 of 6 in Salobrena
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Mary Tere
Hostal Mary Tere
#5 of 6 in Salobrena
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Mari Carmen
Pension Mari Carmen
#6 of 6 in Salobrena
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Juan

Address: Calle Jardines 1, 18680 Salobrena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salobrena
Price Range: £40 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing