We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always expect the unexpected”
Review of Bar Manolo

Bar Manolo
Ranked #17 of 75 Restaurants in Salobrena
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always expect the unexpected”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We literally found this little gem by accident and what a find. Wonderful fresh fish and a great paella. When the local painters and decorators are eating there you know its worth a try and we were not disappointed. We returned two days later for another wonderful lunch

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“simply the best of its kind”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

we had walked, and walked, and having decided to return along the beach I was keen to find a bar with a beer. This was it. The interior of the bar was alive with Spanish voices.

The beers came with a simple table on verandah of sorts and a delightful view of the sea. They also came with tapas - first was sardines in cous cous, the second was from a paella but without the big bits.

Not sure I would justify the walk for the food - as I said, we ony had the tapas although they were good. But if you are walking that way or just want to get away from it all, then this is it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strollerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We visited Bar Manolo early September this year after looking for seafood restaurants around Salobrena. It was delightful; the staff were friendly and accommodating, the food was delicious and it was all set in a beautiful setting, right on beach with a welcome seabreeze.

Our tapas was paella and I decided to have paella for my main course too - it was lovely but I couldn't finish it and my husband had mussels which he thoroughly enjoyed. Our daughter does not eat fish but was served with a pork loin and fries - not the best but edible. Can't wait until next year to visit again.

If you like simple food, simple surroundings in a great setting then visit Bar Manolo.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happyhens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic bar, right on the beach,”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

completely unpretentious bar right on the beach, great fun, super fresh fish, much better than the more expesive chiringuitos on salobreña beach.definitely worth the 20 minute walk along the beach from salobreña to la guardia (the next tiny village along from salobreña).dont miss it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for a Sunday paella.”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I really enjoyed Bar Manolo. The food is fairly standard paella and deep fried fish but if that’s what you want it’s all very fresh. The restaurant itself is a bit basic but for me that’s all part of the experience. And it’s right by the sea.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Manolo also viewed

Salobrena, Province of Granada
Salobrena, Province of Granada
 
Salobrena, Province of Granada
Salobrena, Province of Granada
 

Been to Bar Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing