We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A panorama you will remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A panorama you will remember”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

There is one reason to come to this hotel: the incredible view it offers from its privileged position just on the top of a cliff with a vertical descent down to the sea. Second thing, the swimming pool area is also really nice (big, not crowded, with some green areas and surrounded by a bar and a restaurant).
All the rest is rather average or not so much worth noticing: the structure is rather old, the rooms are OK (clean and tidy and big enough) but not special, and it is rather noisy in the corridors as the hotel can accommodate a very large amount of guests.

As for the location, the hotel is some 3-4 km away from the town of Salobreña. Do not come here unless you have a car, otherwise you will hardly be able to go out for dinner in Salobreña and explore the coast in the nearby bays. There is a small beach at a 20min walking distance from the hotel, but it is rather tiny and hardly suitable to swim as there are big rocks, deep waters and rather strong currents.

If you have a car and are travelling around this area, make sure you spend a day here to admire the view and you will not regret it!

Make sure you ask for a sea-view room!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    163
    134
    57
    40
See reviews for
139
227
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We returned to salobrena again in june for a weeks stay.The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and hard working, nothing is too much trouble if you ask for anything.
The rooms are very comfortable with clean starched linen and there is always plenty of hot water at anytime for a shower or bath.
If you want a quiet peaceful holiday to chill out then this is the place for you.
We both work full time and we enjoy the relaxing holiday we always have at this hotel.
The views from the balcony are spectacular over the sea and you can see the coast line and salobrena town which is lit up and very pretty at night.
The hotel is slightly isolated and you cannot walk to any bars or nightlife but for us that is why we love it ( For the peace and rest) .
The food is very good with a selection of local fruit and often we had advocados for breakfast.
There are plenty of places to visit and the sierra nevada trip to the mountains is always superb.
We are always sad to leave when it is time to go home. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room in the annexe which is lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katnip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My heart absolutely sunk as we approached - parts of the exterior are seriously worn by the elements, being on the coast as they are located. The reception area quickly informs you that much of their trade is holiday package and coach tours, though it was clean and quiet. Check-in was uneventful though we were somewhat concerned that the desk manager was having a row on the phone with someone - usually a bad sign.

Our room was in the main, original building. A decent space, clean and simple. There was a slight but distinct pong off the plumbing that was not fixed by filling all the traps with water, but quickly sorted with a small gel deodoriser and open doors. The furniture is worn and ready for an update. Beds firm and ok. The iron headboards and accessory furniture were charming, but everything else needed a re-face or replace. Housekeeping does work hard on this property, the floors were very clean and so was the bath. The balcony was clean and straighforward, let down by the deteriorating railings and thick painted building exterior. The view however - lovely. The pool area and garden is well kept - neat but not overly formal. Out to the med is a nice view and a lovely sunrise each morning. Our room also had a sliding plantation shutter set of doors which was great for sleeping as the night time temps didn't warrant the AC. No mossie problem either.

I think a car is very important here. We did enjoy exploring down to the little beach below the hotel on foot. It's an easy walk down the road that wends its way around the back of the hotel. There are stairs, but it was far easier to follow the road. Its not a flat walk but really not too difficult.

We were on breakfast only, and while it didn't wow us it was fine. Possibly more directed at a British clientelle than anything else. Eggs and omlettes are cooked fresh in the dining room. The big disappoinment - we love a cafe con leche as the locals make it but their coffee is from a catering machine. Just not the same. A highlight though - on the one morning a tray of mini avocados were on offer. Perfectly formed, perfectly ripe but about 1/3 the size of a normal haas. Loved them. The next morning, one of the gentlemen working in the dining room brought me a few at the table, which was very considerate. I am impressed that he went out of his way.

It does look like they are undertaking some maintenance and upgrades in the original building. We really liked the gardens and the birds and we enjoyed ourselves relaxing at the pool area. Thier rescue squirrel is adorable, though I worry he might be lonely (better lonely than deceased though....). We did have a quiet break and found our overall experience to be pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JadedButPractical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were booked in this hotel for a three night stay but managed to escape after one. Apart from the salad which was average, I could not find anything to eat for the main course. The potato was obviously made from a packet as it was very watery and ran all over the plate. The majority of guests were with SAGA and I heard many complaints from them about the food - one woman actually asked me if I would write to SAGA and tell them how bad it was - why she could not do this herself, I do not know. The room was very tacky with very old tired stained furniture - broken tiles on the terrace of the bedroom and broken plaster underneath the terraces which you could see from the bar when you looked up. When it came to breakfast, I took one look at my partner's plate and remarked that I would not give food like that to my dog. This hotel I will certainly be avoiding in the future.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayflower97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSalobrena, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Salobrena, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
We are so sorry that you didn'f find what you were searching for at our hotel.
We thank you for your opinion and we apreciate the time you spent for your comment.
We will check the mentioned points for an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salobrena hotels

cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were going to stay for 2 weeks in this Hotel, but when we finally arrived we knew we'd made a mistake.It is set on a cliff,overlooking the sea,and in the distance you see the the villages around.A bus takes you into Salobrena town and runs 3 times a day in the weekdays and none on weekends.The Hotel has an old and a new side with it's rooms,(we were in the old side) there is not much storage in the room we had,and the furniture was well dated, with two Iron single beds, but clean, do not know about the other newer blocks of the Hotel, as we didn't stay long enough to experience them.There was noise as well not much insulation between rooms sideways and above,we could hear furniture being moved about,and doors slamming, this in the space of time of an hour.We thought the dining area was very nice though and the slection of food,and the display of it was in my opinion one hundred percent!Compliments to the Chefs,who ever they are, they are certainly worthy of a mention. In summary, a lovely friendly Hotel, but it's not to our taste, put me in mind of a retreat, but each to their own.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSalobrena, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Salobrena, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you , for your opinion of your stay at Best Western Hotel Salobreña .
We apreciate your comment and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week with Saga at the beginning of April. We booked a superior twin room which had two very good sized double beds. Our one small gripe with the room was a lack of storage space in a good sized room. The room was well maintained and cleaned to a high standard each day.
The restaurant offered a good quality self-service menu and the table service was very good.
Saga offered a daily complimentary coach service to the town of Salobrena and a thrice-weekly service to Almuneca. Both are worth visiting for shops and the beach.
The outdoor pool was a good size and very clean. I managed to swim in it a couple of times.
There was a very relaxed atmosphere during our stay and I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone wanting a quiet break.

Room Tip: We had asked for a superior twin room and were pleasantly surprised to find we had two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSalobrena, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Salobrena, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you very much for your comment of the stay at Best Western Hotel Salobreña .
We apreciate your opinion for improvements in our quality program.

It would be nice to welcome you again at our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Occupied a club room for 4 weeks. Comfortable and spacious room with the essential for Spain in January; a south facing sheltered balcony with sun all day and warmth at night. Excellent buffet, plenty of salad and fish every day. At this time of the year the hotel is dominated by pensioners mainly from the UK. The Hotel has a splendid position but isolated. Plan to return next year.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Edge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
2.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
77 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,253 reviews
4.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,673 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
3.6 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Salobrena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Salobrena

Property: Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Address: Ctra. Malaga-Almeria Km 323, 18680 Salobrena, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Salobrena)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Salobrena 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Salobreña is situated on a headland with spectacular views of Salobreña and its beaches. Peaceful, unspoilt location situated at 3 km from the village of Salobreña.1.DOUBLE STANDARD ROOM: rooms with two single beds (90cm), complete bathroom with hairdryer and magnifying mirror, satellite TV international channels, telephone with answering machine, safety deposit boxes which are available for hire. There is central air-conditioning, warm or cold depending the season , most of the rooms have a balcony and view to the sea. Only some of the rooms have a queen size bed.2.DOUBLE CLUB ROOM: rooms of higher standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Salobrena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salobrena Hotel Salobrena
Salobrena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing