We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value on the Costa Tropical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value on the Costa Tropical”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This may only be a 4* hotel, but it is in a superb situation on the coast, about 3 km outside Salobreña town. You can walk into town along the coast or use the free bus service. The staff are friendly and the food was superb. The only criticism I would make is that I would have liked more Spanish cuisine. However there were demonstrations of cooking of eg Paella. In the evening there were various live entertainments. We would have liked to see more of the Flamenco. There was also some excellent guitar and we had a no of good guided local walks.

Room Tip: Go for the East wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    162
    133
    57
    40
See reviews for
138
227
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good hotel with nice views from my room on the first floor of the main building. The hotel was quieter during the week as there tended to be wedding and first communion guests at the weekend so a fair number of children running round. The room was clean and had everything I needed. The buffet food could have been a little more adventurous but was acceptable. Only slight issue were the sparrows that came in and out of the dining room whenever possible to eat crumbs on the floor but some people didn't mind this. Plenty of lounges to relax in and there was never a shortage of sun loungers by the pool. Would not suit people who want to be in the centre of town or be able to walk to a nearby shop but this was a small price to pay for the view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyOxted_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Once again we visited the Best Western in Salobrena it was two years since we last came here but we did notice one or two changes.
They really seem to be cutting corners, the staff worked doubly hard doing two jobs at once, if you couldn't get served at the bar it was because they were helping in the kitchen or the restaurant as well , I felt sorry for them , more staff are needed.
The food didn't seem as good as it used to be and there seemed to be less choice but come the weekend when all the communions and weddings take place you will see a big improvement in the food and the choice then back to normal on a Monday.

Having said that, would we go back again ? Yes.
Where else can you find this peace and tranquillity . There's no getting up early to secure your sunbed, the staff are wonderful, the rooms are clean and the scenery is breath-taking.
Ok it does get a bit lively at the weekends with the weddings etc but we love to just sit and watch the guests go by in there beautiful fashions.
It is wise to ask for an upgrade, we had a large room with two double beds [ one each ] and a fridge and views looking over to Salobrena to the left and Almaneca to the right.
Although it is the only hotel stood there at the top of the cliff there is a courtesy bus each day to take you to town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

About the only thing the hotel has in its favor is it's location and the view over the Mediterranean. The property is in need of renovation. Our room was infested with ants - hundreds of them. The staff seemed to be annoyed with our limited ability to speak Spanish.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a short 2 night stay here for me and the family consisting of my partner,2 young children and a baby. Overall not bad ,the hotel was clean and ideally situated for the beach and major roads nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Reception fine but booked a double room received. A twin room 309 east block the beds are something from a bygone age fixed to the wall the bathroom has a shower over the bath not fit for purpose and the green tiles on the floor does not match anything in the room or hotel I tried talking to the girl at reception but she can not understand English the food is not very appetising the soup is blended to within an inch of its life the main courses are unimaginative it needs the east block to be closed and refurbished not just a floor at a time the guests could easily be put in the parts of the hotel that is already refurbished I will give a further review and photos later in the week. Thanks for reading my review

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank lordpfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salobrena hotels

Marbella, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The location of the hotel is the only good thing. The room is bad, the bed is very bad and the whole hotel looks if there was no maintenance for the past 10 years. The average age of the guests was apprx. 70, and according to me, they will probably rate the hotel as very good. There is only Wifi in the lobby. Spend a bit more for another hotel and you will get a whole more!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Remcokarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
2.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
77 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#12 of 24 in Almunecar
1,251 reviews
4.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,671 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
3.6 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Salobrena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Salobrena

Property: Best Western Hotel Salobrena
Address: Ctra. Malaga-Almeria Km 323, 18680 Salobrena, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Salobrena)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salobrena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Salobrena 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Salobreña is situated on a headland with spectacular views of Salobreña and its beaches. Peaceful, unspoilt location situated at 3 km from the village of Salobreña.1.DOUBLE STANDARD ROOM: rooms with two single beds (90cm), complete bathroom with hairdryer and magnifying mirror, satellite TV international channels, telephone with answering machine, safety deposit boxes which are available for hire. There is central air-conditioning, warm or cold depending the season , most of the rooms have a balcony and view to the sea. Only some of the rooms have a queen size bed.2.DOUBLE CLUB ROOM: rooms of higher standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Salobrena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salobrena Hotel Salobrena
Salobrena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing