We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal Jayma”
Review of Hostal Jayma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Jayma
Ranked #1 of 6 Salobrena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 May 2012

What a delightful surprise! That is, both Salobrena and Hostal Jayma. We decided to complete our six week tour of Spain in Salobrena. Not much on trip advisor, Rick Steve's Spain may have mentioned the name, I don't remember but we love it! And Hostal Jayma is an excellent way to get to know the city. We stayed 2 nights while we look for something bigger and perhaps more dramatic to spend our last days in Spain.

The hostal is very clean, very comfortable and the owners helpful and friendly. We could have easily spent more time there. I especially like being able to open the windows to a tiny balcony that let in cool fresh air. My only suggestion is that the amenities section of hostal be updated as there is no free parking (well, there is on the street parking but not provided by the Hostal) nor is there free breakfast both of which contributed to our decision to stay. BUT, breakfast is a block away, cheap and tasty and we were not sorry we chose Hostal Jayma. In fact, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Jayma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Very good friendly family run hotel in centre of Salobrena,No restaurant, but breakfast room ,at reasonable price.Resturants within short walking distance.nice rooms well furnished,roof terrace for sun bathing,On street parking possible problem, in summer,Excellent Value..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

the generally very positive reviews are totally justified. but it is not 10 mins from the beach, unless you are jogging. 15 minutes very brisk walk, 30 minutes lesiurely walk. but that is no fault of the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel is simple and clean. It is located in the city center close to white town. It has nice terrace where guests can hang out or relax. The owners are extremely nice and polite. It was a real pleasure to stay there. Would go definitely again and actually planning to do so...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVA_lmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights. Nothing special, ordinary hostel - tiny room and bath. Owners are nice. Breakfast and even just cup of tea are impossible. Soap in the bath too - only schampoo. We used our own soap. Price is good, location too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luluka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We originally intended to stay at the hotel for 1 night but ended up staying for 3 because we liked it so much.
It is a realy nice place, very clean and the rooms are great .I realy do not see how you could do any better for the money.
Fantastic location, a nice walk to the castle or beach etc but most of all very pleasant, helpful owners which makes the stay so much more pleasant.
We would highly recommend to anyone and intend to go back next spring. We hardly ever revisit a place but in this case we will make an exception.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Decided to use this as a base for visits to Granada. And it worked well for us. 40 minutes to the Alhambra on an almost deserted motorway.....free parking by the hotel so you don't waste money garaging the car overnight as one would in the city centre hotels.....and great to be able to take in some fresh iodine seaside air (beach 5 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk) after tramping around the sights of Granada.

As stated in previous reviews, charming and helpful owners. As soon as we arrived, they gave us a local area map and marked places of interests as well as recommended cafes, bars and restaurants. Our room and bathroom were both very spacious and meticulously clean. Beds had a reasonable comfort factor. Fantastic value for the price. Infinitely better in terms of space and value than a comparable room in the centre of Granada. Two possible drawbacks. First soundproofing is not great so if you have noisy guests coming in late at night (happened briefly once during stay) or during siesta time you might be disturbed; however owners do try to make sure guests are aware of the need to be quiet around the hotel. Secondly while the rooms are all "non smoking" people are permitted to smoke on the balcony and if they do not close the balcony door, the smell of smoke can drift in to the corridors and into your room; it wasn't a huge problem but on occasion was noticeable.

We tend to prefer taking breakfast at nearby local cafes but for those who prefer not to wander out first thing in the morning, the owner informed us that they had just refurbished the dining room and were shortly to commence serving breakfasts at the hostel. Lots of good places to eat in town but do not under any circumstances miss out on the fantastically fresh seafood at the Restaurant Pena on the beach (Playa Pena)........the sardines and prawns grilled over a wood fire are to die for and very good value ( 5 euros for 6-8 plump sardines!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garsington2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salobrena
2.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
82 reviews
6.3 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
3.8 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal San Juan
Hostal San Juan
#2 of 6 in Salobrena
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Jayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Jayma

Address: Calle Cristo 24, 18680 Salobrena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Salobrena
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salobrena
Price Range: £38 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Jayma 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Jayma is a family-run boutique hotel, situated in the charming old town of Salobrena. Perfectly situated in the centre of town we are 5 minutes from the beach by car (15 minutes walk) and are close by everything that Salobrena has to offer.
 On arrival you can use our loading and unloading area and there is plenty of parking close by. All rooms at the Jayma are beautifully decorated and well appointed. Each has air conditioning, flat screen TV's, Free Wifi and spacious bathrooms which are equiped with the all important hairdryer. A private balcony or terrace adds a tranquil place to sit and relax without leaving your room. The Jayma also has a beautiful sun terrace where you can sit and relax and top up your tan or read a book in peace. There is a shower to cool down. We also have a lounge where you can meet an old friend or make new ones. We also offer breakfast to give you a great start to the day. As we are right in the centre of town it is just a 2 minute walk to the bank, post office, town hall, buses, taxis and tourist office. It also means we are so very close to some fantastic restaurants and tapas bars offering delicious food and atmosphere at very reasonable prices. With easy access to the N340 we are but 45 minutes drive from Granada's spectacular Alhambra to which we can book you tickets. For the more energetic, Skiing on the Sierra Nevada is only 1 hour away. For those wishing to play golf, Los Moriscos is 5 minutes drive as is the Port of Motril. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Jayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing