We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Good sized room with a good view from the balcony. Coffee pot, refrigerator (no microwave), toiletries in wall dispensers, shower, no tub. Decent linens and comfortable bed. Overall construction is showing its age--no noise insulation and the floor felt soft (I'm not that heavy) under the carpet and tile. But it's the perfect location to view a sunset or get an early start on your day in the park without having to drive in from Cortez or Durango. Very friendly and helpful desk staff. We had a normal checkout because we had planned to leave 1 October, but the crew was really working hard to find alternatives for disappointed customers subject to the government shut down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyheaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    651
    402
    181
    83
See reviews for
519
819
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very nice king kiva room with ok view. The bed was very comfortable and the room clean for national park lodging. The location was what sold us. We wanted to experience the total park without having to drive and this was perfect. The king kiva was updated. The highlight was the sunset.. Would recommend the king kiva. The view may be a disappointment due to trees glowing taller ,but we were not in our room much, only to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the trees have not grown up in front of the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The rooms here are just so, so but the view makes up for any shortfall in the room. Do not miss a meal at Metate in the lodge. . . . a couple of the vest vacation meals I have ever had! And just 100 yards from my room. Make sure and go out at night and get a good view of the dark night sky. . .spectacular. One good note, we were into the archaeological sites. Nobody touts the Far View site just a mile or so down the highway toward the big popular sites. Spend 45 minutes here and see 5 different and significant sites just minutes from your room.

Room Tip: pick an end room if you can, the walls are thin and you hear every word from your neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This lodge is in an amazing place, but that said its time for an overhaul. The Fair View Lodge is charging serious money for its rooms and could well do with spending some of that money on updating its facilities and rooms. Stayed in a room that had ill fitting front door, room was quite snug with twin queen beds. bedding was clean, although the throws need replaced and are worn. room itself was dated and needs a good overhaul. pieces of furniture was chipped and needs a new carpet. Bathroom was in need of updating too, only a small shower.Staff at front desk were helpful and polite. didn't use the bar or restaurant so can not comment. All in all if you want to avoid a long drive back to Cortez to stay, its twenty miles back to the entrance of the Mesa Verde Park. You have little option but to stay in the park at the Fair view Lodge and it seems, they know it. Do not Judge this hotel from the website photo's. We were coming to the end of our trip and I wanted to spend a special night somewhere for us it was a dissapointment

Room Tip: If your not happy with allocated room, ask to see another
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highlandBarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mesa Verde National Park hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Yes, a really great location. This park's elevation is well over 6000 feet and you can see for miles and miles from everywhere. The views are myriad and stunning. We were there on a very clear night and sat outside our room on our little balcony after dinner to look at the stars. I have never seen so many - didn't realise there WERE so many! It was just gorgeous. We couldn't see any unnatural lights at all. Can't remember the last time we could say that.

Our room was big and comfortable with a big and comfortable bed. There was a tiny bathroom, with just a tiny shower and no bath tub, which was seriously disappointing to me, a bath addict. The wash basin was in the bedroom and didn't have a plug. Now I carry a universal plug with me for emergencies like this, but it wasn't universal enough and wouldn't fit - I must get a better one! Even the upside down glass trick wouldn't work as there were only plastic glasses which weren't rigid enough.

We had been told that you can wait a long time for a table for dinner and you need to put your name down early. So, liking to eat between about 7 and 8 pm, we went along at 6 ready to spend some time in the bar first. We were told a party of around 70 was due to arrive very soon and if we didn't eat straight away we would probably have a very long wait. We reluctantly decided to eat immediately and never saw any large party arrive so concluded that we had been misled on this, which was very annoying. I had a nice spicy shepherd's pie and my husband had trout, which he said was nice but he chose it as amazingly it was the only dish on the whole menu that didn't contain chilli which he doesn't like. They seemed proud of the fact that they manage to accommodate those who don't like spicy food when we mentioned this.

We were therefore early back to our room and were astonished to be shouted at by our next door neighbours to be quiet as they were trying to sleep. It was 8.30 pm, and we were only talking at normal volume. Other than that we didn't hear any noise and had an excellent night's sleep. Next morning you had to drive down to the Far View Terrace for breakfast, which was fine. They are apparently intending to have breakfast available on site within a few weeks, but we couldn't wait that long! We were off! Sad to be leaving such a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

OK, so the location is superb. The Far View is the only hotel inside Mesa Verde National Park. The archeological sites are quite a ride from the park entrance, so if your time is limited it makes sense to stay at this hotel. But having a monopoly produced the expected result. We stayed one night and I felt like I was in a time warp. Dated is too mild a word. The carpet was so stained I couldn't get over the impression it was dirty. The drapes were hanging off the rod. The bathroom, in contrast to the room description given when I booked, had only a tiny shower which was well worn. Ugh. Aramark has no self respect. That said, the restaurant and lounge (located, thankfully, in another, newer building) were surprisingly good. Mesa Verde is awesome. It's just a shame visitors are stuck with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
269 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Location is the primary driver for staying here. The other option is to drive a long way. We saw the mixed reviews before we booked, but had to give it a go because of the location. We stayed two nights and had a delightful time. The adult lounge and restaurant are fine. The food was decent and the beer was cold. We were in room 227 and sat on our little porch before dinner in the late afternoon. Very nice. The bed was comfortable and everything in the bath worked OK. We had no interest in talking on the phone, watching TV or doing WiFi - - it's a national park - - take the time to explore, meet new people, etc.
We had a good stay and I would recommend it for those that like an awesome view and great location.

Room Tip: We liked 227.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WileyPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
7.8 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Property: Far View Lodge
Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing