We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, micro bathroom, but great view”
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Far View Lodge
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have stayed at park lodges in Yellowstone (Cascade Lodge) and Yosemite (Lodge at Yosemite Falls) and enjoyed them. We expected a similar quality room, but discovered their standard room should be called their micro room. There was only enough room to walk around two sides of each of the two queen beds in the room. The bathroom was even smaller: the shower is a small stall with a glass door with barely enough space to open and close. On the up side, the view from the private baloney is amazing. And the Far View Lodge is in the park, eliminating the half hour drive in and out of the park each day. If you plan to spend all day exploring the park, enjoy the balcony, and only sleep in the room, then a standard room might work. But if you want space, don't book a standard room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoRedMeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent two nights here. If you are planning to explore the park for more than a day it is definitely worth staying here. It is a 30 to 45 min. drive up the Mesa to reach the top. Cortez, the nearest lodging, is another 20 minutes. We were fortunate and got a two nights for one night price. We stayed in a Kiva room which has designer furnishing but if the rooms are not at a good rate I do not think it would be worth the upgrade price. I think all the rooms have a balcony with great views.The lodge room furnishings are very simple. There is a mini fridge in the Kiva rooms, but I am not sure about other rooms. There are no TVs or telephones in the rooms. The lodge serves a breakfast buffet for $10.95 and children are half price. The dinner selections are a bit unusual but everything we had was delicious and the service was very good. They also have a very reasonably priced children's menu with a nice selection of food. There is one other place to eat on the Mesa but we did not eat there. Over all I recommend staying at Far
View.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDTraveler033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This could be so much better with just a little maintenance. We stayed in a two queen standard room, and while the views were fabulous, the standard of the room was not.
One of the beds had loose support underneath, and the curtain was damaged and off the track at one end and unable to be fully closed. The door had dropped in its frame and took much force to open and close it. Sound insulation is not great. Unusually, the bathroom basin was outside the small bathroom and in the entranceway of the room.
That said, the restaurant had a great dinner menu, and the breakfast buffet had a good selection.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at Far View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review in tripadvisor. I would like to speak with you in greater detail about your experience at Mesa Verde. Please provide your contact information to my email so we can connect.
page-chris@aramark.com
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

As noted by others, convenience and location is what the Far View Lodge has going for it. If exploring the park is what you're after, then Far View Lodge will fill the bill. Our party of 2 adults and 1 toddler, had one of the Kiva cabin type rooms with 2 queen beds. With a big wardrobe in the room, the room felt a bit tight. Bathroom was also on the 'smallish' side but again, adequate. View from our balcony was of other cabins so not great but within walking distance of the front desk & dining options. Nothing exceptional about fine dining option and service wasn't the best. Lounge above the dining room was a good option for light fare and was often less crowded for dinner. Only other option is to bring in your own groceries (or drive into Cortez). Would stay again if visiting the park as I like to get up early to go hiking and your only other option is to camp (which I'm okay not doing) or staying in Cortez (which means wasted time to and from).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an unobstructed view (room 153-164?) and one at the end of building so you only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nmk97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The only plus is convenience and location as Cortez is about one hour away. We had a Kiva room for 2 nights. Our check-in experience was ABSOLUTELY AWFUL: Waited 2+ hours for our room because of a lack of coordination between the housekeeping and the front desk staff members. The room had no view to speak of (facing the overgrown bushes). The hotel gave us 2 free breakfast coupons, worth about $10 as a compensation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samrose9121964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

It's worth staying here to save the long drive from town. Cabin type lodging. It's clean & has lots of space. We had one of the Kiva rooms. The view was of typical dry desert & sagebrush. Cafeteria food nearby was good. I'd recommend staying here if you're short on time. It's located close to all the park attractions. The drive to the lodge is long but scenic. If you have the driving time, staying in town would be less expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DutchH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

These huts are just about ok. They need a refurb. In ours the shower kept dripping & as the curtain did not reach the basin the floor got wet. Tiles were cracked & I suspect the wooden floor was rotten in places. No TV but that didn’t bother us. Eating is at the ‘fine dining’ restaurant or café style in the tourist shop.
Unless you wanted the convenience of being here early in the morning for trail walking I would not stay here again. If you do stay here make sure you have a torch as the pathway light at night (to & from the restaurant) is inadequate. It can be a bit of a walk so if you are susceptible to altitude sickness walk slowly!
We were lucky enough to have a hut on he end as the walls are thin. No bath and the shower is small. WiFi just about exists.

Room Tip: Get a hut on the end and as near to the restaurant as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SilverTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa Verde National Park
7.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
7.6 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
8.0 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
192 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range: £98 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the park; it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing