We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
Review of Ruins Road

Ruins Road
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic drives that offer visitors dramatic views of Anasazi cliff dwellings.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This was an absolutely stunning drive. I was glad to be in the passengers seat and not the one driving because there are numerous hairpin turns and sharp cliffs with no guardrails. I may have been nauseous if I had to do the driving, but I got yo ride and enjoy the phenomenal views. We spotted horses, chip monks, deer, and many species of birds. The kids wanted to see a bear, but we didn't get to see any of those. Absolutely worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,820 reviews
972 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 934 helpful votes
“Scenic drive with mesa top sites to stop at”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a great way to see some of the cliff dwellings from atop the mesa without taking a tour to them. You'll also be able to tour the mesa top sites (pithouses, Twin Trees, Sun Point Pueblo) and stop for vistas of Square Tower House and Cliff Palace. If adventurous cliff dwelling touring isn't your thing, you'll enjoy this short drive around the mesa top. Booklets available to help you understand what you're seeing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathsville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Take time for this drive”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This drive offers a variety of sites, most involving only very short walks. And it's fun to see if you can spot the cliff dwellings across the canyon - which is sometimes not easy, even when their locations are shown on interpretative boards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvNorNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
“History and scenery in a loop road.....”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Think 700 Years of Mesa Verde history – that ‘s what you’ll get while driving around this 6-mile Mesa Top Loop road starting with the park’s historic district. Most of Mesa Verde's beautiful stone service buildings, post office, restaurant and museum are found here - some buildings date back to the 1920's.

We started and continued driving from the Chapin Museum car park to the twelve sites on the loop road which includes land dwellings and cliff dwelling overlooks (some have easy, paved trails). One amazing view is of the huge Cliff Palace complex but other must see sights include Sun Point Overlook - where you can see several cliff dwelling sites at one time - a visual masterpiece of history - plus the Sun Temple ruins which remains a mystery regarding it's purpose!

You will have your ‘pick’ of the pit house stops with each one being slightly different to the other and several other overlooks have some stunning views. Depending on how long you want to stay or investigate each stop will determine the time needed - we took around 90mins. A good nps.gov map helps or a tablet app. to help explain each site around the Loop - although good interpretive signs are found at each stop.

Enjoy your experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good for history buffs”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I loved every one of the 12 stops along this 6-mile drive. The loop, now referred to as the Mesa Top Loop, leaves from the Chapin Mesa Museum and ends essentially right back there. Along the drive you'll stop to see pithouses, pueblo ruins, and a few scenic overlooks. As a lover of history I enjoyed every stop, but my more normal wife grew bored with the repetitive sites and explanations of history. If nothing else, stop at the overlooks and take a few great pictures. If you stop and read everything it might take you an hour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruins Road also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Ruins Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing