We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite from the heat and interesting displays”

Chapin Mesa Archeological Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
So Cal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Respite from the heat and interesting displays”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Ok, to be honest, I probably wouldn't have looked through everything if it hadn't been so hot outside. But it turned out to be a lot more interesting than you might think. It's easy to stick to our pre-conceived ideas of who these people were, but the artifacts - pottery from different periods, intricate baskets, weaving, weaponry etc - tell a different story, if we're willing to listen. Yes, some areas could use some sprucing up and filling in - I'm sure the NPS will get to that when they strike it rich. /sigh/

I enjoyed the bookstore and giftshop, too. (I'd rather buy stuff here than send it to tax-dodging Amazon any day.)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JenAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    40
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
loomis ca
Level Contributor
435 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“great place to cool off”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

25 minute movie is worth watching. Exhibets relatively interesting. Particularly the dioramas. Allowing 1 hour was plenty for us. Snack bar in the adjacent parking lot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Old-School Museum”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This museum has the unenviable task of supplementing the sites at Mesa Verde, which is one of the most spectacular "living museums" on the continent. Unfortunately, it does not live up to the task. The exhibits look like what I would have expected forty years ago; indeed, one of the rangers mentioned that at least some of the dioramas might have been built by New Deal workers in the 1930s. Interestingly enough, however, the bookstore is excellent, and that may merit a look. In these days of Amazon and her sisters, however, visitors should only spend time in the museum if they have ample time for the cliff dwellings and scenic loops. These outdoor attractions will leave you quaking; Chapin Mesa Museum is a huge step down from such peak experiences.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuthehistoryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a bit run down”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

this museum could use a make over - the display cases are old and a bit outdates - if they would charge they could finance something better and since it is free it is noisy and crowded just go see the pottery case.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimenita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1,131 reviews
727 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Great exhibits”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The museum has great exhibits of the lives of those who lived on Mesa Verde, what they ate and how they grew or captured it, how they made pottery and the like. Plan to spend a couple of hours here. The video is shown every half hour and although the view can be obscured by the heads in front of you, it is worth the time. The large screen would best be elevated about 3 ft higher as we sat in the second row and the average sized women in front of us blocked our view and we had to peer around them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapin Mesa Archeological Museum also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Chapin Mesa Archeological Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing