We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Siguenza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This review is quite late and is the first I have ever written. We were so pleased with our short stay here we wanted to let folks know. We stayed here for 2 nights in early August 2013. This is a wonderful property set in a rural area just a few miles from the charming town of Siquenza. For the American tourist it is a bit off the beaten path; as it is only 90 minutes or less northeast of Madrid, most people will likely bypass it on their way North. However, we chose to stay there to get over jet lag in a peaceful setting. WE had been to Madrid before so drove here direct from the airport.

The small hotel has been converted from a 14th century mill in the main building and a second building is new but built in character and very comfortable. Our 2 teenage children had a room in the old building which was large and comfortable while we opted for a more modern touch in the new tower. Both are excellent. The breakfast was fantastic as was the dinner (with very reasonable prices and a small but well priced wine list). All the breads and pastries are baked on site and are exquisite. Portions were more than ample.

Blanca, the owner, speaks fairly good English (much better than our Spanish!) and is warm and welcoming as is the rest of the staff; most of them family.

There is a lovely good sized outdoor pool with a large grass lawn (a rarity in most small hotels in Spain) and a cozy living room off the lobby and an outdoor sitting area near the pool.

In 5 minutes you are in the charming town of Siquenza topped by a large medieval castle (which is also a Parador if you want to stay right in town). The city has enough tourism that it supports several excellent restaurants ( we had a great meal at ElTenedor) and interesting shops on typical small winding streets leading up to the castle (tip: ample parking at the castle with good access into the town). If you only stay one night eat at the hotel. They go out of their way to ensure an exceptionally dining experience.

There are many small medieval towns with castles and cathedrals within a short drive.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca_Moreno, Propietario at Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Richard5555:
Thanks for writing these lines. Your reviews help us to improve day to day. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and services.
Communicate your appreciation to the Molino de Alcuneza team.
We would be very happy to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here one night on our way from Barcelona to Madrid and like other reviewers we wished we had been able to stay longer! Situated between Zaragoza and Madrid it was a great place to relax and recharge. There was a warm welcome by the proprietor and his daughter and we were upgraded to a larger room with a terrace since the property was not full. The lovely room and bath were well appointed. A wonderful gourmet dinner (sardine and strawberry salad, roasted lamb, a lovely cheese plate, and dessert) with a bottle of Aalto Ribera was a highlight. Do not pass on the garlic croissants!!! The hearty breakfast of pastries/bread, yogurt, fruit, cheese, sausage, fresh juice and cafe con leche was particularly memorable. We were able to take a walk down the adjacent country road after breakfast and we briefly stopped in the charming nearby town of Siguenza to see the cathedral (12th century origins) before we were off to Madrid. We could've easily spent three days based here to explore a variety of interesting places. Note: the hotel is a bit tricky to find as it is rather isolated, but follow the directions on their website and you should find it as the roads are well marked.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBMandJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca_Moreno, Propietario at Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear JBmandJCM:
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to be your host. We are very glad to know how much enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you on your next trip to Spain.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here en route to Madrid at the end of an eight day vacation. Our only regret is that we didn't spend more time in this area and specifically at this wonderful place. This is a lovely property; gardens, outdoor seating and an in ground pool. It feels remote however it is a short drive to Siguenza's restaurants and shops. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open for dinner due to a family emergency but we did have a filling breakfast and a tea service upon arrrival. Blanca could not have been nicer. This family run gem makes you feel like a long lost cousin.

Room Tip: Ask to see more than one and then choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady frobisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca_Moreno, Propietario at Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear ladyfrobisher:
Thank you for writing these lines. Your reviews help us to improve day to day.
It has been a pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you on your next visit to Spain. Soon!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in Molino for one night in august 2013, and we wished we could have stayed longer! It was by far the nicest place we stayed on our journey through spain. The rooms are large and beautiful, the spa and swimming pool very lovely and the food fantastic!. But most of all the place is run by a very very nice family.
We do hope to be able to stay there again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca_Moreno, Propietario at Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear LotteB:
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to be your host. We are very glad to know how much enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you on your next trip to Spain.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Easily reached from Madrid airport in an hour and a half yet in a truly rural location. Only five minutes from the town of Siguenza with its castle and narrow streets, this is a place for a relaxing stay. The staff could not be more helpful and this is a real family run affair. Food was excellent concentrating on quality rather than quantity. Lovely walks on almost deserted roads from the door. Give it a try for a real Spanish experience .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca_Moreno, Propietario at Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Charles s,
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to be your host. We are very glad to know how much enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope to see you back in your next trip to spain.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We enjoyed an extended weekend at this incredible hotel recently. We arrived after 10 pm and were warmly greeted and offered a full course dinner. We were hungry, so we accepted. The food and wine was outstanding. Our rooms were spacious and quiet. The staff cleaned the room while we were at breakfast. We have never had such a generous breakfast. Look for fresh baked bakery items, cut fruit, cheese and chorizo, and homemade yogurt. The hotel surroundings are so peaceful, yet town is only 5km away. The staff gave us 5 star service and treated us like family. We ate the delicious dinner at the hotel every night and were never bored. Samuel is a great chef. We can't wait to return for our whole family to enjoy this wonderful experience. Treat yourself to some homemade cookies and soaps upon departure! Thanks, Blanca and the whole staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PietvanPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molinodealcuneza, Director General at Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Piet,
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to be your host. We are very glad to know how much enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope to see you back in your next trip to spain.
Kind regards
Blanca Moreno
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We spent only one night in this lovely familiy run hotel very close to Siguenza as we were travelling from Barcelona to Segovia. It was 3 people (2 adults and one 9year old boy), so they gave us a big room with a second bed (which was very big as it was actually a convertible sofa). The room had a yacuzzi, was really brand new, clean and had all what you expect on a hotel like this.
Very silent as it is not in the city. We did not had breakfast and dinner but I am sure it was excel.lent.
Juan, the owner showed the mill mecanism and water canal, as the hotel is an old mill and gave us good advise on where to go ahve dinner in Siguenza.
I'd absolutely recomend it to every one. And the prices are very easonable , specially as we took an offer of a non refundable rate.

Room Tip: Not sure...but in summer time probably avoid the rooms that have the windows looking over the swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molinodealcuneza, Director General at Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear sir,
Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We are very pleased to be your choice to stay in Siguenza in your travels to the center of spain. We hope to see you back soon.
Blanca Moreno
Directora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siguenza
3.5 mi away
Parador de Siguenza
Parador de Siguenza
#2 of 5 in Siguenza
1,395 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Cardamomo Siguenza
7.8 mi away
Salinas de Imon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel HC Siguenza
Hotel HC Siguenza
#4 of 5 in Siguenza
60 reviews
16.2 mi away
Castillo de Somaen
Castillo de Somaen
#1 of 1 in Somaen
116 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hostal Rural Bavieca Medinaceli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux

Address: Crta Alboreca Km 0.5, 19264 Siguenza, Spain (Formerly Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza)
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Guadalajara > Siguenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Siguenza
Price Range: £139 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel Molino de Alcuneza is a small charming hotel with romantic and cozy rooms located 5 km far from the medieval town of Siguenza. 1 Hour from Madrid. This family owned hotel provides plenty of detail and a personal touch. The restaurant offers gastronomic quality cuisine and breads and pastries are homemade daily. The hotel has a Private spa and a great garden with swimming pool and terrace where a small river passes across. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel & Spa Molino de Alcuneza Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing