We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hospederia El Pico del Fraile
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Remote rural location. Had difficulty finding it. Previous reviews said good restaurant and as you are in the middle of nowhere you have no other choice. Although there was a menu we were told what we could have. Rabbit, fish or tomato omelette and we had to eat between 9 and 10 pm which was too late when we had been travelling all day. Even charged us on check out for the butter to go with the bread roll. The only option for breakfast was a toasted roll. Very disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WendyPenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospederia El P... d, Propietario at Hospederia El Pico del Fraile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We expected feedback, because you several times insisted to the management of this hotel it would, and in those same occasions the answer to the management of this hotel was always the same: "Do what you deems appropriate, but at the price room from € 50.60, not including dinner, breakfast or restaurant service. " We regret the lack of "communication". But you will remember that from the time you make the booking we got in touch with you to provide you with information regarding our hotel: the situation to our timetables, restaurant services for dinner and breakfast, attractions etc.. As you say, the Hospedería is "a country house in a rural setting," what we are very proud. That does not force anyone to use our services: within ten minutes of the hotel offers you a wide offer of all kinds of restaurants: economic and high luxury. Daily menu of our restaurant, as he explained, consists of a starter, main course (each of them to choose from three options, which you seem to have forgotten), dessert or coffee. In particular the night you dined, we congratulate the starter: Tempura Zucchini with honey sauce, pine nuts and Sesame; for the main course, there were other options like: Baked cod, rabbit with vegetables and Spanish omelette, all typical and hearty meals. As a economic choice, extras are paid separately, as explained at the time. Also, as we advised, we offer a la carte restaurant. The same goes for our breakfast service: cheaper option, which you chose, has two baguette toast with oil, butter and jam, plus coffee, tea or cocoa. Our carte menu for breakfast includes everything from scrambled eggs with bacon until Castilian soup, you could have chosen, if you prefer. As we comment, we regret this lack of "understanding", but we are not surprised, because it is not the first time and unfortunately not the last in which a person wants to take advantage of the opportunity to provide social networks and comments for free go to vacation. This hotel, not now, not ever fall into that game. As it is of interest, also we thought was very rude, for his part, did not he asked us if he could come into the restaurant for dinner with his drink in their glasses picnic: it is not our custom, and honestly, any other establishment we know. We hope, however, that you enjoyed your visit to our country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Do not miss this place if you are travelling around North-West of Spain (Zamora's province). It's quiet, nice hosts, restful (no TV on rooms!!!), and quiet. The staff is very helpful, the place was spotless clean. Near nature, wonderful place to relax and forget stresses.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is the perfect place to relax and commune with the sorounding nature. The staff is attentive and kind in pointing you to discover the traditional nature paths uniting several villages and the hiking trails to reach spectacular waterfalls and river canyons. If you are a nature lover and value the ambiance of your overnight accommodation, you must stay at Hospederia Pico del Fraile!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VmgSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vista a los prados
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank María C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pvicentey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puebla de Sanabria
3.9 mi away
Parador de Puebla de Sanabria
Parador de Puebla de Sanabria
#1 of 5 in Puebla de Sanabria
421 reviews
3.7 mi away
Posada Real de las Misas
Posada Real de las Misas
#3 of 5 in Puebla de Sanabria
79 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Meleiros
Hotel Meleiros
#5 of 5 in Puebla de Sanabria
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Hoja de Roble
La Hoja de Roble
#2 of 5 in Puebla de Sanabria
48 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel J-Enrimary
Hotel J-Enrimary
#4 of 5 in Puebla de Sanabria
74 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Braganca
Hotel Ibis Braganca
#1 of 8 in Braganca
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia El Pico del Fraile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia El Pico del Fraile

Address: Ctra. de Santa Colomba, 1 | Cobreros, 49396 Puebla de Sanabria, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Puebla de Sanabria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Puebla de Sanabria
Price Range: £34 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hospederia El Pico del Fraile 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful rural hotel offers charming accommodation for nature lovers in the Natural Park of Lake Sanabria, especially suited to unwind and relax.The cozy rooms, traditional style to relaxation. They have brown wooden furniture, bedding, 100% cotton, amenities, bathroom and terrace with magnificent views.There is a restaurant where you can sample their specialties: traditional and international dishes and fine wines. Reservations are recommended.It features a large living room with fireplace and TV, where you can enjoy the extensive library or play board games.This rural hotel situated in the quiet village of Cobreros, in a wild and natural environment, surrounded by beautiful landscapes, organizes wildlife whale watching (Iberian Wolf), guided tours, wine tourism, adventure tourism, horse riding, cross country skiing or snowshoeing, hiking and mountain, through the Natural Park of Lake Sanabria, the Montesinho and the Sierra de la Culebra. It also has tourist information desk, free parking, free WiFi throughout the hotel and library.The Pico del Fraile guesthouse is located just 3 km from the N-525. Puebla de Sanabria is located 5.6 km away and the beaches of Lake Sanabria just 15 minutes by car.Important information: The restaurant has a daily menu for lunch and dinner, no drinks included. An à la carte menu is also available. Lunch and dinner must be reserved in advance.Room type: Twin Room Please note that the rate is based on 2 guests. Maximum occupancy is 2 guests (see Hotel Policies).Room type: Special Offer - Twin Room Please note that the rate is based on 2 guests. Maximum occupancy is 2 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hospederia El Pico del Fraile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing