We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in gorgeous location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurante El Fort

Hotel Restaurante El Fort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurante El Fort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ullastret
england
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food in gorgeous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We ate here a couple of times this summer. The hotel has a really lovely patio, covered with greenery to keep shady in the day and act as holders for fairy lights at night. The menu changed between our visits, with a simple choice of less than ten main courses plus a few desserts. For appetisers they bring wafer thin onion bread and a gazpacho style helping in shot glasses. The food was delicious. I had goats ribs the first time and black rice the second. Both were delicious. My son declared his smoked lamb the nicest he had ever tasted and others in the group praised the fish and vegetable rice. Service was friendly and informal and we would definitely return.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank citybluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    7
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sitges
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

My husband and I spent one night in this Hotel last week. Unfortunately it closes from now until beginning of March as we cant wait to return.Its called a Hotel although the rooms are all apartments with separate bedrooms and living space with kitchen.The proprietors have decorated all of the Hotel by using Feng Shui philosophy. You feel this the minute you enter the wonderful atmospheric Bar. Its tiny but the owners are friendly yet not invasive in any way.The food was delicious and they use the Slow Food philospohy. A huge fire burns in the Dining Room which is tastefully furnished and oozes relaxation.This Hotel is located in one of Empordas Medieval villages called Ullastret.Thankfully, unlike Palls it is not overrun by tourists and therefore has not lost its authenticity. The Bar terrace looks out over part of the village and is probably one of the most beautiful terraces I have ever seen.And all of this for only 140,00euros. That included accommodation, dinner , and breakfast which included their own organic cheese and free range eggs. I really cant reccommend this Hotel enough. Roll on March.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joangallagher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed at El Fort for two nights and the accomodation was really cosy. We didn´t order anything from the room but the food at the restaurant was excellent. True that the service is not 100% good quality, the elaboration and delicacy of the food supplies it.
The appartment was huge and although it was really warm outside the aircon worked perfect for the entire appart. Beds really comfortable and good idea with the mosquito nets, but I missed some blinds as the sun came through in the morning quite early.
The views from the balcony were amazing.
Good place for a newly wed couple to hide from the civilization.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmaA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

Didn't stay at the hotel but had a lovely meal at lunch time out on the patio.
At this time of year it was fairly quiet but the waiter assured me it gets pretty busy in July and August with people wandering around the picturesque village of Ullastret. The food was excellent - though not cheap, and the service good. They have waifer thin bread which they bring out in a stone base and youhave to take it out in sort of king Aurther style.

All in all a very plesant place to spend a lunch time.

We asked about the rooms and apparently they have just 4, so a small esablishment, but one for the future may be.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We are a Spanish/American family who have come to the fort to eat on many ocassions and have stayed in different rooms at the little hotel 3 times. The food experience in really superior. The olive oil the use is from the surrounding area, they cook according to the seasons, the food is brave (reductions and coulis'...etc) and of a high quality. The cortado(coffee) is one of the best we've ever had....only GREAT things to say about the food. Plus, they have an outdoor patio in the summer for dining in this quaint old Costa Brava town of Ullastret. The rooms we stayed in were very nicely decorated...each with a theme. The bed was cosy and in the green room, there was a HUGE bath that we took advantage of. Our only complaint was that we stayed once in the winter and the heat was not turned on prior to our arrival. The room was FREEZING and took hours to heat up. Nonetheless, it didn't change our opinion of the FORT!! We love it!!!

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudsonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullastret
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Cau de Papibou
Hotel El Cau de Papibou
#1 of 3 in Peratallada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Pepa Maca
La Pepa Maca
#3 of 3 in Monells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Es Portal Boutique Hotel
5.8 mi away
El Raco de Madremanya
El Raco de Madremanya
#1 of 2 in Madremanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurante El Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurante El Fort

Property: Hotel Restaurante El Fort
Address: C/ de la Preso, 2 - C.P., 17114 Ullastret, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Ullastret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ullastret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurante El Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing