We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your First Stop In Concord.”
Review of Concord Museum

Concord Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #6 of 31 things to do in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A fascinating collection of Thoreau memorabilia.
Bellevue, Iowa
Level Contributor
239 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Your First Stop In Concord.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a wonderful museum. It is filled with all sorts of artifacts from our early beginnings. For example, the lantern used to warn of the British coming. Also plenty of period furnishings, muskets, etc...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank montalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    61
    18
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
194 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Paul Revere's Old North Church Lamp...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

or something like it, at least. Swords, clothing, a small, thoughtful collection. Start with a pretty decent film presentation of the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Surprise Gem in Concord”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have visited Concord many times over the years and had never stopped here. A friend and I went during a special exhibition of "The Shot Heard round to World". The Museum has done a good job of displaying the history of Concord from the first encounter to the Revolution and then beyond. The legacy of Thoreau is also nicely detailed without being tiresome. The space is nicely laid out so that you can spend time in a room without feeling pushed along by the other attendees. There were two school groups when we were visiting and I never felt over run with students. Well worth the stop if just to see the history of the US from a vantage point of being there from the start.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arias55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful History of Concord”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Concord Museum is a beautiful and modern presentation of the history of Concord, including its most famous residents. A self-guided tour allows you to follow your own pace and read as much or as little as catches your eye. The complete study from Ralph Waldo Emerson's house and the furnishings from Thoreau's cabin at Walden Pond are great highlights. The Museum also features very informative presentations of the Battle of Lexington & Concord, as well as period information tracing the history of the town. Along with the National Park Visitor Center, this is a great place to start a visit to Concord.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Kinhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Okay, but too much facsimile”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I love history and museums so I got something out of it. There are many nice pieces but I felt there could have been more revolutionary articles and maybe more signed works by the authors on exhibit and some more original maps and town official documents.

However, piece de resistance! One of the original lanterns from North Church.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Concord Museum also viewed

 

Been to Concord Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing