We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the French Toast”
Review of Helen's Restaurant

Helen's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This is a popular local spot perfect for tourists, too (Concord is a big tourist town). Looks and feels like a hip diner, but the food, esp breakfast, is anything but.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Skip the French Toast”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If there is line to get in this place, consider it a blessing. I came here anticipating a good breakfast after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. I opted for the Brioche French Toast with a side of Bacon. The service was friendly , price seemed decent, atmosphere casual,and the bacon was good, but the french toast was a whole different story. The heels of a large french bread loaf was used ,but not soaked long enough in the egg. So when it arrived at my table, I couldn't even cut through a piece with a knife. They should change the name of it to French Shoe Leather Toast! Maybe the cook was a rookie or hungover, or maybe should find a new profession. At least the bacon was good. It was cheap , so I ate my bacon, drank my coffee, tipped my waitress and left. Don't bother with this place or at least avoid the french toast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockinahawdplayse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    127
    53
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, Great location”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This centrally located fav spot is small but popular. Getting a table can be slow especially during peak dining hours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WhiteCatWriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We visited this place for breakfast a few times as a group. The seating is cramped but the service was very friendly. As a sit down restaurant, the prices are higher than a fast food place like Dunkin's but the food here is better too so I thought it was worth it. I liked that the items seemed to be cooked fresh at the time of order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“food okay, but locale too hectic and really noisy”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were at Helen's diner for lunch. It was totally packed and the din was uncomfortable. My husband ordered a hot pastrami sandwich and I had the waldorf-like salad and an order of onion rings. The salad was fresh as were the onion rings, but the portion size of the rings would have been enough for 3 people! I had the impression that they were trying to push us out, as the waitress came with the bill and a styrofoam take home container (which I had not asked for and didn't want) before I was even finished eating. But maybe she was just stressed out with all the people and noise and got me mixed up with somebody else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEE49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Went for breakfast. I thought it was a little pricy for breakfast when I compare it to a Starbucks or a bagel shop. CASH ONLY,! Was not prepared for that. I remember with fond memories when it was a Brighams. The cook was quick. I thought it was just ok. My breakfast was not anything special and I feel like I paid a lot for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helen's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Helen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing