We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Cemetary I've ever visited.”

Sleepy Hollow Cemetery
Ranked #5 of 31 things to do in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nineteenth-century luminaries such as Louisa May Alcott, Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau are buried here.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
244 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Cemetary I've ever visited.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I loved the Authors ridge and reading the tombstones of Emerson, Hawthorne and Thoreau.

Helpful?
Thank GRITSMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    64
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such rich history is buried here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

It was nice to see the Alcotts as well as other famous people.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank livem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Walk through the Past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I loved being able to walk about freely and feel of the spirit that
lingers at this beautiful cemetery.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kgpris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ho-Hum.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I guess for the literary group this would be a must see...but what I liked was the HURD family plot. Those in geneoloy looking for this family will have tons here to look at. It's just down the side of the same hill as the poets site, can't miss it, huge, lots of family buried here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank boarstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A history lovers place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

As I love the study of genealogy, I went there to look for ancestors. I found one of our ancestors buried there. It was thrilling!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank princess_mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sleepy Hollow Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Sleepy Hollow Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing