We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike ride to cemetery”

Sleepy Hollow Cemetery
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nineteenth-century luminaries such as Louisa May Alcott, Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau are buried here.
austin,tx
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bike ride to cemetery”
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

It was worth going on a bike. Other than that I guess if you have a car it's a shirt drive but if you are planning I. Walking I'd go somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank darqstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    70
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Effingham, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authors ridge sent chills down my spine”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

To think of the literary greats buried here, gave me chills. It is a very peaceful cemetery. You have to walk up a hill to see the graves.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kenfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passau
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful cemetery”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Amazing how so many wellknown people can be burried here. The place is tranquil and serene and not overrun with tourists. You should go here if you have the chance.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TripFactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice, I like Cemeteries”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Literary greats from Louisa May Alcott, Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson and Nathanial Hawthorne are buried on Literary Ridge with the likes of Daniel Chester French (the sculptor of the original Minuet Man statue to be found at the North Bridge in Minute Man NHP). Many of these grave stones are decorated with coins, nature elements, and, yes, pens and pencils. Someone even left a 'thank you' note . . . touching.

It is a very peaceful place with the wonderful scent of pine. It makes for a very nice stroll.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DPD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Cemetary I've ever visited.”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I loved the Authors ridge and reading the tombstones of Emerson, Hawthorne and Thoreau.

Helpful?
Thank GRITSMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sleepy Hollow Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Sleepy Hollow Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing