We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ambiance and FOOD!”
Review of 80 Thoreau

80 Thoreau
Reserve with OpenTable
80 Thoreau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Thoreau and Sudbury
Transit: Take the Commuter Rail to Concord on the Fitchburg Line. 80 Thoreau is located on the 2nd Floor of the Concord Depot.
Description: 80 Thoreau is a progressive fine dining restaurant set in the beautiful New England town of Concord, sourcing from local farms and offering genuine hospitality.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, ambiance and FOOD!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently moved to Lexington, and heard that there was a good place in Concord so we went to check it out.

While a little hard to find at first, the facade is VERY unassuming in the old train depot, we made it inside and were warmly greeting.

The ambiance was a great balance of lively, but not noisy and the food was wonderful !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    65
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent suburban option”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had an excellent dinner here on a busy Saturday night. The food quality is as good as the top places in Boston, and the service and ambiance are also very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Tasty, Tasting Menu and Informative Meal”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Seated at the Kitchen (like Sibling Rivalry-but no more) to watch the meal preparations, including the four of us was a great treat as well as the tasting menu meal that we enjoyed. You can see the anticipation of the Chief and Servers, explaining each course in methods of preparation and expected tastes to delight the eyes and palates. Very enjoyable way to sample these excellent efforts and worth repeating for special meals with foodie friends. A wine pairing is offered, but the wine list has many worthwhile bottles to sample in any case.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Eclectic Menu”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My two brothers joined me for dinner on a Monday night. The place was quite busy, which says a lot about the popularity of this restaurant, Two of us had the Bluefish, (first time ever) and it was superb. Another had the Pollack, and raved about it. The menu listed perhaps only 6 or 7 entrees, all somewhat unique and imaginative. Two of us started with eggplant soup, an experiment, since this was another new taste. The soup was thinner and less intense in flavor than I expected, but good. Two of us tried the "plum sorbet" for desert. I tried the "corn ice cream" and found it surprisingly tasty. Because of the unusual items on the menu, and the very imited description there, it is necessary to ask the waiter to describe what you're considering

I would definitely return. The service and ambience were fine. We felt that we receive fair value for the price of the dishes we selected.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FortPondMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“could not be better!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Excellent food and service, well deserving of its reputation.
I rarely have dessert, but made an exception after this meal -- figured I wanted to take full advantage of the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 80 Thoreau also viewed

 

Been to 80 Thoreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing