We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History comes alive in Concord, MA”

Concord Guides Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Concord
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Concord Guides Walking Tours: "Revolution, Renaissance and Renewal!" Licensed, local, experienced guides highlight Concord's extraordinary Colonial, Revolutionary and literary heritage for you. See unique sites and sights during your two hour stroll. Our 16th year! Groups and families welcomed. Mid-April to November 1, weather permitting. Step-on guides for bus tours also provided, if scheduled at least 2 weeks in advance.
Avon Lake, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History comes alive in Concord, MA”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Dr. Joel Andrews is the perfect person to make history come alive in Concord. His highly interactive and entertaining Concord Guides Walking Tours are perfect for a visit with family and friends or for a custom tour arranged for a business event. His tour was the perfect addition to an international business event I hosted that also included a dinner at the Concord Colonial Inn. We sent each participant home with a signed copy of Joel's book as well which was a huge hit. Joel not only has a deep understanding of history and its meaning but is a world traveler himself and able to relate US history to participants from around the globe. Don't miss this unique opportunity--be sure to arrange a tour with Concord Guides Walking tours next time you are in or near Concord.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable walking tour”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

During the third week of October, my husband and I spent the better part of an afternoon on a guided walking tour of historic Concord, MA. This Guided Walking Tour, available from the Concord Chamber of Commerce offers knowledgeable and friendly town certified tour guides Tours generally last 1 1/2 hours, although we were very fortunate to have our tour led by Arthur, who extended the time spent with us to include so much more information about his town.

We visited the sites where the local Militia and Minute companies confronted the occupying British soldiers causing the battles that birthed the war for American Independence. Among the many historic buildings and site, we saw the Minuteman statue sculpted by Daniel French near the Old North Bridge, where the “shot heard round the world” was fired. Although it was, unfortunately, closed to tourists that day, we passed The Old Manse, a National Historic Landmark, whick became the center of Concord’s political, literary, and social revolutions over the course of the next century. There is so much more to see and learn there. Go see for yourselves!.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MomMom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Concord, MA Guided Walking Tours”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Dr. Joel Andrews, Author of Revolutionary Boston, Lexington and Concord: The Shots Heard 'Round the World and is the founding director of Concord Walking Tours, is the best walking tour guide I have experienced. It is clear that his knowledge on the history of Concord (and surrounding towns) is second to none. He engages with his clients in a fun and enthusiastic way. Not only Does Dr. Andrews help educate adults but children as well. He sparks and encourages conversation with all ages. Dr. Joel Andrew's Concord walking tour was truly informative and enjoyable. I highly recommend it to anyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaWhitney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Way to See Concord, MA”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

When visiting Concord, MA, be sure to take part in the Concord Guides Walking Tours with
Dr. Joseph Andrews. Dr. Andrews brings a wealth of knowledge of the area to this experience
and he keeps the tour participants actively engaged thorough interaction and dialog. Your appreciation of the unique literary and cultural history of this special town will be greatly enhanced.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Fork, UT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Concord guides introduces us to our history”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

As a professional tour guide myself, I know the importance of having a guide who is well versed in local history and important sites. Concord Guides, and Joel Andrews particularly, was the perfect answer to our tour needs when we visited Concord. He not only has a keen sense of the value of the history, his presentation was entertaining, interesting and full of details. We will seek him out whenever American Heritage Tours comes to Concord.
Bonnie A Miles

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Concord Guides Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Concord Guides Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing