We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brunch in MetroWest area -- Can't beat the history and charm too!”
Review of The Colonial Inn

The Colonial Inn
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Brunch in MetroWest area -- Can't beat the history and charm too!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Three business women enjoyed a power brunch together, appreciating the charming building, attentive service, and excellent food drawn from many cuisines. In addition to all the great things to enjoy inside the Inn, Concord and the surrounding areas offer more history and scenery than most places. Our group took a stroll at Walden Pond and a couple stops in Minuteman National Park, all within minutes of the Inn.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geologue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    164
    67
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tea at the Concord Inn”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Tea is an important part of my family - my grandfather was a tea taster, and we are quite picky about selecting and preparing tea. My grandmother first took me here years ago, and I have since returned with other family members and friends - it is my go-to tea room that offers up a more relaxed environment than at the well-known spots in Boston. Their tea selection changes often and is always prepared well. They offer up many more of the classic teas than the glitzier mixes often proposed by other tea houses (look elsewhere for the likes of chamomile-honeybrush-lemongrass herbals or vanilla-caramel earl greys). If you are looking for a good standard (darjeeling, rooibos, green, and others), come here.

Their trays of sandwiches and desserts (High Tea) are a good compliment to the teas; informal teas (offering up a scone and berries) are usually just the fix needed - scones are served hot and melt in your mouth. The service is also consistently high-quality: I once had a table held for me, without reservation and after tea service had ended, when I called stuck in traffic on my way to the Inn.

This is an excellent place for tea, and I will be sure to return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chowda the way it should be”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I love the Colonial Inn. Along with being a historic inn in the center of Concord, Ma, it has wonderful restaurants. They have a fine food area, the Liberty room, a small pub area, a bar area, eating outside in good weather and rooms you can rent for a function. We held out son's rehearsal dinner in the function room and it was great. On Patriots Day, a friend and I had lunch in the Liberty room and it was terrific. It was fun to see all of the folks in Colonial and Redcoat dress. Recommend the Colonial any time. They also have a terrific brunch with folks in period dress walking through and quoting well known Concord poets and authors.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kj f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oldie but a goodie!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Been going here for years for everything from wedding showers to drinks and live music! This place has it all and wrapped up in a authentic colonial era atmosphere! A must see if you want to know about Concord history and colonial times.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edabensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Atmosphere on Porch”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very nice outside dining when weather is good. Food was good, as was service. Great atmosphere at old inn on streets of charming and historic town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colonial Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing