We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not this Hotel, but the chain....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western at Historic Concord
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ok for family vacation, but they could care less about business customers.

The room was decent. They advertised breakfast, but it was closed for upgrades. They offset this with either a room discount or giftcards for a local chain....no complaints here.

My issues are not so much with this hotel, but the chain as a whole. The staff here was as helpful as they could be (almost feel bad giving them a hard time) , but did not have the power to fix the screw up.

I made a reservation and was charged for several days business stay. When I was not there at "curfew", even though I had already paid, they gave my room away. When I finally arrived after a airline nightmare, lost luggage, having to rent a car to complete the trip, I was told I didn’t have a room...they gave it away because I was not there when they felt I should be. They gave me a room for the night, but I had a scramble to find an alternative place to stay for the rest of my trip in the area. I feel a simple phone call, before giving my room away would have been a common courtesy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Best Western at Historic Concord
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here on a business trip - one night stand. Hotel is old (Former Howard Johnson Inn) but well maintained and very, very clean. Staff very helpful and gave me lots of options for dinner in Old Concord, which is about 2 miles away. When I am back in the area again, this is where I'll rest my head. Very easy to find - right off MA 2/MA 2A.

Room Tip: Two story hotel, but no elevator. All the rooms are no smoking, a plus for me!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldTar_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This may be 3 stars in the motel world but definitely not a 4.5 star hotel.

Pros: The staff was very polite and friendly. I would give them 5 stars in terms of customer service. Hotel was also extremely clean. Hallways smelled fresh. 5 stars in terms of cleanliness as well.

Cons: Hotel is very old. Ceilings had water damage. Beds were not comfortable. Bed sheets were old. You could hear noise from above, and next door- walls are paper thin.

Overall experience: Satisfactory. The professionalism of staff makes up for the short comings, however do not go to this hotel expecting to be in a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a second floor room- if you are on the ground floor you can hear everything from the room above...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 726Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good place to stay if you have pets. Close to amenities. Washer and dryer available. Complimentary snacks upon arrival. Very hard to come up with 200 characters for a review. The hotel itself is average but I found the staff very helpful and caring.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent three nights here over Memorial Day weekend. Fire alarm went off two different times - at night and early morning, causing all of us to evacuate. Both times they blamed guests for taking excessive showers with the resulting steam setting off the alarm! Hotel is very worn and tired and I question how clean. Kitchen was under repair so there was no breakfast buffet as advertised. On the positive side, staff is very pleasant and the location is convenient to downtown Concord and all the sites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stephanie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Service was friendly. Cookies, fruit, granola bars on checking in. I like those touvheds. the room we got was small and there was no place for the armchair except next to the ventilation, so we got a draft when we read. Lighting and ventilation were mediocre. No frig, no microwave. Pool and breakfast not ready - had not yet been inspected.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Really appreciated having this as a base camp during a recent four day business trip to Greater Boston. The staff were friendly. The room was quiet and clean. The bedding was excellent. The breakfast offerings were meager, but they supplemented that with a Dunkin' Donuts gift card. The restaurant next door - Paparazzi - is excellent, and Concord is beautiful. Convenient location for getting into Boston. The gas station next door has the best prices in town. I got better rates by booking direct with the hotel web site than with Booking.com

Room Tip: There are rooms that overlook a natural area to the east which are quieter with a prettier view, but...
Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank jaywvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
1.9 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
527 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
172 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Boxborough (I-495 Exit 28)
6.7 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western at Historic Concord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western at Historic Concord

Address: 740 Elm Street, Concord, MA 01742-2101 (Formerly BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Concord
Price Range: £110 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western at Historic Concord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience it all - the excitement of Boston nearby, historic sites, national parks and generous amenities - at this newly renovated Concord, MA hotel.You'll feel right at home at the BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord. Delight in the many amenities provided in each of the spacious, clean rooms, including cable and HBO® on a flat screen television, a coffee maker and free wireless Internet. Wake up after a great night's sleep and dig into a complimentary full breakfast buffet. Just 25 miles from Boston and only 12 miles from Cambridge, guests can easily explore the big city without having to pay for a room that's too pricey. Explore the area with Walden Pond, Old North Bridge, Orchard House, the Concord Museum, Minuteman National Park and Lexington Green all nearby. Retail therapy at Burlington Mall is just minutes away.Those traveling on business are ensured a productive trip with Welches, Tom Tom, Polaroid, Phoenix Controls, Stratus and Monster all located within six miles or less of this Concord, MA hotel. Hanson Air Force Base, FEMA, Tufts University, Boston University and Harvard University are also nearby.The relaxation and excitement continues on the property with our outdoor seasonal pool and fitness center - we're the only hotel in Concord that offers both. Get even more value out of your stay with access to an on-site restaurant and lounge, free parking, guest laundry and fax and photocopying services. We also serve freshly baked cookies each day - a delicious treat to help you unwind after sightseeing or working in the area.Our kind, helpful staff is ready to make your stay this pet friendly Massachusetts hotel a wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western at Historic Concord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western At Historic Concord Hotel Concord
Best Western Concord
Concord Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing