We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding visit to Concord!”
Review of Hawthorne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorne Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Concord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We lodged at the Hawthorne Inn during the last week of September and had a wonderful experience. Marilyn happened to be in Concord Center and met us at the train depot for a lift to the B&B and the service remained great for the extent of our stay. Gregory, Marilyn, and Nicole were gracious hosts, our room was comfortable looking across to Hawthorne's Wayside, and the breakfasts were delicious and filling. I hope we have a chance to re-visit with them on our next sojourn to Concord. Mike California

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is a bed & breakfast that at best could be described as no more than "adequate." The room was small, located on a noisy street, and with a bed that squeaked every time either of us moved. The owners were civil but little more. The breakfast could only be described as "average." All in all, we were delighted to be staying for only one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn. The room and the Inn oozed charm and were perfect for a Concord visit. The breakfast was wonderful (the home made granola is not to be missed), Marilyn's hospitality is unsurpassed and her recommendations for sightseeing and dinner were spot on. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Layne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Agreeing with "hypatia's" review, I would add that the hosts, Marilyn and Gregory, make one feel very welcome and are extremely helpful in guiding you to places of culinary and historical interest. The Inn is well located, the decor is eclectic and the hosts warm and interesting in themselves. A great inn for those who like a personal experience in a unique setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We went to the Hawthorne Inn at the end of September - two of my daughters and my 10 year old granddaughter. The rooms were gorgeous, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was delightful and historical. Marilyn and Gregory, the innkeepers, were hospitable, gracious, warm, friendly, and helpful as we planned our museum visits there and our restaurant choices. It was a magical weekend, and all of us were thrilled with the Hawthorne Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat32947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Perfectly located for history and American literature buffs, the Hawthorne is directly across the street from the Wayside (former residence of Hawthorne and the Alcotts) and within walking distance of Orchard House, Emerson's house, and the Concord Museum. The location would be almost enough to recommend this inn, but there's so much more! Experienced and attentive hosts, Gregory and Marilyn, bought the property in the 1970s and painstakingly restored it themselves. Like so many other B&Bs, it has the cozy "Victorian granny" vibe--if your granny has traveled all over the world and displays her eclectic art collection alongside and on top of her antique furniture! The gourmet breakfasts, the comfy beds, the afternoon snacks, and conversations in the parlor . . . . Do you really need any more reasons to stay here? There are lots, but I don't have unlimited space. :-)

Room Tip: I liked the Alcott Room, where we stayed, but I caught a look at the room across the hall (can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hypatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stopped at Hawthorne Inn on our road trip in New England in August. Truly beautiful Inn and nice innkeepers.

The house is in a very nice, green location just 19miles away from Boston and we were very happy that we decided to stay outside of Boston in this beautiful house during our visit. As we arrived we were offered to choose the room between the one we ordered and the other one as it was free so far. Also we were greeted in our room with tea and delicious brownie. These small signs of attention I find very warm and welcoming.

The innkeepers Gregory and Marilyn are very friendly and helpful, not to mention already nicely served and prepared with attention breakfasts.

The rooms are nice and very cozy, nicely decorated. It's really one of my favorite B&B I have ever stayed.

We were very happy to find Hawthorne Inn and definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RasaPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Concord hotels
0.9 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
545 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
2.8 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
North Bridge Inn
North Bridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
159 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn

Address: 462 Lexington Rd, Concord, MA 01742-3729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Concord
Price Range: £138 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorne Inn. We are a boutique bed & breakfast situated on Concord’s historic mile, just steps away from the heart of American Literary and Revolutionary history; on land once owned by Ralph Waldo Emerson, Bronson Alcott and Nathaniel Hawthorne. The property was built in the 1860’s and has been functioning as a bed and breakfast for more than 40 years. Inspired by design and elegance, the Inn has recently been fully renovated to incorporate 7 luxury guest rooms and ample shared public spaces to create a truly unique experience for our guests. We offer the perfect balance of elegance, charm and privacy whilst still being within walking distance of Concord’s Historic Center, the Old North Bridge, the homes of Concord’s most famous writers and the Minuteman National Park. We aim to offer a luxury and unique all season experience to our guests whether they are tourists visiting for the spring/summer/fall season or business guests visiting many of the multi-national corporations located in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing