We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best”
Review of Hawthorne Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concord
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawthorne Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Concord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We live abroad and travel often and this is probably the nicest B&B I have ever used anywhere. As one who has eclectic taste and collects treasures from around the world, I appreciated the artifacts on display . Great accommodation and we will stay again and again. Thank you to Marilyn and Gregory!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanCareerExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Cynthia, Thank-you. We so appreciate that you appreciate our 'eclectic' taste. Every time we purchase, or are gifted with, a new piece or art many other pieces shift for we are always looking for the correct balance. Hence, in our Dining Room, a brilliantly colored Haitian Harvest painting will be one display cabinet away from an AP Norman Rockwell. And, in the display cabinet are Peruvian artifacts and a Whale Tooth and Ammonites with a couple of Soapstone Carvings of Gregory's, along with many other objects of interest. Further along this West wall is a painting of a Tiger which was a gift from a guest who was quite close to the King of Bhutan. Art and Antiques always have such woven stories. Peace and Blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorne Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

My 14-year-old daughter and I stayed at the Hawthorne Inn in October 2012. We were going to be driving around New England for a week and started our trip with two nights at the Hawthorne Inn. It was the perfect start to our visit!
The whole thing was magical...and serendipitous - the warm welcome in the charming parlor with tea and scones; the quirky decor; the fabulous home-made breakfasts; amazing company and conversation at the dining table; and best of all the owners, Marilyn and Gregory, who are interesting, warm, hospitable, and also seem to attract the most interesting guests.
When we booked, I wasn't too keen on having to sit around a breakfast table with strangers and thought it might be awkward. But Sunday breakfast at the Hawthorne turned out to be the highlight of our stay in Concord. Marilyn and Gregory drifted in and out with the most delicious breakfast. And the guests were all special - my daughter and I ended up making friends over breakfast with whom we stayed in touch after we left! My daughter was enchanted by the owners' dogs, Pashka and Sky.
We happen to be back in New England in December and are going back to the inn because we couldn't think of any other place in this area that we'd like to be on Christmas day!
The inn is well located - opposite Nathaniel Hawthorne's and Louisa May Alcott's house and a short and scenic walk from the town center.
For us, the Hawthorne Inn has been a rare find!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandya162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I've stayed at the Hawthorne in quite a few times and it's always great. The decor is so artistically done and visually appealing. The food is wonderful - fresh fruits and homemade baked goods for breakfast and wonderful granola. I'm kind of picky, and i'd pick this place anytime. This is where I send my guests now too, if not with me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Wendy, Thank-you. You travel from 'right down the road' to stay with us. It is not just our Inn but it is Concord: something about this land, it is an almost palpable feeling: a softness of peacefulness, a drawing of reflection, a happiness, a desire of creative expression. Concord has touched you. Peace and Blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My Boyfriend and I were looking to relax and get away from New York City for the weekend and decided to stay at Hawthorne Inn. The house itself and the rooms were beautiful- we especially loved the gas fireplace in our room. On top of that the inn keepers were as sweet, helpful and friendly as can be! The town is really cute and fun to explore and is filled with beautiful homes and buildings.I would recommend going in October- the leaves changing colors were beautiful. Also the cheese shop on the main street was excellent! all in all a wonderful experience that I would not hesitate to repeat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prettywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent a lovely 2 nights at the Hawthorne Inn and in Concord. Our hosts were most gracious and a very interesting couple...............they had traveled widely in Concord and were able to make wonderful recommendations so that we were well fed, well amused, and felt right at home. The breakfast each day was very good.....I never would have thought the mix grape and orange jiuce...it's good. And who can turn down a delicious walnut brownie at the end of the day. If you stay there......ask about yellow wedding gown - a delightful and fun story. All we can say is stay, enjoy, and you will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emerson room on the first floor............very nice and a wonderful bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Concord at the Hawthorne Inn. Marylin and Gregory are extraordinarily warm and friendly and generous hosts, who make you feel at home the moment you arrive. We especially enjoyed our lengthy breakfasts chatting with Marylin, and the many other guests we got to meet (from both around the country and the world) around the communal breakfast table. The food was fabulous and ample, a perfect way to fortify yourself for long walks around Concord and Walden Pond. I especially enjoyed the homemade granola, the poached pear, and the delicious "leeks and lox" quiche. Plus, late afternoons featured very tasty cider and delicious treats as well, including homemade brownies and pie, ideal to enjoy in the sitting room. Our bedroom was perfect, with an extremely comfortable canopy bed and great artwork and furniture, plus a view of the fall leaves changing in the adjoining field. The Hawthorne also provides you with an excellent base to explore Concord: the Alcott house is right across the street, and Marylin gave us lots of good recommendations for things to do around town and places to eat (including the lovely Cheese Shop on Walden St).

This is an absolutely excellent Inn with wonderful hosts and an ideal spot for a getaway - everything seems like such a world away it's hard to believe you're just a short trip away from Boston. We'll definitely be returning and cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fnc106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We lodged at the Hawthorne Inn during the last week of September and had a wonderful experience. Marilyn happened to be in Concord Center and met us at the train depot for a lift to the B&B and the service remained great for the extent of our stay. Gregory, Marilyn, and Nicole were gracious hosts, our room was comfortable looking across to Hawthorne's Wayside, and the breakfasts were delicious and filling. I hope we have a chance to re-visit with them on our next sojourn to Concord. Mike California

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
0.9 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
527 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
172 reviews
3.8 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
453 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn

Address: 462 Lexington Rd, Concord, MA 01742-3729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Concord
Price Range: £70 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorne Inn. We are a boutique bed & breakfast situated on Concord’s historic mile, just steps away from the heart of American Literary and Revolutionary history; on land once owned by Ralph Waldo Emerson, Bronson Alcott and Nathaniel Hawthorne. The property was built in the 1860’s and has been functioning as a bed and breakfast for more than 40 years. Inspired by design and elegance, the Inn has recently been fully renovated to incorporate 7 luxury guest rooms and ample shared public spaces to create a truly unique experience for our guests. We offer the perfect balance of elegance, charm and privacy whilst still being within walking distance of Concord’s Historic Center, the Old North Bridge, the homes of Concord’s most famous writers and the Minuteman National Park. We aim to offer a luxury and unique all season experience to our guests whether they are tourists visiting for the spring/summer/fall season or business guests visiting many of the multi-national corporations located in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing