We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better...”
Review of Hawthorne Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concord
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawthorne Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Concord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Could not have been better...”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hawthorne inn July 2012 for a quick get-a-way before our first child was born. It was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast and we loved every moment. Marilyn and Greg went out of their way to make sure that we had a great time experiencing their town. Marilyn actually sat down with me and mapped out all of the places we wanted to see. They recommended several restaurants in the area, all of which were wonderful (and we're NYC foodies, so we're picky!) We loved the unique decor with all the original artwork and knick-knacks, and the breakfasts were delicious, especially all the veggies fresh-picked from their garden. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Tricia, Thank-you for this review. The vegetable gardens have been planted, a 50X50 foot plot whose bounty our guests will be feasting on: multiple variety of Tomato and Pepper along with Kale and Swiss Chard and Cabbages all finding their way into our breakfast fare. Melons and Squash, too. We look forward to your next visit for we love having children stay and wish to meet your little one. Peace and Blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    27
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
136
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had such a great time! We stayed here and woke up at 4am to attend the battle of Lexington. The innkeeper was nice enough to leave coffee out for us to start our very early morning. We made it back in plenty of time for a wonderful breakfast and then to see the festivities in Concord. It was a perfect location. We were a very short drive to Lexington and close enough to walk into the town of Concord. The beds were very comfortable. The innkeepers were fabulous hosts and were very accomodating in every way. We were also given an upgraded room upon arrival. We would definitly stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Courtney, Thank-you! I still have yet to get up at 4:00 a.m.! Maybe next year, I'll take a ladder to Lexington, before 4:00 a.m., to see the re-enactment. At the end of Patriot's Day week-end, it is time for a vacation for many: Re-enactments and Dawn Salutes and Parades and the Patriot's Day Ball: I always know that I shall shed tears of Pride and Happiness and Remembrance at this time of year for those who have made our Freedom possible: the many generations who have sacrificed to let me, and others, stand on this soil. It does not get any better than this. Peace and Blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, va
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I know it's just repeating what others have said, but the Hawthorne Inn in Concord is just amazing. There is nothing Marilyn and Greg have not thought of to make one's stay perfect. We stayed in the Emerson room, with its deep, whirlpool tub in the bathroom and a gas fireplace. Heavenly. Wonderful sheets, perfect bed, lovely views (even in mid-winter) and a charming sitting room (a common area) right across the hall. Really, it couldn't possibly improve.

Room Tip: each one is different, check the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Amanda, Thank-you. You mentioned views in winter and I agree: the silhouette of trees in winter is so beautiful: without leaf to know a tree by trunk and branch and texture is such a joy. Especially with a dusting of snow. And to see it's movement from shades of brown to green through seasons: this is one of the many reasons why we love New England. Peace and Blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We live abroad and travel often and this is probably the nicest B&B I have ever used anywhere. As one who has eclectic taste and collects treasures from around the world, I appreciated the artifacts on display . Great accommodation and we will stay again and again. Thank you to Marilyn and Gregory!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanCareerExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Cynthia, Thank-you. We so appreciate that you appreciate our 'eclectic' taste. Every time we purchase, or are gifted with, a new piece or art many other pieces shift for we are always looking for the correct balance. Hence, in our Dining Room, a brilliantly colored Haitian Harvest painting will be one display cabinet away from an AP Norman Rockwell. And, in the display cabinet are Peruvian artifacts and a Whale Tooth and Ammonites with a couple of Soapstone Carvings of Gregory's, along with many other objects of interest. Further along this West wall is a painting of a Tiger which was a gift from a guest who was quite close to the King of Bhutan. Art and Antiques always have such woven stories. Peace and Blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

My 14-year-old daughter and I stayed at the Hawthorne Inn in October 2012. We were going to be driving around New England for a week and started our trip with two nights at the Hawthorne Inn. It was the perfect start to our visit!
The whole thing was magical...and serendipitous - the warm welcome in the charming parlor with tea and scones; the quirky decor; the fabulous home-made breakfasts; amazing company and conversation at the dining table; and best of all the owners, Marilyn and Gregory, who are interesting, warm, hospitable, and also seem to attract the most interesting guests.
When we booked, I wasn't too keen on having to sit around a breakfast table with strangers and thought it might be awkward. But Sunday breakfast at the Hawthorne turned out to be the highlight of our stay in Concord. Marilyn and Gregory drifted in and out with the most delicious breakfast. And the guests were all special - my daughter and I ended up making friends over breakfast with whom we stayed in touch after we left! My daughter was enchanted by the owners' dogs, Pashka and Sky.
We happen to be back in New England in December and are going back to the inn because we couldn't think of any other place in this area that we'd like to be on Christmas day!
The inn is well located - opposite Nathaniel Hawthorne's and Louisa May Alcott's house and a short and scenic walk from the town center.
For us, the Hawthorne Inn has been a rare find!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandya162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I've stayed at the Hawthorne in quite a few times and it's always great. The decor is so artistically done and visually appealing. The food is wonderful - fresh fruits and homemade baked goods for breakfast and wonderful granola. I'm kind of picky, and i'd pick this place anytime. This is where I send my guests now too, if not with me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Wendy, Thank-you. You travel from 'right down the road' to stay with us. It is not just our Inn but it is Concord: something about this land, it is an almost palpable feeling: a softness of peacefulness, a drawing of reflection, a happiness, a desire of creative expression. Concord has touched you. Peace and Blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My Boyfriend and I were looking to relax and get away from New York City for the weekend and decided to stay at Hawthorne Inn. The house itself and the rooms were beautiful- we especially loved the gas fireplace in our room. On top of that the inn keepers were as sweet, helpful and friendly as can be! The town is really cute and fun to explore and is filled with beautiful homes and buildings.I would recommend going in October- the leaves changing colors were beautiful. Also the cheese shop on the main street was excellent! all in all a wonderful experience that I would not hesitate to repeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prettywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
0.9 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
520 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
169 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
495 reviews
3.8 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn

Property: Hawthorne Inn
Address: 462 Lexington Rd, Concord, MA 01742-3729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorne Inn. We are a boutique bed & breakfast situated on Concord’s historic mile, just steps away from the heart of American Literary and Revolutionary history; on land once owned by Ralph Waldo Emerson, Bronson Alcott and Nathaniel Hawthorne. The property was built in the 1860’s and has been functioning as a bed and breakfast for more than 40 years. Inspired by design and elegance, the Inn has recently been fully renovated to incorporate 7 luxury guest rooms and ample shared public spaces to create a truly unique experience for our guests. We offer the perfect balance of elegance, charm and privacy whilst still being within walking distance of Concord’s Historic Center, the Old North Bridge, the homes of Concord’s most famous writers and the Minuteman National Park. We aim to offer a luxury and unique all season experience to our guests whether they are tourists visiting for the spring/summer/fall season or business guests visiting many of the multi-national corporations located in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing