We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawthorne Inn”
Review of Hawthorne Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concord
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawthorne Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Concord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hawthorne Inn”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A character property just out of Concord, be warned the road is busy from 5.30am so the noise in the roadside bedrooms is of a high level. The decor is quaint, though many will find it a little oppressive, rooms are a good size, clean and our bathroom was adequate.
Hosts Greg and Marylin are informative about the area and very helpful ang Greg's breakfast was uniquely pleasant. Just one warning ask for a room away from the road!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Brigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank-you for your thoughtful review! We are fortunate to sit on land owned by The Emerson's, the Alcott's, the Hawthorne's and, to have been, too, surveyed by Thoreau. Besides these Transcendentalists having walked our/their land, we lie on the "Battle Road" of the Revolutionary War. History abounds. Our Inn is in a Village setting with the traffic of morning and eve (7:30a.m. & 5:30p.m. on week-days) as travelers commute to work.
Please do look to our website for photos of our guest rooms and our many works of art and artifacts which adorn our walls and display cabinets: these reflect many and diverse cultures.
Peace and Safe Journeys, Marilyn & Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    27
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
136
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Hawthorne Inn twice and in three different rooms. Each of the rooms are lovely and both of our trips to the Hawthorne Inn were very relaxing! Breakfast is excellent and the afternoon snacks are delicious. Greg and Marilyn are the perfect inn keepers; paying special attention to the details!! Great location; short drive to the center of town, the North Bridge, and not far from Boston.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank-you for your "lovely" review"! We are always so pleased to shake a hand that we have grasped before and to see a familiar smiling face. You make 'our' day.
Peace and Safe Journeys, Marilyn & Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My sister & I were fortunate enough to find and stay at the Hawthorne Inn . Marilyn and Greg were so friendly and gracious. Our room and their house is absolutely charming! Greg gave us a complete run-down of all the interesting places to visit while in Concord. Marilyn recommended 80 Thoreau Restaurant for dinner and it was fabulous! They prepared and served us an amazing breakfast that we enjoyed while talking to a wonderful couple from Spain who were also guests there. I truly can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: We requested a room with a fireplace which we sat in front of, talking until 1:00AM! Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank-you for your excellent review! We are glad that you sat and talked into the wee hours of the eve, in comfort, in quiet, in peace. Moments remembered.
Peace and Safe Journeys, Marilyn & Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Marilyn and Greg really understand that everything is in the details, and it shows. Right when we walked in, Marilyn welcomed us with tea and brownies fresh out of the oven. She gave us a run down on all of the places to visit in Concord and recommended we eat at 80 Thoreau (a terrific restaurant), even making a reservation for us. Our room was clean, cozy, and filled with interesting furniture and art. The overall vibe is warm and relaxing....and breakfast is delicious! I would definitely stay here again if I am ever back in Concord, it felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank-you for such a wonderful review! Now, in these cooler months, a rich Apple Cake soaked with a topping of Cider, Spices and Rum or, A Fall Carrot Cake slathered with an orange cream cheese frosting, awaits: Bed and Breakfast and...Dessert.
Peace and Safe Journeys, Marilyn & Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This inn is staffed by some of the friendliest people I have ever met. You will feel right at home when you walk into this incredible, old home. You will love your stay and is an awesome place to stay just outside boston. I actually called twice regarding my reservation, so i spoke to both Marilyn and Greg before my stay, and they both recommended 80 Thoreau and they were completely right! Check that place out too, Extremely close, very good, very nice, great spot.

Absolutely recommend and agree with all the other reviews (inns on selectregistry.com have not let us down yet!)

Room Tip: The Emerson room is beautiful, facing west, and has a fireplace for great ambiance. My one warning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

From communication to friendliness to the best tea I have ever had this BB was a gem of a find. They were soooo friendly and wonderful hosts. The rooms were amazing as was the food. Nothing left to be asked for! Perfect getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAngel1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starksboro, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I really needed a "getaway" night and this Inn was just what we needed. Marilyn and Greg were kind and gracious and couldn't be more helpful. They encouraged us to look around Concord and gave us information on where to go, times, etc. The breakfast was so much fun and the company enjoyable. I especially enjoyed sitting by the fireplace on a snowy afternoon and sipping tea and knitting. I highly recommend this Inn during any season.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
0.9 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
520 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
167 reviews
3.8 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
449 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn

Property: Hawthorne Inn
Address: 462 Lexington Rd, Concord, MA 01742-3729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorne Inn. We are a boutique bed & breakfast situated on Concord’s historic mile, just steps away from the heart of American Literary and Revolutionary history; on land once owned by Ralph Waldo Emerson, Bronson Alcott and Nathaniel Hawthorne. The property was built in the 1860’s and has been functioning as a bed and breakfast for more than 40 years. Inspired by design and elegance, the Inn has recently been fully renovated to incorporate 7 luxury guest rooms and ample shared public spaces to create a truly unique experience for our guests. We offer the perfect balance of elegance, charm and privacy whilst still being within walking distance of Concord’s Historic Center, the Old North Bridge, the homes of Concord’s most famous writers and the Minuteman National Park. We aim to offer a luxury and unique all season experience to our guests whether they are tourists visiting for the spring/summer/fall season or business guests visiting many of the multi-national corporations located in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing