We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Concord's Colonial Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for a family event and got placed on the "first floor". In this case, otherwise known as the basement. There were 10 other rooms on the floor so we weren't singled out. First, let me say it was a maze to get to our room and in the morning realized we had to go through the wait staff are of the restaurant o get to the lobby. It was just weird. Speaking of weird, there was an unusual smell in the hallway that we couldn't place. And again, in the morning it got brought to light, our rooms surrounded part of the kitchen and the smell was grease and the dishwasher area. We're doing great so far aren't we? Now for the room.....In fairness it was a decent room (still in the basement, but decent). Nice TV, small strange bathroom and shower but workable. Things seemed to be OK until we went to bed. Good thing I love my wife because the bed sank to the middle and as hard as we tried we kept rolling into each other by default not design. Uncomfortable would be an understatement. to make matters worse, we had a serious breach of security in our room. Nothing was taken, the issue was addressed appropriately and we were satisfied with the resolution but still.....
As much as I'd like to recommend this place I simply can not.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjfmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are genuinely sorry that you had a less than pleasant experience staying with us, but relieved to know that despite the breech in security, that nothing was taken and you were content with the resolution. Yes, the hotel is quite a maze and while we can't really help with our layout, we can help with the unpleasant smell. The Inn has gone ahead and implemented practices to help with the air flow of this area. Likewise, all the mattresses in our Prescott Wing have now been replaced and again, our apologies for not having this completed by your stay! I hope that you will take the chance and stay again so that we can leave a better taste in your mouth (or smell in your nose) for the next time you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Concord's Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived by car and found parking in the back. The building is an amalgam of old and new buildings. We followed the instructions on a sign that directed us to the front desk. We got to the front desk and we were immediately checked in and shown to our room. Our room was upstairs. The curious thing was that we walked one flight of stairs from the front desk and arrived on the third floor where our room was located. But, if we walked out using another set of stairs closer to our room, we actually walked down three flights of stairs! The room was not large, but not small either. We had a queen bed and there was more than enough room for our luggage and the closet was a good size. The view from the window was a view of a street and a church. I tried to use the air conditioner, but I couldn't get it to turn on so I opened the windows. The restroom was small, but there was enough room for our toiletries. The shower was a good size and the shower was very good. We drove away and visited Walden Pond. That was a highlight for us! We returned, parked and went for a walk around Concord. We first walked to a cemetery where we visited Hawthorne's, Alcott's, and Emerson's gravesites! We subsequently walked to a greek pizzeria before going to a local ice cream shop. The residential architecture was impressive. Before returning to the room for the night, we went to the hotel's pub and drank some drafts and had a good conversation with the bartender. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly even though we were facing a busy side street. The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The food was tasty and the prices were fair.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section so that you can avoid any problems with slanted floors, and damp...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalAlumTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We got a cottage for 2 days. We cared more about the town than the place, but we still need to sleep. Cottage 36 is in the 1st floor and we liked the old style home. However a 7am we were woken up by the family on the upstairs cottage, with their missed behaved child running around, and we can clearly hear their every conversation, to an embarrassing extent.
The day prior we woke up early and in the night drank and wanted some sleep on our last day here. Told the front desk, said they would call them to keep it down, they obviously never did. I didn't knock on their door and told the lady I heard her say what color her Bra is and that the kid needs some real parenting because we were leaving that day.
We liked the cottage, but not worth the price of the old furnishings and lack of comfort, and certainly not Sharing a life with some weird family. There is also this metal tapping sound in the 1st 2 bed room of cottage 36 whenever the water is used. I think that's what it is, irritating to sleep with. Didn't tell the front desk, they wouldn't care anyways.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights 4/17/14-4/21/14 over Patriots Day Weekend. Room 204 in the newer part of the Inn. Ate in the Liberty Tavern three times. Here to explore Revolutionary War history in the area and experience the Patriots Day (weekend) reenactments and events that take place annually in Concord and Lexington. We were not disappointed!

The room was clean and well attended. On the small side, but we found that charming for the setting. Loved eating in the casual side of the inn and had fabulous Lobster Rolls. We did not have too much interaction with the staff, but when we did they were friendly.

As noted by others, Parking was an issue, but we always managed to find a spot. We were also there on what I imagine may be the busiest weekend of the year. Of note, there are no elevators, and even though we were on the ground floor, it is really one flight up from the back parking.

This was a perfect location. No finer for downtown Concord.

My only complaint would be that some nights there was a band playing in the bar or some function room, and we could hear it quite loudly in our room. We were glad when they finished playing.

Also, as a tip for those visiting on Patriots day: They start serving lunch in the casual restaurant at 11 - the exact time the parade finishes. We were out front to watch the parade and were seated immediately - along with what seemed like a million people....all at once. This seemed to cause a lot of stress amongst the servers and caused a delay in service. But our server said: "This happens every year." They were turning people away. But by 12:30 - free tables. My advice would be to delay your lunch a bit and you'll be fine!

Hoping to come back east this summer for another stay at this inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for one night because we wanted to visit a historic inn and we used to live in the area. When we checked in we were greeted by two nice ladies at the front desk and were checked in very quickly. One of the ladies even showed us to our room, which was probably good since it is an old building and a little tricky to get around. Our room was very nice, smaller than a typical hotel room but you need to remember this is a historical inn. Rooms in hotels and inns were smaller back in the day. We did not eat at the restaurant here but it did look very nice. Our room had everything we needed, a nice stand up glass shower, perfect lighting in the bathroom and a comfortable bed. I thought the pillows were too firm but my wife loved them. If you are looking for a comfortable historic place to stay we would recommend it here. If you are looking for a very modern newer hotel, you should not be looking at places like this. We think everyone should stay a night at least at one historic hotel in the country so you can get a feel of what it was like years ago to stay at an inn, but with modern upgrades.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countrytravelers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This facility was undergoing renovations in their lobby,reception area, and also has no elevator. But our room was modern and quiet. Really liked the hotel and location is central to the lovely town. Nice grab and go weekly breakfast. Wwould return if have the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassnlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Concord's Colonial Inn Is indeed charming, which can be a mixed blessing. The main building is really three buildings from different time periods that have been amalgamated into a maze of restaurant dining rooms, common areas, meeting spaces and function rooms. Those with an eye for historical architecture will appreciate the attempts to preserve the period but will also notice many anachronistic renovations. The inn certainly capitalizes on its historical significance. The walls are adorned with prints and tales of the revolutionary war battles at Concord in 1775. The small gift shop has a number of related trinkets.

We were there on a Valentines' Day package that included the room, dinner, admission to the live band and breakfast. Dinner was good, but very pricey ($30 dollar entrees) and the portions were small.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Marc_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
1.9 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
502 reviews
4.7 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
453 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concord's Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concord's Colonial Inn

Address: 48 Monument Sq, Concord, MA 01742-1875
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Concord
Price Range: £93 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Concord's Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concord's Colonial Inn is a full-service hotel in the heart of the quaint, charming town of Concord, MA. Nestled between historic sites of the North Bridge and Walden Pond, the Inn features 56 hotel rooms, two restaurants, and several small function spaces. The Inn is dedicated to preserving the rich New England history of the area, while providing the highest level of comfort and service to its guests. Concord's Colonial Inn features fully modern amenities, a 24 hour desk, daily housekeeping services and private baths in all of its rooms and suites to accommodate both the business and leisure traveler. The inn features multiple function rooms ideal for corporate meetings, weddings and small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Concord's Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concord`s Colonial Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing