We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location in Concord”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Concord's Colonial Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I generally stay at a Bed and Breakfast when traveling but were happy to find this inn close to relatives that we would be visiting. Our initial impression when entering the building from the parking lot was not a good one . The door to the laundry or the basement inners was wide open and this was after being blown away by the huge fan that goes on when you enter this door. We went through the maze to the front desk and the young college girl at the desk was pleasant and showed us to our room. The room was small but comfortable and the bed was especially comfortable. The room was immaculately clean and so was the bathroom. There was a small shower in the bathroom that a larger person may have some difficulty using....we were in a room on the second floor which was directly across from the stage door where the band played. We could hear the music until 10:30 pm so if you like to retire early, I would suggest asking for a room away from this area. There is also ample parking in the rear of the building where our room faced but we were awakened by the beeping of the delivery trucks very early in the morning. The inn offers a Grab and Go breakfast from 6 until 8 am . We got to the room at 7:45 am with a half dozen other guests where this was offered and there was nothing much left ... one yogurt and a couple of bottles of orange juice with no employees in sight. A culinary employee walked through this area and one of the guests had to ask if they were bringing anything else out . The gentleman brought out some more juice and some yogurt - all the same flavor. He also brought out some cold, mini cinnamon cakes... Why not some healthy muffins? Or some small boxes of cereal? .... Not impressed...Not impressed with the dated carpet in the hallways...The beat up dresser in room 208 ...the upping of the room rental by $20 the second night of our stay because "it is a busy weekend, I guess" as explained by the young girl at the front desk...and not impressed that you must use a credit card because they don't accept personal checks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank ASF48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for your honest feedback-- I apologize that your stay was not as thoroughly enjoyable as we aim to make your time with us. I am, however, happy to read about the room cleanliness and pleasant desk agent. As for the other issues, some (i.e. the Grab n Go breakfast, laundry room door) I will be discussing my fellow managers and we will certainly take steps to try to remedy these concerns for your next stay with us! I have sent you a private message, as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Inn's website could not be more misleading. 56 rooms... only about 8 of which date back to the 1700's & these are called the "Main Inn". Do the math... the chances are highest, especially if you book through a 3rd party of any kind, that you will be in the "Prescott Wing" which is a run-down, drab, old addition with tiny rooms that haven't been renovated since they were built in the 1970's. Putting a flat screen TV in a tiny room doesn't do much improve overall quality... who books a historic Inn to watch TV?

Pay the premium price & book the historic section of the Inn... if not, you may as well stay someplace nearby & stop by the Inn for a visit.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Prescott Wing. What's the historical value of a musty old addition built in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Acid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were less than happy with your room type you booked in our remodeled Prescott Wing. If ever a guest is unhappy with their room type, we do our best to accommodate their wants and needs. I am not sure if you gave us a chance to do so while you were here, but we would have loved to have shown you one of our 15 historic guest rooms and given you the chance of a complimentary upgrade. I hope that no matter where you stay, you know that desk agents are here to help and we want you to enjoy your stay-- never hesitate to reach out and see what can be done if you're unhappy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was very disappointed with our room at the Colonial Inn since we had dined there previously and had enjoyed the meal tremendously. Staying there is an entirely different matter however. Our room was musty, the hall outside our door had a very strong rank odor, and a motion activated fan over the rear exit to the parking lot almost blew our heads off every time we went through it. In addition, we reserved and paid for a double bed room online via otel.com, but found out that they had only booked us for one double bed (for a party of 3). They did offer to throw in a rollaway bed for free (also musty). Their explanation was that online companies only give them the name making the reservation and the number of days reserved so are all given a standard room. If I had reserved and paid for a suite - no matter, I would have received a standard room. They stated that I should have called them for the reservation and perhaps not have tried to save money by booking online. Neither or my two sisters will ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to reserve a room to insure that you have enough beds and stress that it mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseeBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

I am sorry that your stay was not enjoyable with us. I have sent you a private message to address your specific concerns. A tip for all travelers reading this, though. I will always advise for you to book with the hotel directly because of our unique hotel, however, if you cannot resist the low rates on other travel sites, you can of course book them. That being said, I strongly recommend that all travelers call to confirm these reservations and bed types prior to arriving at this, or any hotel. The third party booking is always risky and is the unfortunate nature of the beast. If you call to confirm, we can help you understand your booking and can almost always arrange for a comfortable situation for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel served as the location of our off-site manager's retreat. The hotel offers quaint rooms but if you bring a lot of toiletries, makeup, be warned, the bathrooms have only pedestal sink with a small shelf.

The meeting room comes with everything you need for a productive day and the breakfast choices for a group are really good and fresh.

The pub is a nice place to relax and they offer live music and trivia to pass the time.

It is very close to museums, Walden Pond, Ralph Waldo Emerson's house, and the Minute Man National Historical Park.

Very laid back and quaint hotel. Not much to offer in terms of nightlife so if you are looking for peace and quiet, this will do it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are so glad you enjoyed the space and the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent a few days in the Concord-Lexington area and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Colonial Inn. The restaurants were great and the room clean and comfortable. The best thing about the Inn was its location. All the major Concord attractions (Orchard House, Minuteman Monument, Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Main Street shopping and dining) were in easy walking distance. I quickly found my way around and enjoyed beautiful summer days in this lovely historic area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We ate there twice while in Concord and we really liked it! We ate in the Pub. The menu is nice but a bit limited. The food was fresh! We had a delicious corn bread before dinner. We ordered some special things to our dinner and it took about an extra 15 minutes, thus, be prepared if you want something different to wait. Very kind servers. Very clean, too! Many of the other places in town were very crowded, this one was more spacious so it wasn't so loud. It is a wonderfully Historic place. When you are in town, I would recommend to eat there!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NewJersey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words! We are rolling out a new menu within the next few weeks! Come back again soon to try some Colonial Classic dishes (rumor has it, pot pie is making a comeback!!!!!!!!!!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Colonial Inn is as cute and comfortable as can be. It takes away all your worries with it's charm. Our room was quaint, lovely, clean and the bed was as comfortable as can be. Old world charm which is what Concord, Massachusetts is all about

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terryr623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
1.9 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
507 reviews
4.7 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
459 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concord's Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concord's Colonial Inn

Address: 48 Monument Sq, Concord, MA 01742-1875
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Concord
Price Range: £108 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Concord's Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concord's Colonial Inn is a full-service hotel in the heart of the quaint, charming town of Concord, MA. Nestled between historic sites of the North Bridge and Walden Pond, the Inn features 56 hotel rooms, two restaurants, and several small function spaces. The Inn is dedicated to preserving the rich New England history of the area, while providing the highest level of comfort and service to its guests. Concord's Colonial Inn features fully modern amenities, a 24 hour desk, daily housekeeping services and private baths in all of its rooms and suites to accommodate both the business and leisure traveler. The inn features multiple function rooms ideal for corporate meetings, weddings and small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Concord's Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concord`s Colonial Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing